Roundabout Quilters: First Exhibition

My last post was heavy on words and light on pictures so a picture heavy record of Roundabout Quilter’s First exhibition seems a good way to restore some balance!

A view from the dias at the East end of All Saint's Church.

A view from the dais at the East end of All Saints Church.

Here is a little bit of pre-show information from the group’s website to set the scene:

As Roundabout Quilters approach their second birthday in September, it seems just the right time for our first exhibition.  It will take place on Saturday 27th June from 10 – 4 and on Sunday 28th June from 12 – 5.  We have been fortunate to secure All Saints’ Church, Southern Road, Basingstoke RG21 7NP for our show, in this, their centenary year.

We are a very varied group.  Some members are national prize winners, others are just starting out.  Our quilts come in many sizes and range from traditional to modern and art quilts.  There are wall hangings, cushions and bags.  Since we started we have had five workshops with professional quilters and textile artists and there is a group of work from each of these.

Refreshments will be available in the church hall next door and there you can find our traders: Juberry; Quilters’ Dream and Running Chicken.  We’ve invited them because they have all brought their shops to us and done a talk for the group.  They are people we’d shop from again (and again).

There is a raffle for two I-Spy quilts, a goodies hamper and a sewing hamper.  One of our members, Jane, is the Basingstoke representative of Project Linus and she’ll be able to give you information about Project Linus’s work making quilts for sick children and others in need.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Next week our second AGM will be held when I’m sure there will be insightful reflections on the Show, so far I understand there were 175 visitors over the weekend and many positive comments about the Show and the venue.  It is a BIG undertaking to produce a local quilt show and the committee’s preparations and the involvement of so many members of the group made this first show a success not least as an exercise in drawing together group members.

Linking with Prairie Sewn Studios.

Allison

About allisonreidnem

New Every Morning – About Me Hi! I’m Allison, an obsessive patchwork-quilter who has no desire to be cured! I’ve been developing my skills and knowledge by paying attention at my local quilting group and by putting my questions into the computer search engine. I’m so grateful to the generous people who have taken the time to share their knowledge with me in person, via YouTube videos or their blogs. I’m intending my blog to be a link into the worldwide patchwork and quilting community and a means to contribute helpful hints and inspiration as I continue to discover more about this addictive craft. So, why ‘New Every Morning Patchwork and Quilting’? Well! I am a morning person! I often wake in the wee small hours and think through design and quilt construction issues. My woolly–headed evening brain finds such issues far too difficult to resolve! If I’m disciplined enough to be asleep by 10pm, I can be up cutting, piecing, pressing and quilting before sunrise! By the time daily family routine kicks-in I’ve had a satisfying, soul-feeding creative fix. (I should mention that ‘family at home’ is: my patient, faithful husband of 27years; and our equally patient 16 year old son, who acts as our in-house IT support complete with sighs and rolling eyes! Older daughter and son have both recently flown the nest). Not only do I find early mornings my creative time I also find it a time for receiving spiritual nourishment. I often find myself humming a gentle chorus and reflecting on God’s constancy as another new day dawns. ‘The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercies never come to an end. They are new every morning, new every morning; Great is thy faithfulness, O Lord, Great is thy faithfulness.’ Edith McNeil’s chorus is based on verses from the Bible – Lamentations 3: 21-23.
This entry was posted in Local Quilt Groups, Quilt Exhibitions and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Roundabout Quilters: First Exhibition

  1. Gina says:

    Great quilts on show. I love visiting quilt shows in churches. Somehow they seem to suit each other

    Like

  2. A lovely display of quilts Allison.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Eleanor says:

    Lovely display, lovely location!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Helen says:

    Fantastic quilts Allison and a church is a great place to exhibit them. It really does make the floor tile and stained glass window influences stand out . I love them all

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Susan says:

    Fun little show and a great spot for it!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Anna Daniel says:

    Beautiful quilts, and yes! They look lovely in church setting. Great photos too. I visited the exhibition for a little wander round and it was very inspiring; I really appreciated the group displaying beginners and expert quilts. And a family heirloom quilt from 1800s I think!

    Like

  7. Colleen says:

    Thanks for sharing these pics, Allison. I don’t get to very many quilt shows so it’s nice to see what’s going on in your area ! I agree with all the others regarding the venue !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

