A February finish and a meander into March!

The fact that I am writing about a February finish on 2nd March is an indication of the trouble I’m having keeping track of time!  I am very happy to announce that I did finish the Puzzle Quilt before the end of February (5pm on 28th to be precise!).  It was such a dull drizzly day that there was no hope of being able to put together a clear photographic record of the quilt, that had to wait until the sunny day after.  And on that day there was no time to put together a post!

The completed Puzzle Quilt

The completed Puzzle Quilt

I made a label too!

I made a label too!

I’m really pleased with the quilt.  The turquoise binding fabric links the fabrics on the front and back well and this was especially satisfying to use as it was picked from my limited ‘stash’.   I really enjoy one of the incidentals associated with finishing a project: the sorting and tidying away of tools and materials.  I got a bit ahead of myself on this one and took time off from sewing the binding to sort through my scraps.  Inspired by other far more organised and prolific quilters I decided on a system: fabric pieces smaller than a fat quarter are stored as ‘scraps’; fat quarters or larger are stored as ‘stash’.

I bought seven of these files from ASDA at 55p each and have sorted the fabric scraps by colour.

I bought seven of these files from ASDA at 55p each and have sorted the fabric scraps by colour.

 

The scraps have been colour sorted into clear plastic folders which in turn are stored in two box files.  Sorting the scraps did involve throwing some fabric in the bin (apologies for the shock this may cause any fabric hoarders reading this), mainly poor quality cottons and pieces smaller than 2½” square.

 

SONY DSC

Some scraps I neatened-up into either 2½” squares or 2½” x 5″ rectangles before adding them to the little stock of pieces I’ve been collecting since I started patchwork over five years ago (‘thank you’ to Flip for the idea :-)).   I sometimes use these just as test pieces for accurate ¼” seams but they do find their way into a variety of projects including bags and quilt borders.  I’ve printed a free pattern from Riley Blake that I might adapt so that I can use the rectangles in colour groups…

The sun is shining today and despite a strong, chill wind it is pleasant to be outside. I’ve been unable to control the ‘munchies’ recently and as a result I’m feeling quite stodgy. I resolved to stop beating myself-up about failing to curb my bad eating habits and instead attack the problem from another direction – increase exercise!  So off I set in the sunshine, not to my local supermarket but to one about two miles away,  through the pleasant but aptly named Hatch Warren housing estate.  Following my nose and trusting to my sense of direction I arrived at the supermarket within 35 minutes. Resisting the ‘naughty treats’ aisles, I bought a couple of bags of shopping, then set out for home.  The sun was still shining and the wind was pushing me from behind but despite these two navigation aids I managed to lose all sense of direction in the ‘warren’ and did a complete loop!  The walk home took 55 minutes!  Ho! Hum!  I have achieved my objective of increasing exercise levels by a little more than planned!  It is easy to meander – physically and mentally.  We are trying to improve our Bible study skills (and so avoid unhelpful meandering) for the benefit of our housegroup and the book we are reading, ‘Leading Better Bible Studies’ by Karen & Rod Morris, describes the learning process like this:

  • Observation – What does the text actually say?
  • Interpretation – what does the text mean?
  • Application – How do we respond to what the text means?

I think with only a little imagination this three stage learning process could be applied to more than Bible study – maybe even walking to and from a supermarket! 😉

Allison

 

About allisonreidnem

New Every Morning – About Me Hi! I’m Allison, an obsessive patchwork-quilter who has no desire to be cured! I’ve been developing my skills and knowledge by paying attention at my local quilting group and by putting my questions into the computer search engine. I’m so grateful to the generous people who have taken the time to share their knowledge with me in person, via YouTube videos or their blogs. I’m intending my blog to be a link into the worldwide patchwork and quilting community and a means to contribute helpful hints and inspiration as I continue to discover more about this addictive craft. So, why ‘New Every Morning Patchwork and Quilting’? Well! I am a morning person! I often wake in the wee small hours and think through design and quilt construction issues. My woolly–headed evening brain finds such issues far too difficult to resolve! If I’m disciplined enough to be asleep by 10pm, I can be up cutting, piecing, pressing and quilting before sunrise! By the time daily family routine kicks-in I’ve had a satisfying, soul-feeding creative fix. (I should mention that ‘family at home’ is: my patient, faithful husband of 27years; and our equally patient 16 year old son, who acts as our in-house IT support complete with sighs and rolling eyes! Older daughter and son have both recently flown the nest). Not only do I find early mornings my creative time I also find it a time for receiving spiritual nourishment. I often find myself humming a gentle chorus and reflecting on God’s constancy as another new day dawns. ‘The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercies never come to an end. They are new every morning, new every morning; Great is thy faithfulness, O Lord, Great is thy faithfulness.’ Edith McNeil’s chorus is based on verses from the Bible – Lamentations 3: 21-23.
This entry was posted in Books, Fabrics, Finish 2015, Puzzle Quilt and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A February finish and a meander into March!

  1. Lily Lau says:

    March will be a lovely month, even more creative than February! I’m sure 🙂

    Like

  2. I enjoyed this post. I relate completely to the pleasure of cleaning up the mess behind myself, putting away fabrics and tools, wiping surfaces, etc. And as to scraps, I don’t deliberately save anything smaller than 2.5″ either. Really 2″ is my minimum, but a lot of that goes in the trash, too.

    As to learning methods (not teaching methods, though I expect it applies there, too), observation, interpretation, and application is great advice. For me, observation in particular means listening. Like most things, it is a skill to practice. I’ve found I’m better than I used to be at actually listening to my husband, mostly because now I try harder. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Colleen says:

    Congratulations on your finish – what a nice bright happy looking quilt !
    I really like your colour scheme, I find purple hard to work with but yours is quite successful.
    Getting lost while toting groceries – yikes, are your arms longer now or did you have one of those wheelie carts ?

    Like

    • Thanks Colleen! Strangely purple is low down on my list of favourite colours but for some reason it keeps cropping up in my patchwork projects even though I never wear it and there are no purple furnishings in our house!
      It was a bit of a trial having to carry the shopping bags on the long homebound journey! Today I walked into town with a rucksack on my back – gave my arms a rest!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

