An evening with quilters and a bit of progress

This is the week leading up to the half-term break.  Although only our youngest child is in education now, these week long holidays do still provide a break to routine which can often be restorative, relaxing and gloriously undemanding (written as a mum of three grown children – I know these breaks in the school term can mean a whole lot of other things to families with young children!).  I am really looking forward to applying myself to patchwork and quilting projects as well as catching up with friends and family!

In the meantime I will be going to one of my local quilt groups, Roundabout Quilters, this evening.  Our guest speaker is Gail Lawther who makes the most beautiful stained glass effect quilt pictures.  I’m so looking forward to seeing her work up close, hearing her speak and gaining from her wisdom.  No doubt more about the evening in my next post…

cg-at-nec.jpg (744×540)

Gail and her husband surrounded by some of her lovely patchwork. And do I spy some patterns for sale? Hehe!

SONY DSC

Three completed 24″ multiblocks and one in the ‘design wall’ (carpet) phase.

And just a quick update on my puzzle quilt:  three 24″ ‘multiblocks’ are now completed and the linking blocks for the fourth are almost done.  I need to decide just how much bigger to make the quilt top and, as the fat quarter packs begin to shrink, to think about the fabrics I might conserve for use in the borders.

nuthatch-a.jpg (800×533)

Nuthatch. (I hasten to add I didn’t take this lovely photo!).

Finally, a picture of a sweet little bird I spotted on a tree outside our Church kitchen this morning. Spring is beginning to spring – delicate snowdrops are in flower and our neighbourhood, raucous, Magpies are repairing last years enormous nest (it must be over 3′ deep!).

Hoping you can enjoy the benefits of a local quilt group as well as the pleasure of sharing our wonderful craft through blogs.

Allison

About allisonreidnem

New Every Morning – About Me Hi! I’m Allison, an obsessive patchwork-quilter who has no desire to be cured! I’ve been developing my skills and knowledge by paying attention at my local quilting group and by putting my questions into the computer search engine. I’m so grateful to the generous people who have taken the time to share their knowledge with me in person, via YouTube videos or their blogs. I’m intending my blog to be a link into the worldwide patchwork and quilting community and a means to contribute helpful hints and inspiration as I continue to discover more about this addictive craft. So, why ‘New Every Morning Patchwork and Quilting’? Well! I am a morning person! I often wake in the wee small hours and think through design and quilt construction issues. My woolly–headed evening brain finds such issues far too difficult to resolve! If I’m disciplined enough to be asleep by 10pm, I can be up cutting, piecing, pressing and quilting before sunrise! By the time daily family routine kicks-in I’ve had a satisfying, soul-feeding creative fix. (I should mention that ‘family at home’ is: my patient, faithful husband of 27years; and our equally patient 16 year old son, who acts as our in-house IT support complete with sighs and rolling eyes! Older daughter and son have both recently flown the nest). Not only do I find early mornings my creative time I also find it a time for receiving spiritual nourishment. I often find myself humming a gentle chorus and reflecting on God’s constancy as another new day dawns. ‘The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercies never come to an end. They are new every morning, new every morning; Great is thy faithfulness, O Lord, Great is thy faithfulness.’ Edith McNeil’s chorus is based on verses from the Bible – Lamentations 3: 21-23.
This entry was posted in Bird Watching, Local Quilt Groups, Puzzle Quilt and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

