A word or two for the New Year

I gave up on making New Year resolutions a long time ago – guaranteed failure is not the way to start a new year!  But … earlier this month I read a post by Melanie McNeil reviewing the effectiveness of her ‘word of the year’ and the idea of a ‘word for 2015’ has been running through my mind ever since.  This is how Melanie introduced her post:

The year my word has been “EXPERIMENT!”  Yes, in all caps and with an exclamation point!  The emphasis is not angry or scolding, but cheering.  To me it is encouragement to try things I haven’t tried before, without expectation of a particular outcome.

Even as I was reading the post my word came to me mind – FINISH – laden with just a touch of irony!  As I am notoriously indecisive I have been unable to choose between this and the second word that came to mind – LEARN – so have opted to use both!  I am going to apply these words to my patchwork and quilting through 2015.

I have not been an effective finisher – it’s that indecisiveness again – so FINISH is a prompt and a challenge! Watch this blog as my ‘works in progress’ and ‘unfinished objects’ come to light!  I know it is possible for me to complete  projects as I rose to a self-imposed challenge of listing one new item in my Folksy store every week through September and October.  I stuck to it and got a taste for finishing along the way!  LEARN comes from a desire to stretch my skills and try new techniques without having the pressure to make a useful item or a a sale-able product.

With those words running through my mind over the holiday I can now reveal my first finish (well sort of) – I read a Jennifer Chiaverini Elm Creek Quilt novel from cover to cover!  Appropriately enough I choose to read ‘The Christmas Quilt’ and thoroughly enjoyed the treat of giving time to reading a novel.  A couple of years ago I read the first five or six of the Elm Creek series and I’m pleased The Christmas Quilt proved a good choice as a re-introduction to the main characters and recurring story lines.  If you haven’t read any of the series than I’d suggest you may have to persevere with the opening book, ‘The Quilter’s Apprentice’, the style of which I found a bit clunky but after that the books are easy, peaceful reads.

And now to my learn of the holiday.  This involved using Carol Doak’s ‘Mastering Foundation Paper Piecing’ class on Craftsy.  This unintentionally also offered me the chance to get fit with a patchwork-piecing form of circuit training!  I had the class up on the computer in one room, my sewing machine set up on the dining table and the iron set up in the kitchen.  Carol Doak’s little mantra for FPP is ‘t-s-p’: trim, sew, press.  I had to add ‘v’ for view and spent my time bobbing up and down from the computer, sewing machine and ironing board like a demented jack-in-the-box!  Thankfully I had the house to myself that afternoon so could trot around muttering to myself as I got into the rhythm of FPP.  Here is my completed ‘Bird of Paradise’ block:

Loving the sharp points!  Should have used a more solid print for the yellow spike.  I'm learning!

Loving the sharp points! Should have used a more solid print for the yellow spike. I’m learning!

Slightly shocked by the pile of off-cuts that accumulate when foundation paper piecing!

Slightly shocked by the pile of off-cuts that accumulate when foundation paper piecing!

I’m planning to learn more as I progress through the class and then apply my new skills to some of the enticing projects I’ve been looking at in one of my Christmas books – Vintage Quilt Revival.

How are you setting yourself up for challenge/success in 2015?

Wishing you a Very happy New Year!

Allison

About allisonreidnem

New Every Morning – About Me Hi! I’m Allison, an obsessive patchwork-quilter who has no desire to be cured! I’ve been developing my skills and knowledge by paying attention at my local quilting group and by putting my questions into the computer search engine. I’m so grateful to the generous people who have taken the time to share their knowledge with me in person, via YouTube videos or their blogs. I’m intending my blog to be a link into the worldwide patchwork and quilting community and a means to contribute helpful hints and inspiration as I continue to discover more about this addictive craft. So, why ‘New Every Morning Patchwork and Quilting’? Well! I am a morning person! I often wake in the wee small hours and think through design and quilt construction issues. My woolly–headed evening brain finds such issues far too difficult to resolve! If I’m disciplined enough to be asleep by 10pm, I can be up cutting, piecing, pressing and quilting before sunrise! By the time daily family routine kicks-in I’ve had a satisfying, soul-feeding creative fix. (I should mention that ‘family at home’ is: my patient, faithful husband of 27years; and our equally patient 16 year old son, who acts as our in-house IT support complete with sighs and rolling eyes! Older daughter and son have both recently flown the nest). Not only do I find early mornings my creative time I also find it a time for receiving spiritual nourishment. I often find myself humming a gentle chorus and reflecting on God’s constancy as another new day dawns. ‘The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercies never come to an end. They are new every morning, new every morning; Great is thy faithfulness, O Lord, Great is thy faithfulness.’ Edith McNeil’s chorus is based on verses from the Bible – Lamentations 3: 21-23.
This entry was posted in Books, Finish 2015, Foundation Paper Piecing, Learn, On-Line Classes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A word or two for the New Year

  1. LEARN and FINISH are great words for all of us! Good luck with your journey in 2015. I’ll look forward to joining you.

    Like

  2. Thank you Melanie for your comment and the inspiration for the post! 🙂

    Like

  3. Colleen says:

    Thanks for your comment on my blog. Making a new years resolution doesn’t even cross my mind anymore ! I like the idea of a word for the year though. Don’t know what my word will be – Focus ??Your first FPP turned out very well ! I recently bought a FPP pattern from Craftsy as well and added a free class.

    Like

  4. ‘Focus’ is a very interesting word to use! I could use it for the Craftsy classes I’ve bought and not finished! Back to ‘finish’ again!!

    Like

  5. Pingback: Wired for balance not random |

Leave a Reply

