Quilt Group Exhibitions

Do look out for exhibitions being put on by quilt groups local to you.  I’m  really looking forward to North Hampshire Quilters ‘Quilts R Us’ exhibition that opens tomorrow at Costello School, Basingstoke.  There will be around a hundred beautiful quilts hanging on wooden stands in the school hall, a sales table (the theme this year has been patchwork and quilted items for the kitchen), a secondhand bookstall and refreshments – bacon rolls and homemade cakes!  What’s not to like??  And, of course, having been thoroughly wowed by the quilts and feeling brim-full of inspiration there will be a couple of trade stands loaded with fabric and notions just waiting to get you started on a new project….

Remember to take a camera!  Stand back and look at individual quilts.  What do you notice about the pattern? Can you break it down into blocks?  How about the colour combinations?  Can you estimate how many different fabrics have been used?  Try and understand what appeals to you.  Ask one of the badge-wearing members how a quilt that really attracts you might have been constructed – you could be lucky and get to chat with the quilt-maker in person!

Putting on an exhibition takes a lot of planning.  Hiring a space to show the quilts at their best is not cheap.  So do take an hour or two to support local exhibitions.  They are great sources of inspiration and often raise funds for charities too.

More information:  www.north-hampshire-quilters.org.uk

I’ll post some photos after my visit!

DSCN1909

I spotted this amazing applique quilt at the Malvern exhibiton

Allison

About allisonreidnem

New Every Morning – About Me Hi! I’m Allison, an obsessive patchwork-quilter who has no desire to be cured! I’ve been developing my skills and knowledge by paying attention at my local quilting group and by putting my questions into the computer search engine. I’m so grateful to the generous people who have taken the time to share their knowledge with me in person, via YouTube videos or their blogs. I’m intending my blog to be a link into the worldwide patchwork and quilting community and a means to contribute helpful hints and inspiration as I continue to discover more about this addictive craft. So, why ‘New Every Morning Patchwork and Quilting’? Well! I am a morning person! I often wake in the wee small hours and think through design and quilt construction issues. My woolly–headed evening brain finds such issues far too difficult to resolve! If I’m disciplined enough to be asleep by 10pm, I can be up cutting, piecing, pressing and quilting before sunrise! By the time daily family routine kicks-in I’ve had a satisfying, soul-feeding creative fix. (I should mention that ‘family at home’ is: my patient, faithful husband of 27years; and our equally patient 16 year old son, who acts as our in-house IT support complete with sighs and rolling eyes! Older daughter and son have both recently flown the nest). Not only do I find early mornings my creative time I also find it a time for receiving spiritual nourishment. I often find myself humming a gentle chorus and reflecting on God’s constancy as another new day dawns. ‘The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercies never come to an end. They are new every morning, new every morning; Great is thy faithfulness, O Lord, Great is thy faithfulness.’ Edith McNeil’s chorus is based on verses from the Bible – Lamentations 3: 21-23.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Local Quilt Groups, Quilt Exhibitions and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

