A ‘nearly finish’ and a ‘once for all’ finish!

I’ve been plugging away at a project his week and holding off writing here in the hope that I’d be able to share a FINISH! Hope and reality don’t always coincide so it’s a ‘nearly finish’ I’m sharing today!

This is a commission from my Aunt – two crazy patchwork cushion covers to add to her recently re-furbished flat.  I haven’t seen the flat but my Mum reports that the colour scheme is very neutral and one of my cousins had suggested to her Mum that a ‘colour pop’ could add to the overall effect – she suggested an orange pop!

One of the crazy patchwork cushion fronts.   I decided on toning quilt threads rather contrasting and likewise with the buttons.

One of the crazy patchwork cushion fronts pinned and ready for quilting. I decided on toning quilt threads rather contrasting and likewise with the choice of buttons.

Crazy patchwork is traditionally embellished and quilted with embroidery stitching, beads, buttons, lace etc.  I decided to try out some of the little used fancy stitches my sewing machine can produce!

Crazy patchwork is traditionally embellished and quilted with embroidery stitching, beads, buttons, lace etc. I decided to try out some of the, little used, fancy stitches my sewing machine can produce!

Some of the stitching my clever machine made easy for me!  I did have a thought to use stitching within some of the fabric pieces but time got the better of me so I stuck to just stitching over the seams.

Some of the stitching my clever machine made easy for me! I did have a thought to put decorative stitching within some of the fabric pieces but time got the better of me so I stuck to stitching over the seams.

A bit more of the stitching!

A bit more of the stitching!

And one of the pair of nearly finishes - just the binding to stitch down by hand - an evening in front of the TV beckons..

And one of the pair of nearly finished cushion covers – just the binding to stitch down by hand – an evening in front of the TV beckons..

Thankfully there is one FINISH done and dusted for eternity: the victory over sin and death Jesus won for each of us on the cross.  No needed for a wishful hope of a finish on this one, we have an assured hope in heaven when we trust Him to have put right our relationship with God.  Reading the Bible this week has made me realise what a busy week Jesus had in the run up to His arrest and crucifixion.  He did a lot of teaching in those last few days and, having spoken to his disciples about the future, He concluded with these simple words:

 Heaven and earth will pass away, but my words will never pass away.

Matthew 24:35

Isn’t that amazing?  All of this will come to an end (and the new heaven and the new earth will be revealed when Jesus returns) but God’s word will exist forever.  Time spent reading the Bible cannot be wasted time.  At church we are reading the Gospel of Mark and keeping in mind Jesus’ question recorded in Mark 8:28

“But what about you?” Jesus asked.  “Who do you say I am?”

Read Mark, see the surprising ways different people responded to Jesus, and ask yourself what’s your response to Him in each of those circumstances?

HAPPY EASTER!

Allison

About allisonreidnem

New Every Morning – About Me Hi! I’m Allison, an obsessive patchwork-quilter who has no desire to be cured! I’ve been developing my skills and knowledge by paying attention at my local quilting group and by putting my questions into the computer search engine. I’m so grateful to the generous people who have taken the time to share their knowledge with me in person, via YouTube videos or their blogs. I’m intending my blog to be a link into the worldwide patchwork and quilting community and a means to contribute helpful hints and inspiration as I continue to discover more about this addictive craft. So, why ‘New Every Morning Patchwork and Quilting’? Well! I am a morning person! I often wake in the wee small hours and think through design and quilt construction issues. My woolly–headed evening brain finds such issues far too difficult to resolve! If I’m disciplined enough to be asleep by 10pm, I can be up cutting, piecing, pressing and quilting before sunrise! By the time daily family routine kicks-in I’ve had a satisfying, soul-feeding creative fix. (I should mention that ‘family at home’ is: my patient, faithful husband of 27years; and our equally patient 16 year old son, who acts as our in-house IT support complete with sighs and rolling eyes! Older daughter and son have both recently flown the nest). Not only do I find early mornings my creative time I also find it a time for receiving spiritual nourishment. I often find myself humming a gentle chorus and reflecting on God’s constancy as another new day dawns. ‘The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercies never come to an end. They are new every morning, new every morning; Great is thy faithfulness, O Lord, Great is thy faithfulness.’ Edith McNeil’s chorus is based on verses from the Bible – Lamentations 3: 21-23.
This entry was posted in Awe and Wonder, Crazy Patchwork, Finish 2015, Projects and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A ‘nearly finish’ and a ‘once for all’ finish!

  1. What a pretty cushion cover! Good work.

    Like

  2. Colleen says:

    Your crazy pillow looks great, your Aunt should be quite pleased with it. When I first looked at the picture I thought you might be doing some improv piecing – is that how this is done ? I’ll look for ward to the final ‘finish’ post !
    I saw a quote the other day that resonated with me but can’t tell you who it was by.
    “God dwells within you, as you. “

    Like

    • I’ll make sure to put in a post how I set about crazy patchwork. Making slow work of stitching the binding…
      Christians believe that as God’s creation we all have an awareness of God even if we haven’t heard His message from the Bible – see Romans 1:20. However, it’s only when we repent (turn our backs on sin and resolve to live a new life) believing Jesus to be Lord of our lives and Saviour that we have God dwell in us in the person of His Holy Spirit – see Mark 1:15, Romans 12:1-2. In my experience evidence of God living in us is displayed by changing attitudes and actions which we know we would not be able to do without the power of God in our lives – the fruits of the Spirit: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control (Galatians 5:22-25).
      Jesus said, “I am the true vine… Remain in me, and I will remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine.”

      Liked by 1 person

  3. katyquilts says:

    Your cushion covers are beautiful! I can’t remember the last time I used anything but a straight stich on anything! And yes, the very best finish of all was accomplished by Jesus. Happy Easter!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

