Working without a plan!

This is Work In Progress Wednesday so I thought I’d share my puzzle quilt project. I’m using some fat quarter packs bought half-price at Hobbycraft a couple of weeks ago.

Some of the completed blocks in 3 sizes.

Some of the completed blocks in 3 sizes.

 

My 6" 'Electric Fan' block with the measurements and instructions in 501 Rotary-Cut Quilt Blocks.

My 6″ ‘Electric Fan’ block with the measurements and instructions in 501 Rotary-Cut Quilt Blocks.

Having thrown my usual caution to the wind I’m using these fabrics of contrasting patterns and colours to make blocks of either 6″, 9″ or 12″ in size.  My vision is that they will all be pulled together by making smaller blocks and strips using plain fabrics in blending colours.  We shall see…  In the meantime I’m really enjoying the freedom of flicking through one of my most used P&Q books, 501 Rotary-Cut Quilt Blocks by Judy Hopkins, and just picking on a block, selecting from the limited range of fat quarters and then cutting and sewing.  Judy’s book is straightforward to use with cutting requirements for each block in six different sizes and a clear diagram illustrating how to construct the block.

My sewing corner in a part of our living room - thank goodness for a patient, understanding family!

My sewing corner in a part of our living room – thank goodness for a patient, understanding family!

Fortunately I can leave my machine set up with space for a table-top ironing board and a small cutting mat. This has enabled me to sit down for the odd 20 minute stint here and there to move a block forward towards completion. Very satisfying! Fifteen blocks are made up, I reckon ten more and it could be time to try and put the puzzle together!

 

Hope you are making some P&Q progress today.

I’m linking with WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced.

Allison

About allisonreidnem

New Every Morning – About Me Hi! I’m Allison, an obsessive patchwork-quilter who has no desire to be cured! I’ve been developing my skills and knowledge by paying attention at my local quilting group and by putting my questions into the computer search engine. I’m so grateful to the generous people who have taken the time to share their knowledge with me in person, via YouTube videos or their blogs. I’m intending my blog to be a link into the worldwide patchwork and quilting community and a means to contribute helpful hints and inspiration as I continue to discover more about this addictive craft. So, why ‘New Every Morning Patchwork and Quilting’? Well! I am a morning person! I often wake in the wee small hours and think through design and quilt construction issues. My woolly–headed evening brain finds such issues far too difficult to resolve! If I’m disciplined enough to be asleep by 10pm, I can be up cutting, piecing, pressing and quilting before sunrise! By the time daily family routine kicks-in I’ve had a satisfying, soul-feeding creative fix. (I should mention that ‘family at home’ is: my patient, faithful husband of 27years; and our equally patient 16 year old son, who acts as our in-house IT support complete with sighs and rolling eyes! Older daughter and son have both recently flown the nest). Not only do I find early mornings my creative time I also find it a time for receiving spiritual nourishment. I often find myself humming a gentle chorus and reflecting on God’s constancy as another new day dawns. ‘The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercies never come to an end. They are new every morning, new every morning; Great is thy faithfulness, O Lord, Great is thy faithfulness.’ Edith McNeil’s chorus is based on verses from the Bible – Lamentations 3: 21-23.
This entry was posted in Fabrics, P&Q Books, Projects, Puzzle Quilt and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Working without a plan!

  1. Being able to leave your sewing equipment set up is fantastic. Like you say it enables you to have 20 minutes of sewing whenever the chance arises. I love your contrasting patterned blocks. I look forward to seeing the project completed.

    Like

  2. katyquilts says:

    I love your blocks! Isn’t it nice to leave things set up so you can stitch a bit here and there? I get so much more done that way!

    Like

  3. Colleen says:

    You’ve been busy ! It’s nice to see where you sew. My space is in another building and I keep the temperature quite low when I am not there. My sewing machine manual says that I have to let my machine warm up before I begin sewing. Therefore, I do have to plan my sewing time a bit more in colder weather. I usually give it about an hour on days like today… it is -22 C right now… brrr, big change from the +30 C where I was Sunday !

    Like

Leave a Reply

