A reflection on relationship through prayer

Funny how prayer becomes important, even in our very secular society, when things are going badly or there’s a tragedy.  Media images abound: people congregating at a local church to light candles; opening a book of condolence; an interview with a local clergyman; flowers left with messages of sympathy and promises of prayers to be said. Don’t get me wrong, I am very glad that prayer has not been abandoned.  In those tragic situations turning to God in prayer becomes an admission of our own limitations, of our need to know there will be a fair judgement at the end of time, a need for something ‘bigger’ than the situation, a cry for comfort and many other things besides.

This morning the sermon at our church was based on Jesus’ response to his disciples request, “Lord, teach us to pray…” (Luke 11:1).  Jesus told his disciples to begin their prayers with the most startling of words, ‘Father’!.  Imagine that, being told to address the creator of the universe simply as ‘Father’!  Nick, who preached this morning, gave the following illustration as an example of just how momentus this opener to prayer is:  The Queen’s official title is “Elizabeth the Second, by the Grace of God, of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and of Her other Realms and Territories Queen, Head of the Commonwealth, Defender of the Faith” (whew) but Prince Charles calls her ‘Mother’.   Only the Queen’s birth children can call her ‘Mother’ but through Jesus we can all call God ‘Father’ because as John records in his Gospel:

But whoever did want Jesus, who believed He was who He claimed and would do what He said, He made to be their true selves, their child-of-God selves.

Children of God the Creator! Designed and made to be in a loving relationship with Him, communicating through simple, child-like, prayer. Jesus continued his answer to his disciples question teaching them what we know as ‘The Lord’s Prayer’ and also using examples of how important it is to pray about our everyday needs and situations, not just the big, bad stuff, knowing that God will respond with what is best for us (not necessarily what we want!) at all times.    He has promised to be with us always and He is to be relied on to keep His promises. How strange then that prayer can be such a struggle?  The answer must be for us to persist, and to recognise God’s answers in the everyday blessings we take for granted (we forget even to ask for the good things we are blessed with day in and day out) and learn to trust Him for the ‘bigger’ things too.

I’ve written all this as a reminder to myself!  And I’ll close with a link to a song of praise we sang this morning, ‘Behold our God seated on His throne’.  Rightly seated on a throne yet completely accessible – remember the children with Aslan the lion in C S Lewis’ ‘The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe’?

LionWardrobe12.jpg (336×500)

Allison

About allisonreidnem

New Every Morning – About Me Hi! I’m Allison, an obsessive patchwork-quilter who has no desire to be cured! I’ve been developing my skills and knowledge by paying attention at my local quilting group and by putting my questions into the computer search engine. I’m so grateful to the generous people who have taken the time to share their knowledge with me in person, via YouTube videos or their blogs. I’m intending my blog to be a link into the worldwide patchwork and quilting community and a means to contribute helpful hints and inspiration as I continue to discover more about this addictive craft. So, why ‘New Every Morning Patchwork and Quilting’? Well! I am a morning person! I often wake in the wee small hours and think through design and quilt construction issues. My woolly–headed evening brain finds such issues far too difficult to resolve! If I’m disciplined enough to be asleep by 10pm, I can be up cutting, piecing, pressing and quilting before sunrise! By the time daily family routine kicks-in I’ve had a satisfying, soul-feeding creative fix. (I should mention that ‘family at home’ is: my patient, faithful husband of 27years; and our equally patient 16 year old son, who acts as our in-house IT support complete with sighs and rolling eyes! Older daughter and son have both recently flown the nest). Not only do I find early mornings my creative time I also find it a time for receiving spiritual nourishment. I often find myself humming a gentle chorus and reflecting on God’s constancy as another new day dawns. ‘The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercies never come to an end. They are new every morning, new every morning; Great is thy faithfulness, O Lord, Great is thy faithfulness.’ Edith McNeil’s chorus is based on verses from the Bible – Lamentations 3: 21-23.
This entry was posted in Awe and Wonder, Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A reflection on relationship through prayer

  1. Colleen says:

    You have a very good way of relating your religious studies – if that’s the right way to phrase it. I especially like the last sentence in the first paragraph. I don’t ever ask for anything in my prayers – it’s more silently expressing gratitude for what I see, feel, experience, have ect.

    Like

    • That’s a good heart to have Colleen. The Bible says all good things come from God so everyone is blessed by Him whether or not the blessings and/or He are acknowledged.

      Like

      • Colleen says:

        I do feel that we have been provided everything we need inside us and it is up to us to search for it, appreciate it and use it in a good way. After I posted my first reply I did start thinking about how I send good thoughts out to people in need so I guess that is a form of prayer too.

        Like

      • Yep! I’m sure somewhere in one of Paul’s letters he has the gift of encouragement given to some in extra measure. Maybe that is one of the gifts you’ve been given to share 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Wonderful reflection. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

    • Thank you Ashley. Isn’t it wonderful when a Bible truth fills our hearts and minds and just has to spill out? I really enjoyed writing that post straight after the service at church!

      Like

Leave a Reply

