The tingle factor!

This is a first … waking up early to write a post!  I wish I could say, ‘I’ve woken before dawn refreshed and full of creative juices!’.   But the truth is I am still tired, my mind is buzzing and I’ve got a bit of an ache following some dental work on Friday!  On the bright side, even though it is dark outside, I can see enough to know there is a thick, thick frost and the promise of a beautiful, sparkly, sunrise.  I’m wrapped in a blanket (should be a quilt!), I’m wearing a furry hat and there’s a pot of tea at my side so the chill isn’t getting to me!

First, total admiration for all those bloggers posting pictures of quilts they have completed in the run up to Christmas.  How do they do that?  I’m struggling to produce a teacosy a week!  But no point going down the comparison avenue – at 51 I should know better!

Latest teacosy, almost complete - just need to stitch the binding before wrapping.

Latest teacosy, almost complete – just need to stitch the binding before wrapping.

So aside from making the occasional teacosy what have I been doing?  Well!  This time of year offers loads of great opportunities to meet up with people.  On Friday (before the trip to the dentist) I was part of a team of six who had accepted the challenge to make 120 Christingles ready for the service in Church today.    It was a very enjoyable hour-and-a-half sat round a couple of tables chatting, having broken down the stages of Christingle construction into production-line type tasks.  The gentle talk and the repetitive nature of the work has me wondering if the atmosphere was similar to that of a quilting bee?  I love those photos of a group of ladies bent over a quilt, busy stitching, while a couple of young children play in the background.

Christingle-2-217x300

Christingles are a wonderful visual reminder of what Christmas is all about.  The orange represents the world; the red ribbon encircling the orange is a reminder of Christ’s shedding of blood on the cross; the four sticks of fruit and sweets remind us of the four seasons and God’s loving provision and kindness to us; and the candle represents Jesus, Light of the World. And it’s that ‘Light of the World’ title given to Jesus that leads me to my tingle factor – the first 14 verses of John’s Gospel.

Through Him all things were made; without him nothing was made that has been made.  In Him was life, and that life was the light of men.  The light shines in the darkness, but the darkness has not understood it… The true light that gives light to every man…

Marvellous!  I get a similar tingle when I hear a chorister hit and sustain a soaring high note, the clarity of the sound lifts up my heart and there’s just a slightly brighter glimpse of the glory that one day will be all around.

John’s vision of Jesus at the beginning of revelation continues the theme of light too.

His face was like the sun shining in all its brilliance.

We can be sure that next time Jesus comes the light will be unmistakable and impossible to ignore!

Allison

About allisonreidnem

New Every Morning – About Me Hi! I’m Allison, an obsessive patchwork-quilter who has no desire to be cured! I’ve been developing my skills and knowledge by paying attention at my local quilting group and by putting my questions into the computer search engine. I’m so grateful to the generous people who have taken the time to share their knowledge with me in person, via YouTube videos or their blogs. I’m intending my blog to be a link into the worldwide patchwork and quilting community and a means to contribute helpful hints and inspiration as I continue to discover more about this addictive craft. So, why ‘New Every Morning Patchwork and Quilting’? Well! I am a morning person! I often wake in the wee small hours and think through design and quilt construction issues. My woolly–headed evening brain finds such issues far too difficult to resolve! If I’m disciplined enough to be asleep by 10pm, I can be up cutting, piecing, pressing and quilting before sunrise! By the time daily family routine kicks-in I’ve had a satisfying, soul-feeding creative fix. (I should mention that ‘family at home’ is: my patient, faithful husband of 27years; and our equally patient 16 year old son, who acts as our in-house IT support complete with sighs and rolling eyes! Older daughter and son have both recently flown the nest). Not only do I find early mornings my creative time I also find it a time for receiving spiritual nourishment. I often find myself humming a gentle chorus and reflecting on God’s constancy as another new day dawns. ‘The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercies never come to an end. They are new every morning, new every morning; Great is thy faithfulness, O Lord, Great is thy faithfulness.’ Edith McNeil’s chorus is based on verses from the Bible – Lamentations 3: 21-23.
This entry was posted in Awe and Wonder, Projects and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

