Putting stitching aside…

Many fellow bloggers have been posting the last of their holiday photos and writing about the start of the new school term.  It’s been interesting reading about the fun families have had and I’m glad quilty bloggers with young (and not so young!) families seemed to have unanimously made the conscious decision to put designing, stitching and writing on the back burner in favour of time spent with families – rather than dealing with that horrible, guilt ridden conflict of dividing attention in too many directions.

We often remark on the busyness of modern living and forget it’s nothing new!  I read a thought-provoking article written in 1928 by a 60 year old Laura Ingalls Wilder for her local newspaper.  In it she writes of the tug of childhood memories and the influence through the years that her parents example had continued to provide.  Laura gently steers modern parents in increasingly busy times to avoid underestimating the value of spending time with their children knowing that children learn by example.

Across the years, the old home and its love called to me and memories of sweet words of counsel came flooding back.  I realized that all my life the teachings of those early days have influenced me and the example set by father and mother has been something I have tried to follow, with failures here and there, with rebellion at times, but always coming back to it as the compass needle to the star…  So much depends upon the homemakers.  I sometimes wonder if they are so busy now, with other things, that they are forgetting the importance of this special work… Because of their importance, we must not neglect our homes in the changes of the present day.  For when tests of character come in later years, strength to the good will not come from the modern improvements or amusements few may have enjoyed, but from the quiet moments and ‘still small voices’ of the old home… Nothing ever can take the place of this early home influence and, as it does not depend upon externals, it may be the possession of the poor as well as the rich, a heritage from all fathers and mothers to their children.

Oh! My!  I hope if my grown children read this they will have memory of enough good examples from their parents to forgive the lapses and inattention of which I at least have been guilty.

Allison

About allisonreidnem

New Every Morning – About Me Hi! I’m Allison, an obsessive patchwork-quilter who has no desire to be cured! I’ve been developing my skills and knowledge by paying attention at my local quilting group and by putting my questions into the computer search engine. I’m so grateful to the generous people who have taken the time to share their knowledge with me in person, via YouTube videos or their blogs. I’m intending my blog to be a link into the worldwide patchwork and quilting community and a means to contribute helpful hints and inspiration as I continue to discover more about this addictive craft. So, why ‘New Every Morning Patchwork and Quilting’? Well! I am a morning person! I often wake in the wee small hours and think through design and quilt construction issues. My woolly–headed evening brain finds such issues far too difficult to resolve! If I’m disciplined enough to be asleep by 10pm, I can be up cutting, piecing, pressing and quilting before sunrise! By the time daily family routine kicks-in I’ve had a satisfying, soul-feeding creative fix. (I should mention that ‘family at home’ is: my patient, faithful husband of 27years; and our equally patient 16 year old son, who acts as our in-house IT support complete with sighs and rolling eyes! Older daughter and son have both recently flown the nest). Not only do I find early mornings my creative time I also find it a time for receiving spiritual nourishment. I often find myself humming a gentle chorus and reflecting on God’s constancy as another new day dawns. ‘The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercies never come to an end. They are new every morning, new every morning; Great is thy faithfulness, O Lord, Great is thy faithfulness.’ Edith McNeil’s chorus is based on verses from the Bible – Lamentations 3: 21-23.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Putting stitching aside…

  1. Helen says:

    Gosh a lot of what Laura Ingalls Wilder still rings true . I loved all her books as a young girl

    Like

  2. Colleen says:

    Really nice post Allison. I think that allot of children growing up today don’t have a clue about what their parents work day involves. Children that grow up on a farm are part of the team and from a very early age !

    Like

Leave a Reply

