Deadlines and their legacy – Part 2

In my previous post I did a little exploration of the nature of deadlines in the context of preparing a craft stall for a village show.  In this follow-up post I’ll share the fall-out of getting past that deadline!

First there was a heap of unsold quilts and bags to  put back into storage *sigh* and re-post in my Folksy shop.

SONY DSC

Then, as I wound down and discovered the short-term pleasure of not having a deadline to meet, my thoughts turned to…SORTING!  Maybe unconciously I had been ignoring the piles of things around the house and the lists in my head that were crying out ,’Sort me! Sort me!’?  Suddenly and quite unexpectedly sorting was the order of the week.  I began at 6.30am on Sunday with the mini mountains of fabric offcuts, overflowing baskets and piles of trimmed wadding heaped around my sewing machine. As I worked my way through, two new fabric storage categories emerged: ‘Bright scrappy bits’ and ‘muted scrappy bits’ destined one day to become Scrap Vortex Quilts.

This was just one of the piles 'to be sorted' on my sewing table!

This was just one of the piles ‘to be sorted’ on my sewing table!

The next bit of sorting involved settling down on the sofa with my tablet and sorting through my Pinterest boards.  I’m not a Pinterest junkie but I do find it a really useful online resource.  My first boards were initiated by my daughter in the run up to her wedding but since then the themes have inevitably turned to patchwork & quilting. I used a board to keep together ideas and information as I planned this blog and one of my latest is just a useful pinboard as we shop around for kitchen appliances!  It is so handy to be able to keep a picture and a link to any item of interest found as you are reading or browsing online – I’d definitely recommend having a Pinterest page! Camilla has some useful do’s and dont’s for Pinterest users.

Oh! Boy!  Then there was sorting my bedside table…  Books accumulated over a couple of years and mostly unread had become a burden and were part of the reason I’ve not been reading anything from beginning to end. Now some are sorted to be given away, others are in a box under the bed – ‘out of sight out of mind’!

Before the sorting...

Before the sorting…

 

After the sorting!

After the sorting!

Still to be sorted: My in-tray (I know, it’s a disgrace!)

SONY DSC

And the ‘categories’ list of this blog has got a bit out of hand and needs sorting…

But this week hasn’t all been about sorting: I have, of course, started some new P&Q projects!

My first 'connections' block made for the Think Big quilt along with Amy Ellis.

My first ‘connections’ block made for the ‘Think Big’ quilt along with Amy Ellis.

A half-square triangle table runner pattern - colours chosen by my Aunt.

A half-square triangle table runner pattern – colours chosen by my Aunt.

So the legacy of this recent deadline has been quite a bit of satisfying sorting and the realisation that I’ve come full circle – I need to set new (realistic) deadlines for the remaining areas of sorting and for the new projects or none will be finished!

Allison

About allisonreidnem

New Every Morning – About Me Hi! I’m Allison, an obsessive patchwork-quilter who has no desire to be cured! I’ve been developing my skills and knowledge by paying attention at my local quilting group and by putting my questions into the computer search engine. I’m so grateful to the generous people who have taken the time to share their knowledge with me in person, via YouTube videos or their blogs. I’m intending my blog to be a link into the worldwide patchwork and quilting community and a means to contribute helpful hints and inspiration as I continue to discover more about this addictive craft. So, why ‘New Every Morning Patchwork and Quilting’? Well! I am a morning person! I often wake in the wee small hours and think through design and quilt construction issues. My woolly–headed evening brain finds such issues far too difficult to resolve! If I’m disciplined enough to be asleep by 10pm, I can be up cutting, piecing, pressing and quilting before sunrise! By the time daily family routine kicks-in I’ve had a satisfying, soul-feeding creative fix. (I should mention that ‘family at home’ is: my patient, faithful husband of 27years; and our equally patient 16 year old son, who acts as our in-house IT support complete with sighs and rolling eyes! Older daughter and son have both recently flown the nest). Not only do I find early mornings my creative time I also find it a time for receiving spiritual nourishment. I often find myself humming a gentle chorus and reflecting on God’s constancy as another new day dawns. ‘The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercies never come to an end. They are new every morning, new every morning; Great is thy faithfulness, O Lord, Great is thy faithfulness.’ Edith McNeil’s chorus is based on verses from the Bible – Lamentations 3: 21-23.
This entry was posted in Projects, Quilt Alongs, Sorting and Storage, Tablerunners, Works In Progress and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Deadlines and their legacy – Part 2

  1. Cindy says:

    I try to keep things sorted as I go, however I am not always successful at it.

    Liked by 2 people

    • That is by far the best way! I think having my storage boxes on shelves or in units would help me – it’s a bit tiresome having to lift them off each other in stacks! But that is a bit of a feeble excuse!

      Like

  2. Helen says:

    I’m actually very impressed by your in tray , very restrained I thought
    I am guilty of the piles of unread books

    Like

  3. Colleen says:

    … and the cycle begins again 🙂 your new projects look very promising ! I have the Amy Ellis book out from the library but will have to return it without making any of the projects due to time constraints. Oh well, I can always request it again.

    Like

  4. I’m guilty of everything you mentioned. Well done for finding the courage to start the sorting process.

    Like

  5. I’m pretty good at taking care of most things, but there are some piles I put off and off and off! I do think having less stuff, in general, is a big bonus. I keep trying to get rid of things, but there are barriers to that, too.

    Like

    • Someone told me an effective sorting technique is to break it down into strict 15 minute stints. I’m not a deeply sentimental person but do find sorting decisions are difficult when a sentimental angle emerges! Is that where you run into difficulties?

      Like

      • I’m not very sentimental. One of the main “problems” now is we have plenty of room in our home and never have overstuffed it. But if I start getting rid of a lot of the decorative stuff, the house will start to look empty. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • We read a quote from William Morris while we were on holiday visiting Broadway Tower, “Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful.” Perhaps they are good questions to ask ourselves as we sort: Is it useful? Do I think it’s beautiful?

        Like

      • My dad did that. He got rid of all the extras before he moved, a couple years before he died. But when we went to his home while he was in the hospital, one thing I found was the teddy bear we’d given him. It was on his bed. Now we have it. The bear is one thing I could not get rid of, if it meant that much to him, one of the least sentimental people I’ve ever known.

        Like

      • Melanie, no wonder you treasure that bear. I don’t know if William Morris’ definitions of ‘useful’ and ‘beautiful’ extended to such special belongings but I think they should. Thank you for sharing.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

