The Bloggers’ Quilt Festival – an online exhibition

I’ve just stumbled upon The Bloggers Quilt Festival at http://www.amyscreativeside.com via another blog I’ve been following, http://www.jenniesthreads.blogspot.co.uk .   Hosted and organised by blogger and author, Amy Ellis, the online festival has been held twice a year since 2009.  There are a variety of categories and quilts are submitted via blogs. Viewers then have the opportunity to click on the photos to discover more about a quilt and it’s maker.   I’ve had a great time looking at the quilt pics and clicking on the ones that really caught my attention.  There’s also an opportunity for viewers to vote for their favourites.  Do take a look – there’s not so many it’s overwhelming but certainly enough for inspiration and it’s a great way to discover interesting blog sites too.

I’ve got to give it a go and add my quilt to the festival!  So, here goes… this is a quilt I finished last month.

SONY DSC

It’s called ‘Spring Fever’ because of the colours of the fabrics.  The fabrics were bought as a selection of half metres and fat quarters and the patchwork pattern is called ‘disappearing ninepatch’.  I got the idea from a book called ‘ Nine Patch Panache’ published by Annie’s. The quilt top went together well and I really enjoyed using the bright fabrics.

Quilting was another matter!  I decided to use polyester batting so the quilt could be washed and dried easily – imagining it would be used as a child’s snuggle quilt.  I pinned the quilt sandwich and planned to machine quilt each block with a straight line ‘spiral’.  Well! Did I end up with puckers and tucks?  You bet I did!  I unpicked the quilting on several blocks and tried again after re-making the quilt sandwich on a table using bull-dog clips to stop the layers shifting as I pinned.  No good either – still more puckers – back to the un-picker!  In desperation I decided to use a spray baste as well as pins and quilt the lines from the outside of each block to the centre rather than from the middle out.

SONY DSC

Hurray! This worked and after it had been washed to remove any trace of the spray baste I could declare the quilt finished and start to feel pleased with it once again.  I also made a pair of cushions with two spare blocks.

SONY DSC

These can be seen on the opening page of my blog, http://www.neweverymorningpatchworkandquilting.wordpress.com and the quilt forms the background picture of my facebook page.  I have a board of other things I’ve made on my Pinterest page, http://www.pinterest.com/hochland.lass/

Enjoy the virtual festival! 🙂  Why not add one of your quilts?

Allison

About allisonreidnem

New Every Morning – About Me Hi! I’m Allison, an obsessive patchwork-quilter who has no desire to be cured! I’ve been developing my skills and knowledge by paying attention at my local quilting group and by putting my questions into the computer search engine. I’m so grateful to the generous people who have taken the time to share their knowledge with me in person, via YouTube videos or their blogs. I’m intending my blog to be a link into the worldwide patchwork and quilting community and a means to contribute helpful hints and inspiration as I continue to discover more about this addictive craft. So, why ‘New Every Morning Patchwork and Quilting’? Well! I am a morning person! I often wake in the wee small hours and think through design and quilt construction issues. My woolly–headed evening brain finds such issues far too difficult to resolve! If I’m disciplined enough to be asleep by 10pm, I can be up cutting, piecing, pressing and quilting before sunrise! By the time daily family routine kicks-in I’ve had a satisfying, soul-feeding creative fix. (I should mention that ‘family at home’ is: my patient, faithful husband of 27years; and our equally patient 16 year old son, who acts as our in-house IT support complete with sighs and rolling eyes! Older daughter and son have both recently flown the nest). Not only do I find early mornings my creative time I also find it a time for receiving spiritual nourishment. I often find myself humming a gentle chorus and reflecting on God’s constancy as another new day dawns. ‘The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercies never come to an end. They are new every morning, new every morning; Great is thy faithfulness, O Lord, Great is thy faithfulness.’ Edith McNeil’s chorus is based on verses from the Bible – Lamentations 3: 21-23.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, P&Q Books, Projects, Projects 2014, Quilt Exhibitions, Quilting Techniques and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

