Not all rulers are rectangles! First use of a kite ruler…

Looking for examples of tablerunners lead me to The Missouri Star Quilt Company’s tutorials on YouTube.  Jenny Doan demonstrates how to make a mug rug using a ‘periwinkle’ ruler: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CiFOsVye6IE .  I had a search of retailers in the UK and found Marti Mitchell’s ‘Multi-Size Kite Ruler’ at http://www.cottonpatch.co.uk/acatalog/Multi-size-Kite-Ruler-10167.html#SID=472 . This ruler makes an eight segment ‘circle’ rather than the six segments of Jenny’s ruler. SONY DSCThe kite ruler comes with a booklet containing clear illustrations and instructions for cutting out 4 different sized kite shapes from the one ruler and also shows how to make more intricate blocks by combining the kites with shapes cut from other rulers.

I decided to start by cutting out extra-large kite shapes from two fabrics.  Piecing the segments was straightforward (tip: press the seams open so the mat will lie flat and the multiple seams meeting in the centre don’t get too bunched up).

Seams pressed open.

Seams pressed open.

I bought some heat resistant Insulating Wadding by Sew Simple.  This  presented a problem: does the shiny heat resistant side of the wadding go towards the base or top of the mat? An internet search didn’t provide a clear answer but a couple of sites recommended using a layer of thin cotton wadding with the Insulating Wadding to absorb any moisture created by hot dishes etc.  I decided to put the fluffy side of the Insulating wadding to the calico backing of the mat and lay the cotton wadding on top of the shiny side.  This seemed like a lot of layers and I thought it might be too ‘puffy’ for a table mat but once sewn together, pressed and quilted the mat is quite level.  The finished mat measures just over 16″ across.

SONY DSC

Having cut into two fat quarters to make the big mat I wondered how many more mats could be made from the remaining fabric.  Using the small size on the ruler there was just enough fabric to make four mug-rug tops measuring 8″ across.  I used the same layers of wadding as for the extra-large mat but this made turning the mats right-way out and stitching closed the opening in the edge seam quite fiddly.  I’d only use one layer of wadding for the small mats in the future.

SONY DSC

Using a shaped ruler has been interesting.  If you’ve tried this or other rulers it would be lovely to see what you made and to know any tricks you may have developed to make them work well.

About allisonreidnem

New Every Morning – About Me Hi! I’m Allison, an obsessive patchwork-quilter who has no desire to be cured! I’ve been developing my skills and knowledge by paying attention at my local quilting group and by putting my questions into the computer search engine. I’m so grateful to the generous people who have taken the time to share their knowledge with me in person, via YouTube videos or their blogs. I’m intending my blog to be a link into the worldwide patchwork and quilting community and a means to contribute helpful hints and inspiration as I continue to discover more about this addictive craft. So, why ‘New Every Morning Patchwork and Quilting’? Well! I am a morning person! I often wake in the wee small hours and think through design and quilt construction issues. My woolly–headed evening brain finds such issues far too difficult to resolve! If I’m disciplined enough to be asleep by 10pm, I can be up cutting, piecing, pressing and quilting before sunrise! By the time daily family routine kicks-in I’ve had a satisfying, soul-feeding creative fix. (I should mention that ‘family at home’ is: my patient, faithful husband of 27years; and our equally patient 16 year old son, who acts as our in-house IT support complete with sighs and rolling eyes! Older daughter and son have both recently flown the nest). Not only do I find early mornings my creative time I also find it a time for receiving spiritual nourishment. I often find myself humming a gentle chorus and reflecting on God’s constancy as another new day dawns. ‘The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercies never come to an end. They are new every morning, new every morning; Great is thy faithfulness, O Lord, Great is thy faithfulness.’ Edith McNeil’s chorus is based on verses from the Bible – Lamentations 3: 21-23.
This entry was posted in On-Line Classes, Piecing tips, Projects, Rulers, Table Mats and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Not all rulers are rectangles! First use of a kite ruler…

  1. Lovely table topper and mug rugs! I love the colour combination. I’ve never tried that ruler…all of mine are either square or rectangular, but I have used templates for a dresden plate block. That’s about as close as I can get.

    Like

  2. Colette Monaghan says:

    I’ve just tried this kite ruler and although I managed to make a rug mug (using the medium setting) I couldn’t get the ends to come together in a point, so the middle of the rug is a bit of a hotchpotch. Do you have any hints how to get this right – your’s look perfect!

    Like

    • Hi! Colette, I’m trying to remember exactly what I did when I made the mats. I know the points didn’t meet perfectly in the centres. I think I may have pressed all the seams open to help it lie a little flatter in the centre. I know I chose to use a fancy machine quilting stitch along each of the seams and that effectively hid the points that didn’t meet! I hope this helps 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

