Gentle Progress

It’s been a week of steady progress on the patchwork and quilting front with lots of other bits of life moving steadily forwards alongside.  I have to start with a photo that makes my heart sing – it was our daughter and son-in-laws first wedding anniversary on Sunday 🙂 Congratulations!

T&A_177

 

SONY DSC

Moda Spring Fever fabrics. Quilt design from Connie Ewbank’s ‘Quick & Easy Quilts for Kids’

 

Two weeks ago I posted the beginnings of a quilt being created from the ‘left-overs’ of another project.  It went together really fast but has now stalled while I wait for some fabric to arrive – a turquoise from the same range for a simple border and an orange/pink also from the same fabric range for the binding.  Buying from the same range gives me confidence that colour matches will work – I’ve been caught out too many times making purchases over the internet and being disappointed with the colour match when the fabrics arrive.

 

 

SONY DSC

I did finish the quilt that produced the left-overs – it’s taken a long time and I am very fond of it but still if someone would like to buy it…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SONY DSC

Moda Collections for a Cause, Community, fabrics. Based on a design by Carrie Nelson in ‘Schnibbles times two’. (I couldn’t get the colour right in this photo – see this link for much truer colour).

 

Another work in progress is the quilt I’m making from two charm packs and a metre of toning fabric.  The top has come together very well.  I’ve ordered some fabric for the backing… Not so critical if the match isn’t perfect as it will be on the underside of the quilt and not in direct contact with any of the quilt top fabrics.

 

SONY DSC

Another Moda fabric range, this time ‘Luna Notte’. These cotton fabrics feel beautifully silky and I love the soft, smudgy, colours. I’m going to make a friendship braid quilt with these, hoping for an antique look.

 

 

 

And,  you’ve guessed it, while I’m waiting for the fabrics to arrive I’ve sorted out some fabric strips bought at a show three or four years ago and will be cutting them ready to make another quilt top! I must be mad, I’m definitely obsessed, and I am very happy 🙂

Linking up with Lee at Freshly Pieced to see what other P&Q obsessives are working on this week!

Allison

About allisonreidnem

New Every Morning – About Me Hi! I’m Allison, an obsessive patchwork-quilter who has no desire to be cured! I’ve been developing my skills and knowledge by paying attention at my local quilting group and by putting my questions into the computer search engine. I’m so grateful to the generous people who have taken the time to share their knowledge with me in person, via YouTube videos or their blogs. I’m intending my blog to be a link into the worldwide patchwork and quilting community and a means to contribute helpful hints and inspiration as I continue to discover more about this addictive craft. So, why ‘New Every Morning Patchwork and Quilting’? Well! I am a morning person! I often wake in the wee small hours and think through design and quilt construction issues. My woolly–headed evening brain finds such issues far too difficult to resolve! If I’m disciplined enough to be asleep by 10pm, I can be up cutting, piecing, pressing and quilting before sunrise! By the time daily family routine kicks-in I’ve had a satisfying, soul-feeding creative fix. (I should mention that ‘family at home’ is: my patient, faithful husband of 27years; and our equally patient 16 year old son, who acts as our in-house IT support complete with sighs and rolling eyes! Older daughter and son have both recently flown the nest). Not only do I find early mornings my creative time I also find it a time for receiving spiritual nourishment. I often find myself humming a gentle chorus and reflecting on God’s constancy as another new day dawns. ‘The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercies never come to an end. They are new every morning, new every morning; Great is thy faithfulness, O Lord, Great is thy faithfulness.’ Edith McNeil’s chorus is based on verses from the Bible – Lamentations 3: 21-23.
This entry was posted in P&Q Books, Projects and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Gentle Progress

  1. First of all, congratulations for your daughter! You must be really happy!
    Your Schnibbles quilt is really beautiful!!

    Like

  2. Colleen says:

    What a beautiful wedding photo ! Thanks for sharing and congratulations to the happy couple !
    Looks like you have several lovely projects on the go.

    Like

  3. Where did that year go!?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

