A whirl of a week!

A sad sight!  My greenhouse blown flat on it's face and all the pots and trays thrown about!

A sad sight! My greenhouse blown flat on it’s face and all the pots and trays thrown about!

Whew!  I’m just catching up with myself and the week’s nearly through!  It’s been an ‘out of the ordinary’ few days.  I shall start with the weather (after all, I am British!):  Monday into Tuesday, June decided to be March – very heavy rain, mighty strong winds and chilly enough for the central heating to click on! Tuesday morning, I discovered my little greenhouse had been blown over during the night’s storm 😦  A quick rescue operation ensued and amazingly enough I found the brittle courgette plants had survived their tumble.  Some seedlings were lost but others were scooped up and have survived.  And now, just two days later, they are all drying out rapidly under blue skies and soaring temperatures!

Tuesday also held the excitement of being my birthday.  It was a busy day and I enjoyed having friends and family celebrating with me.  Lots of lovely cards, messages and gifts and a peaceful evening enjoying a glass of wine, watching an episode of Sherlock and then having a giggle with #2 son as we wrestled with one of my more unusual gifts!  On my Amazon wishlist I’d added a photographic light tent.  Well, I obviously didn’t pay enough attention to the product details because this:

The bag containing the photographic light cube (note the metre ruler in front).

The bag containing the photographic light cube (note the metre ruler in front).

Popped up into this:

The light cube with it's bag and the metre ruler!

The light cube with it’s bag and the metre ruler!

I’d imagined a cube I could put on a table top, ideal for taking close-ups of fat quarters and the like… 😀  Hum!  I know I need to improve the quality of photos I post but I’m not sure this large cube will be the answer, although it may come in handy as a reflector…

We managed to fold the cube back into the little bag after looking for a demonstration on YouTube.  If you ever find yourself in a similar fix I’d definitely recommend Gavin Hoey’s video!   

Other quilty blog  and quilt related gifts included books and a tablet.   The intention is to have the tablet by my side so I can quickly take and upload photos as I’m sewing and also keep up to date with blogs I follow without being stuck in front of the family computer.  I’m imagining the tablet will become my modern version of a magazine – something to search through and read while I take a break from sewing or household duties…

SONY DSC

Lovely fat quarter books by Kathy Brown and Fons & Porter

Have you ever received a gift, like my light cube, that proved to be a bit more than you bargained for?

Allison

About allisonreidnem

New Every Morning – About Me Hi! I’m Allison, an obsessive patchwork-quilter who has no desire to be cured! I’ve been developing my skills and knowledge by paying attention at my local quilting group and by putting my questions into the computer search engine. I’m so grateful to the generous people who have taken the time to share their knowledge with me in person, via YouTube videos or their blogs. I’m intending my blog to be a link into the worldwide patchwork and quilting community and a means to contribute helpful hints and inspiration as I continue to discover more about this addictive craft. So, why ‘New Every Morning Patchwork and Quilting’? Well! I am a morning person! I often wake in the wee small hours and think through design and quilt construction issues. My woolly–headed evening brain finds such issues far too difficult to resolve! If I’m disciplined enough to be asleep by 10pm, I can be up cutting, piecing, pressing and quilting before sunrise! By the time daily family routine kicks-in I’ve had a satisfying, soul-feeding creative fix. (I should mention that ‘family at home’ is: my patient, faithful husband of 27years; and our equally patient 16 year old son, who acts as our in-house IT support complete with sighs and rolling eyes! Older daughter and son have both recently flown the nest). Not only do I find early mornings my creative time I also find it a time for receiving spiritual nourishment. I often find myself humming a gentle chorus and reflecting on God’s constancy as another new day dawns. ‘The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercies never come to an end. They are new every morning, new every morning; Great is thy faithfulness, O Lord, Great is thy faithfulness.’ Edith McNeil’s chorus is based on verses from the Bible – Lamentations 3: 21-23.
This entry was posted in Birthdays, Blog Photography, Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A whirl of a week!

  1. I think that light tent is a fab idea. I wonder if they make them any smaller. Happy belated birthday.

    Like

  2. I hadn’t even thought of a light tent! Thanks for sharing this! I’ve been trying to think how to create better pictures without spending a bunch of money!

    Like

  3. katyquilts says:

    Happy Birthday! Glad to hear you had a nice day.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Colleen says:

    Happy ( belated ) Birthday Greetings ! Looks like you received some great quilty loot as well ! That light cube does look fab ! Did it come with lights ? I bought one years ago from Walmart to take photos of my pottery and it would probably be more to your liking as it was smaller. It works well for cutting down the glare on the shinny surfaces of pottery but bigger would have been better. Too bad we couldn’t trade ! At first glance your green house blowing over looked like a disaster. Glad you were able to rescue all of them and get them back where they belong.

    Like

    • I think it’s called a ‘light’ cube because of the way it diffuses light, so no lighting included. I’m just about to go in the garden and get those poor plants in the ground before any other disasters come their way! Have you had any rain?

      Like

Leave a Reply

