Where did this week go?

SONY DSCWhew!  How come it’s Friday already?  It’s definitely time to stop rushing and reflect for an hour or so.  Starting with this mornings dramatic sunrise. It only lasted a few minutes as there was a line of heavy cloud just above the horizon.  The sun managed a molten gold wink before disappearing behind the grey and, true to the old saying ‘red sky in the morning, shepherds warning’, it then rained for a couple of hours!

Looking back through the week: My new student arrived on Wednesday afternoon and got stuck in to making a tote bag. She choose a plain red fabric and a royal blue with white stars to make a bag for her daughter who is mad about Captain America (I had to admit to being so far out of the loop that I don’t know who the Captain is beyond guessing he must be a superhero!).  Another lesson is booked for Monday when I’m pretty sure the bag will be completed.

Yesterday I tackled the least pleasant stage of making a quilt – putting together the top, wadding and backing to make a ‘sandwich’.  My log cabin quilt top is nearly 70″ square and I was a bit unsure about centering all the layers on a small(ish) table so I decided to experiment by combining a couple of sandwich making methods.  First I retrieved two long, 4″x ½” planks of wood from the garage, dusted them off and then spread the backing face down on the sitting room floor.  I used some masking tape around the edges to keep it taut but not overstretched, then placed one of the planks along an edge and began to roll the backing onto it being careful to keep it straight.    Next, I spread out the quilt top, face upwards, and did the same with the masking tape and the second plank.

SONY DSC

Backing and quilt top rolled onto planks and on the table with the wadding.

Trying hard not to stick the ends of the planks through the ceiling or the tv screen  😉 I put them on the old table I use for cutting and basting.  Really this rolling plank method of preparing a quilt sandwich (courtesy of Sharon Schamber) needs a table at least as wide as the quilt but I didn’t want to set up the dusty old pasting-table in the sitting room so this was where I combined methods.

SONY DSC

I unrolled the first 18″ or so of the top and backing with the wadding (Hobbs 80/20) between them and then clamped the overhanging edges to the table using giant bulldog clips. Then it was just a case of pinning and unrolling until a I got to the end.

Halfway through the pinning process - time for a cup of tea and a sit down to rest my aching back!

Halfway through the pinning process – time for a cup of tea and a sit down to rest my aching back!

When I’d finished, about 12″ on either side of the quilt remained unpinned because these sections had been hanging off the edge of the table. With the planks out of the way, I then just clamped, pinned and moved the quilt around the table as I would do normally to cover a whole quilt with basting pins or stitches and so completed the sandwich basting (if you see what I mean as cookery and quilting terms get mixed together!).  Lifting the sandwich off the table, the backing did look reasonably smooth, the proof of the pudding will be in the quilting (more mixed terms!:-D) – will the sandwich stay smooth or pucker and crease?  I’ll let you know – or you might hear my screams of frustration…

SONY DSC

Tip – store safety pins open – they do get in a bit of a tangle but it does save your fingers getting so sore having to open and close several hundred as you baste a quilt!

But for now quilting will be put to one side (without a sigh) as we are looking forward to visits from #1 and only daughter and #1 son later next week.  All three of our children love being together and we’ll have a lot of fun I’m sure :-), although it’s a shame son-in-law can’t join us.    In the meantime we are catching up with some of my husbands family (it is Mother’s Day on Sunday in the UK) which will be lovely too.

After looking at that brief but magnificent sunrise this morning I read about the futility of worrying and resolved to worry less and pray more!

Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Philippians 4: 6-7

Have a peaceful, worry free weekend,

Allison

About allisonreidnem

New Every Morning – About Me Hi! I’m Allison, an obsessive patchwork-quilter who has no desire to be cured! I’ve been developing my skills and knowledge by paying attention at my local quilting group and by putting my questions into the computer search engine. I’m so grateful to the generous people who have taken the time to share their knowledge with me in person, via YouTube videos or their blogs. I’m intending my blog to be a link into the worldwide patchwork and quilting community and a means to contribute helpful hints and inspiration as I continue to discover more about this addictive craft. So, why ‘New Every Morning Patchwork and Quilting’? Well! I am a morning person! I often wake in the wee small hours and think through design and quilt construction issues. My woolly–headed evening brain finds such issues far too difficult to resolve! If I’m disciplined enough to be asleep by 10pm, I can be up cutting, piecing, pressing and quilting before sunrise! By the time daily family routine kicks-in I’ve had a satisfying, soul-feeding creative fix. (I should mention that ‘family at home’ is: my patient, faithful husband of 27years; and our equally patient 16 year old son, who acts as our in-house IT support complete with sighs and rolling eyes! Older daughter and son have both recently flown the nest). Not only do I find early mornings my creative time I also find it a time for receiving spiritual nourishment. I often find myself humming a gentle chorus and reflecting on God’s constancy as another new day dawns. ‘The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercies never come to an end. They are new every morning, new every morning; Great is thy faithfulness, O Lord, Great is thy faithfulness.’ Edith McNeil’s chorus is based on verses from the Bible – Lamentations 3: 21-23.
This entry was posted in Awe and Wonder, Log Cabin and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Where did this week go?

  1. katyquilts says:

    Such a breathtaking sunrise! Wow! I had heard about basting this way, nice to know it works well!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy Mother’s Day! Enjoy your children — I’m sure you will.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Colleen says:

    very clever to combine the two methods for basting, it looks as though it worked well but it still must have been a bit tricky by yourself. The peaks at your quilt are intriguing as well ! Hope you had a good visit with your kids. I have been away for several days on family business so there hasn’t been too much time in the sewing room for me either.

    Like

    • Hope you had time to share some good memories with your family and that the foxy place mat was well received! Yes! Not too much time for sewing this week but that keeps it being fun when there is time!

      Like

      • Colleen says:

        I’m glad I went. My Mom has some health issues and on top of that she came down with the same flu/cold I had. It really gets you in the bronchial area. Funny thing about the placemat – she couldn’t see the fox ! Neither could her caregiver ! Mom really liked the fabric on the back though and her caregiver recognized that it was paper piecing and a bit complicated. Oh well, my feelings weren’t hurt – I just find it amusing – it’s as plain as day to me !

        Like

      • Isn’t that strange! But you are right the key thing is you had that time with your Mom and saw her through an illness when she would really have appreciated having you with her. hope you get some time in your sewing room over the next few days. Allison

        Like

  4. Colleen says:

    Thanks Allison, you’re right about time with family. I hope you all enjoyed your time together too !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

