New fabrics :-) and the rise of the Red Kite

We were up and about early on Saturday morning so as to fit in a trip to the time-warp town of Wallingford in the south of Oxfordshire.   It really is a quaint place with old fashioned wooden fronted shops facing a central ‘square’ that contains a church and several old civic buildings.  One of the larger shops just happens to be the home of Village Fabrics!  I spent over an hour in that haven of all things patchwork and quilting while hubby and #2 son explored the town and picked out a suitable coffee shop for us all to enjoy some refreshments before the journey home.

Purchase 1: My Aunt has asked for a couple of crazy patchwork cushion covers to match the fabric swatch from her new suite.  My cousin suggested a burst of orange to lift the colour scheme...

Purchase 1: My Aunt has asked for a couple of crazy patchwork cushion covers to match the fabric swatch from her new suite. My cousin suggested a burst of orange to lift the colour scheme…

 

Purchase 2: Some plain fabrics bought in the hope of calming the busy star blocks I've been making!

Purchase 2: Some plain fabrics bought in the hope of calming the busy star blocks I’ve been making!

 

Purchase 3: Yeah! The border fabrics for the log cabin quilt.

Purchase 3: Yeah! The border fabrics for the log cabin quilt.

Not being a driver I really enjoy a trip out of town especially when the sun is shining and the roads are quiet and follow the curves and undulations of the countryside.  Our hour long ride to Wallingford took us through some fairly open country and towards the end we were travelling along the Thames Valley.  I do a bit of bird spotting from the passenger seat and thought we might see some Red Kites.

Red Kite

 

We saw MANY Red Kites!  When I was a youngster (we are talking early 1970s here) the Red Kite was one of the rarest species of bird in the UK – around twenty breeding pairs carefully guarded in the depths of Wales.

My much loved copy of a Ladybird Book bought new in 1972 for 15pence!

My much loved copy of a Ladybird Book bought new in 1972 for 15pence!

When I looked at this picture I never imagined seeing a Red Kite 'for real'!

When I looked at this picture I never imagined seeing a Red Kite ‘for real’!  Part of the description reads, “Only in central Wales is it now possible to see a Kite in Britain, but a century ago it bred in many parts of England.  In Elizabethan times it was common in the streets of London, where it acted as a scavenger.”

Several programmes to re-introduce the Red Kite have, in the last ten years, taken off in spectacular fashion.  Never in my wildest 9 year old imaginings would I have considered seeing Red Kites circling around the rooftops of towns in the south of England but now I regularly glance out of my kitchen window and see a Kite (or two) wheeling gracefully through the air. Despite these sightings becoming almost a daily occurrence they still give me a great sense of excitement especially when the Winter sunshine lights up the red and gold feathers and the 5½’ wing span appears to shrink the mobbing black crows to the size of starlings.  I wonder at the grace of this bird directing its passage through the air with just a tilt of its wing tips and a slight twist of its forked tail.

Isaiah says of God:

He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak. Even youths grow tired and weary and young men stumble and fall: but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.

 

Hope in Him, feel the weight of cares taken away and the wonderful sensation of soaring on wings like eagles (or Red Kites).  What a promise in these ‘world weary’ times!

Allison

About allisonreidnem

New Every Morning – About Me Hi! I’m Allison, an obsessive patchwork-quilter who has no desire to be cured! I’ve been developing my skills and knowledge by paying attention at my local quilting group and by putting my questions into the computer search engine. I’m so grateful to the generous people who have taken the time to share their knowledge with me in person, via YouTube videos or their blogs. I’m intending my blog to be a link into the worldwide patchwork and quilting community and a means to contribute helpful hints and inspiration as I continue to discover more about this addictive craft. So, why ‘New Every Morning Patchwork and Quilting’? Well! I am a morning person! I often wake in the wee small hours and think through design and quilt construction issues. My woolly–headed evening brain finds such issues far too difficult to resolve! If I’m disciplined enough to be asleep by 10pm, I can be up cutting, piecing, pressing and quilting before sunrise! By the time daily family routine kicks-in I’ve had a satisfying, soul-feeding creative fix. (I should mention that ‘family at home’ is: my patient, faithful husband of 27years; and our equally patient 16 year old son, who acts as our in-house IT support complete with sighs and rolling eyes! Older daughter and son have both recently flown the nest). Not only do I find early mornings my creative time I also find it a time for receiving spiritual nourishment. I often find myself humming a gentle chorus and reflecting on God’s constancy as another new day dawns. ‘The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercies never come to an end. They are new every morning, new every morning; Great is thy faithfulness, O Lord, Great is thy faithfulness.’ Edith McNeil’s chorus is based on verses from the Bible – Lamentations 3: 21-23.
This entry was posted in Awe and Wonder, Bird Watching, Books, Fabrics, Log Cabin, Projects and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New fabrics :-) and the rise of the Red Kite

  1. katyquilts says:

    One of my favorite verses! They look like beautiful, majestic birds. Love your fabric finds!

    Like

Leave a Reply

