Patchwork Friendship Braid

The friendship braid quilt block just by it’s name evokes warm, loving emotions. And of course quilts themselves are associated not only with physical warmth but also with the security of love and committed relationships. The fabric prints I’m using for my present friendship braid project bring to my mind that sense of long-term warmth.  I bought the 2½” strips of Moda’s Luna Notte fabrics from a trader at the 2011 Quilts UK show held in the shadow of the dramatic Malvern Hills in Gloucestershire.  And those strips of beautiful silky cotton have been put away, brought out, stroked and hidden away again many times over the past four years!

The friendship braid quilt features on the cover of Pam and Nicky Lintott's book.

The friendship braid quilt features on the cover of Pam and Nicky Lintott’s book.

I can’t really explain why but last week the fabric strips came out of the cupboard again and instead of putting them away I matched them to a pattern in ‘Jelly Roll Quilts’ by Pam and Nicky Lintott and began cutting trapezoids (get me and my maths language!) with the recommended Omnigrid 96L ruler. To make a friendship braid block there needs to be equal numbers of trapezoids cut in two directions – traditionally one direction in light fabrics the reverse trapezoid in dark fabrics. Luna Notte has predominately muted shades so to my eye there are far more light/medium fabrics than definite lights and darks.  No matter, the block can work without strong colour value contrasts – in this case emphasising the gentle soft shades and giving a sort of ‘aged’ country cottage effect.

The left and right trapezoids separated into handy lunch boxes (no children were harmed in the making of this quilt top!)

The left and right trapezoids separated into handy lunch boxes (no children were harmed in the making of this quilt top!)

SONY DSC

A right hand start braid next to pieces laid out for a left hand start braid.

Getting started with a friendship braid was a bit taxing for me (a bear of little brain!) but thankfully it’s the sort of patchwork that is repetitive and develops a simple, pleasant rhythm that quickly becomes intuitive. (I also started with the advantage that I’ve done it before – making a simple bag out of scraps.)  It’s all about the light and dark or, for this project, the left and right. I’ll be making eight braid strips, four will start with a right hand trapezoid piece, four with a left. This is helpful in the piecing process as I’ve begun by chain piecing the four ‘right start’ braids – chain piecing helps with developing a rhythm, saves thread and increases the rate of production!  Once these four are complete I will chain piece the second set of four braids beginning with left hand pieces.

SONY DSC

The rhythm established – next the red print followed by the cream and so on…

The pieces need gentle handling as the exposed edges of the braid are stretchy bias.  A quick finger press is enough at theis stage to get seams lieing in a consistent direction.

The pieces need gentle handling as the exposed edges of the braid are stretchy bias. A quick finger press is enough at this stage to get seams lying in a consistent direction.

Another plus to add to the friendship braid block is that it lends itself to short bursts of activity at the sewing machine – just ideal to pick up and put down for the odd twenty minutes snatched here and there through a busy day.

The next challenge will be sewing the braids together – all the exposed edges are bias cut so I’ll have to be careful!

Here's the bag made using the friendship braid block.  I carried the braid theme into the handles - plaiting three tubes of fabric and running a line of stitching through them.  In hindsight I should have put a layer of thin wadding in each 'tube' just to give the handles a little more 'substance'.

Here’s the bag I made using the friendship braid block. I carried the braid theme into the handles – plaiting three tubes of fabric and running a line of stitching through them. In hindsight I should have put a layer of thin wadding in each ‘tube’ just to give the handles a little more ‘substance’.

Allison

About allisonreidnem

New Every Morning – About Me Hi! I’m Allison, an obsessive patchwork-quilter who has no desire to be cured! I’ve been developing my skills and knowledge by paying attention at my local quilting group and by putting my questions into the computer search engine. I’m so grateful to the generous people who have taken the time to share their knowledge with me in person, via YouTube videos or their blogs. I’m intending my blog to be a link into the worldwide patchwork and quilting community and a means to contribute helpful hints and inspiration as I continue to discover more about this addictive craft. So, why ‘New Every Morning Patchwork and Quilting’? Well! I am a morning person! I often wake in the wee small hours and think through design and quilt construction issues. My woolly–headed evening brain finds such issues far too difficult to resolve! If I’m disciplined enough to be asleep by 10pm, I can be up cutting, piecing, pressing and quilting before sunrise! By the time daily family routine kicks-in I’ve had a satisfying, soul-feeding creative fix. (I should mention that ‘family at home’ is: my patient, faithful husband of 27years; and our equally patient 16 year old son, who acts as our in-house IT support complete with sighs and rolling eyes! Older daughter and son have both recently flown the nest). Not only do I find early mornings my creative time I also find it a time for receiving spiritual nourishment. I often find myself humming a gentle chorus and reflecting on God’s constancy as another new day dawns. ‘The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercies never come to an end. They are new every morning, new every morning; Great is thy faithfulness, O Lord, Great is thy faithfulness.’ Edith McNeil’s chorus is based on verses from the Bible – Lamentations 3: 21-23.
This entry was posted in Bags, Fabrics, P&Q Books, Piecing tips, Projects and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Patchwork Friendship Braid

  1. Colleen says:

    After reading your lovely description of the friendship braid quilt block it popped into my head that you would have a fabulous career in marketing ! Your quilt is off to a great start and I will look forward to your ‘finish’ post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. LisaLeese says:

    Looks amazing! I’ll definitely try the braid quilt soon.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

