The highs and lows of selling craft – a behind the stall perspective

Yesterday I spent the day sitting behind a stall at a craft fair.  Financially it was not successful for me – I failed to make back the fee for hiring a table 😦    But, being a bit of a seasoned stall holder now, I have managed to keep a glass-half-full attitude and not take my lack of sales as an indication that my wares are of little worth!

My less than perfect stall arrangement - it's a while since I've done an indoor craft fair!

My less than perfect stall arrangement – it’s a while since I’ve done an indoor craft fair!

I have found craft fairs to be very hit-and-miss affairs.  Sometimes the footfall (number of potential customers through the door) does not reflect the sales achieved but on most occasions the two are closely linked.  The fair yesterday was a regular event held in a hotel – though the first time I had ever attended – and it was so, so quiet!  Very few people walked through the three rooms where 15 stall holders had decorated their tables with a great variety of crafts.   In fact my only sale of the day occurred just as I began to prepare my boxes for packing away!

What did I gain from six hours sat behind my stall? Well…

  • I finished sewing the binding to the sawtooth star table runner! Yeah!

 

Completed Sawtooth Star tablerunner.

Completed Sawtooth Star tablerunner.

  • I got to know the five other stall holders I shared the room with.  They were a fairly typical mix of stallholders I’ve met and observed in several years of sitting behind stalls: hobbyists seeking to make a small profit to put back into their hobby; people with restricted mobility who have developed crafting skills to occupy long spells indoors and enjoy the social aspects of regular craft fairs; and, definitely in the minority, enthusiastic entrepreneurs just setting out with a new money-making product.
  • I even had a couple of hours to make good progress on the hand quilting of a cushion cover that has been in danger of slipping from a ‘work in progress’ to an ‘un-finished object’ as I’ve picked it up and put it down again far too often!

 

Just some quilting to be added to the corner squares...

Just some quilting to be added to the corner squares…

  • I made the most of the tea making facilities provided for stall-holders, treated myself to a slab of homemade chocolate brownie bought from a cake stall 🙂 and flicked through a couple of quilt magazines a kind Aunt had passed on to me – very relaxing!
  • I reflected that lack of sales at this venue means I won’t have a ‘stock crisis’ before the next craft fair – which is only a week away!

As days go it was not so bad… but I am left wondering about the effectiveness of craft fairs (or at least the majority I can afford to participate in).  There seem to be nearly as many people keen to sell their crafts as there are people ready to buy handicrafts! I’m wondering how to find the right market place for patchwork and quilted goods? Good quality fabric and wadding are not cheap!  Is it just me or is it generally true that finding customers ready to appreciate unique, crafted items and to pay an appropriate price for them seems pretty difficult?  Where do people like that do their shopping?

But careful – the glass can easily become half-empty at this point!  Remember the pleasure in designing and in making and the joy of finishing a project!  Remember God is creative and having been made in His image how can we not be content and at peace as we use God-given creativity whether it be in stitching, gardening, writing, dancing, making music…?
Keep enjoying the process!

Allison

 

About allisonreidnem

New Every Morning – About Me Hi! I’m Allison, an obsessive patchwork-quilter who has no desire to be cured! I’ve been developing my skills and knowledge by paying attention at my local quilting group and by putting my questions into the computer search engine. I’m so grateful to the generous people who have taken the time to share their knowledge with me in person, via YouTube videos or their blogs. I’m intending my blog to be a link into the worldwide patchwork and quilting community and a means to contribute helpful hints and inspiration as I continue to discover more about this addictive craft. So, why ‘New Every Morning Patchwork and Quilting’? Well! I am a morning person! I often wake in the wee small hours and think through design and quilt construction issues. My woolly–headed evening brain finds such issues far too difficult to resolve! If I’m disciplined enough to be asleep by 10pm, I can be up cutting, piecing, pressing and quilting before sunrise! By the time daily family routine kicks-in I’ve had a satisfying, soul-feeding creative fix. (I should mention that ‘family at home’ is: my patient, faithful husband of 27years; and our equally patient 16 year old son, who acts as our in-house IT support complete with sighs and rolling eyes! Older daughter and son have both recently flown the nest). Not only do I find early mornings my creative time I also find it a time for receiving spiritual nourishment. I often find myself humming a gentle chorus and reflecting on God’s constancy as another new day dawns. ‘The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercies never come to an end. They are new every morning, new every morning; Great is thy faithfulness, O Lord, Great is thy faithfulness.’ Edith McNeil’s chorus is based on verses from the Bible – Lamentations 3: 21-23.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Projects, Projects 2014, Selling craft, Tablerunners and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

