Not A Crazy Patchwork Tutorial… Instead some thoughts inspired by Spring sunshine!

Yeah!  We’ve enjoyed a week of Spring sunshine.  It has been beautiful and especially welcome as it has coincided with the Easter break.  It’s so refreshing to be able to walk outdoors without putting on extra layers; to open windows and doors and hear children playing in their gardens 🙂 I’ve been to the allotment and done some digging (oh! my aching back and stretched muscles!) and, here at home, I’ve sown a few seeds – tomatoes, sweetcorn, runner beans, cosmos…  Little pots of hope arranged on the kitchen windowsill and in the ‘pop-up’ greenhouse standing against the south facing wall of our house.  I’ve even done a bit of Spring cleaning (only a little bit you understand!).

Today I’ve been preparing for a monthly craft group I help run.  We’ll be meeting on Monday and I’ll be demonstrating how to use a lightbox to stencil emboss patterns on to card.

Some of the examples of stencil embossing ready for Monday

Some of the examples of stencil embossing ready for Monday

Nowadays I don’t do much card craft so I’ve had to spend some time refreshing my memory and producing some examples!  It’s funny how our crafty occupations evolve isn’t it?  I’ve always enjoyed making things: when I was a child I knitted clothes and made ‘junk’ furniture for my dolls; as a teenager I dabbled in paper piecing patchwork; later I knitted myself and my husband jumpers; then my sister-in-law gave me a simple cross stitch kit and that grew into a hobby that occupied me for many years; next paper crafting became popular and provided techniques to produce cards far more quickly than cross stitching designs; and then, well, I fell in love with patchwork after seeing a display of little quilts in a shop window.  Those quilts had been made by members of North Hampshire Quilters for the Special Care Baby Unit at our local hospital.  For several years now the ladies of NHQ have been gifting around 360 quilts per year to the Unit so each baby can receive and keep a quilt.  I asked Marion, the then Chair of NHQ, if she’d teach my craft group how to make the little quilts.  She kindly obliged (quilters are such nice folk), the group did produce some quilts to donate to the SCBU and I joined NHQ, beginning this love affair with patchwork and quilting!

Back to today…  Once the craft group prep was out the way I returned to a WIP.  It is so nearly finished!

A quilted butterfly - a very appropriate motif on this lovely spring day!

A quilted butterfly – a very appropriate motif on this lovely spring day!

I just need to quilt a few more butterflies around the border and it will be ready for the binding. The bright daylight we are experiencing  is perfect for hand stitching and I’m very comfortable sat in an armchair by the open backdoor listening to the suburban sounds and feeling the sunshine warming me as I stitch… In these circumstances it is possible to resist the to-do list thoughts that crowd into my mind and instead consciously enjoy what I’m doing in the moment!  It is a discipline I need to practice – to be occupied and absorbed (living life to the full) without fretting about the other things that could be done in the same piece of time!  I should meditate more often on Jesus’ promise in John 10:10:

The thief comes only to kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.

*****

How strange! I sat down at the computer to share some photos and tips about crazy patchwork, instead my mind has wandered – must be the heady effect of a week of sunshine!  Time to get back to that armchair by the open door…

Allison

About allisonreidnem

New Every Morning – About Me Hi! I’m Allison, an obsessive patchwork-quilter who has no desire to be cured! I’ve been developing my skills and knowledge by paying attention at my local quilting group and by putting my questions into the computer search engine. I’m so grateful to the generous people who have taken the time to share their knowledge with me in person, via YouTube videos or their blogs. I’m intending my blog to be a link into the worldwide patchwork and quilting community and a means to contribute helpful hints and inspiration as I continue to discover more about this addictive craft. So, why ‘New Every Morning Patchwork and Quilting’? Well! I am a morning person! I often wake in the wee small hours and think through design and quilt construction issues. My woolly–headed evening brain finds such issues far too difficult to resolve! If I’m disciplined enough to be asleep by 10pm, I can be up cutting, piecing, pressing and quilting before sunrise! By the time daily family routine kicks-in I’ve had a satisfying, soul-feeding creative fix. (I should mention that ‘family at home’ is: my patient, faithful husband of 27years; and our equally patient 16 year old son, who acts as our in-house IT support complete with sighs and rolling eyes! Older daughter and son have both recently flown the nest). Not only do I find early mornings my creative time I also find it a time for receiving spiritual nourishment. I often find myself humming a gentle chorus and reflecting on God’s constancy as another new day dawns. ‘The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercies never come to an end. They are new every morning, new every morning; Great is thy faithfulness, O Lord, Great is thy faithfulness.’ Edith McNeil’s chorus is based on verses from the Bible – Lamentations 3: 21-23.
This entry was posted in Awe and Wonder, Inspiration, Local Quilt Groups, Projects and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Not A Crazy Patchwork Tutorial… Instead some thoughts inspired by Spring sunshine!

  1. Colleen says:

    It is funny how our crafty habits evolve ! Your card creations look very nice. I did some embossing years ago at college and loved the subtlety of it. Your time spent hand stitching sounds lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

