Work In Progress Overload!

I call my hobby an ‘obsession’ but of course there is far more going on in my day-to-day life than patchwork and quilting – some of it necessary, mundane but essentially fulfilling. Patchwork and quilting is what occupies my thoughts while the mundane is being done. This afternoon I’m cleaning the kitchen, but washing down worktops and moving the kettle, butter dish and other bits and bobs around the room as I go gives me time to ponder the projects I have underway and consider future projects.

Earlier today, however, I left the house feeling not a little bit desperate about the works in progress and the next project I plan to start.  ‘Overwhelmed’ is a useful word at this point!

My sewing corner at 8.45 this morning - I was glad to run out the house with four WIP swamping the machine and at least two piles of fabric sorted and ready for projects in mind!

My sewing corner at 8.45 this morning – I was glad to run out the house away from this pile of unfinished work!  I can see four works in progress here and at least two piles of fabric sorted and ready for the projects I have in mind!

Since arriving back home (and eating a packet of croissants and drinking two cups of coffee) I’ve come to a decision about one of the WIP – having mis-ordered and then waited two weeks for border fabrics to be delivered I’ve chosen not to add any borders and instead just bind the quilt using a fabric from my stash!

I'll be using the turquoise fabric to back and bind this little quilt - a decision made!

I’ll be using the turquoise fabric to back and bind this little quilt – a decision made!

How contrary can I be?  On the bright side I now feel released from the paralyzing ‘overwhelmed’ state and ready to execute a plan: sandwich the quilt layers, quilt, bind, label, add to Folksy shop!  Yeah!

(Ooops!  – Can’t really leave the kitchen half-cleaned though…)

And a final thought on this contrary day: One of my errands this morning took me to Thorntons to buy a box of chocolates.  I came out of the shop with two boxes, feeling happy but more than a little perplexed!  I could have bought one 300g box for £12 but using the in store special offer I was told I could have two 300g boxes for £10!   I’m no mathematician, my highpoint was reached in 1979 when I achieved a grade C GCSE, but even I worked out this was a very strange way of doing business!

Allison

Linking up with Lee for WIP Wednesday

About allisonreidnem

New Every Morning – About Me Hi! I’m Allison, an obsessive patchwork-quilter who has no desire to be cured! I’ve been developing my skills and knowledge by paying attention at my local quilting group and by putting my questions into the computer search engine. I’m so grateful to the generous people who have taken the time to share their knowledge with me in person, via YouTube videos or their blogs. I’m intending my blog to be a link into the worldwide patchwork and quilting community and a means to contribute helpful hints and inspiration as I continue to discover more about this addictive craft. So, why ‘New Every Morning Patchwork and Quilting’? Well! I am a morning person! I often wake in the wee small hours and think through design and quilt construction issues. My woolly–headed evening brain finds such issues far too difficult to resolve! If I’m disciplined enough to be asleep by 10pm, I can be up cutting, piecing, pressing and quilting before sunrise! By the time daily family routine kicks-in I’ve had a satisfying, soul-feeding creative fix. (I should mention that ‘family at home’ is: my patient, faithful husband of 27years; and our equally patient 16 year old son, who acts as our in-house IT support complete with sighs and rolling eyes! Older daughter and son have both recently flown the nest). Not only do I find early mornings my creative time I also find it a time for receiving spiritual nourishment. I often find myself humming a gentle chorus and reflecting on God’s constancy as another new day dawns. ‘The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercies never come to an end. They are new every morning, new every morning; Great is thy faithfulness, O Lord, Great is thy faithfulness.’ Edith McNeil’s chorus is based on verses from the Bible – Lamentations 3: 21-23.
This entry was posted in Projects, Works In Progress and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Work In Progress Overload!

  1. Thorntons will be going out of business if they offer bargains such as you got this morning. I don’t blame you for buying that second box of chocs.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Colleen says:

    chocolate is definitely the best fuel to power through a dilemma, even sweeter that it was a great price 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Chocolate is definitely the answer!! Thanks for linking up with Crafty Comment Karma! We have a new one going up tomorrow so we hope you’ll join us again!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. LisaLeese says:

    I have had that I overwhelmed feeling numerous times! I recently had to hide numerous fabric bundles from view in my sewing room bc I could feel it starting to happen. Crisis averted!

    Like

    • Yes! I think I’ll be doing the same! My thoughts keep darting from one project to the next when I see all those little piles of fabric and blocks all around me! ‘Clear the decks’ and settle to one at a time!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

