An Opportunity and a Blog Anniversary

Today is my blog anniversary! Being part of the quilty blog community for the past year has been a real privilege and I’ve learned so much from reading and following other bloggers and being part of the 2015 New Quilt Bloggers blog hop.  A big ‘THANK YOU’ to everyone who has read my posts, chosen to follow my blog and taken time to write comments 🙂

I have two black plastic shelf units that look very utilitarian. I had a look in our local ASDA and found this lovely bedding to cut up and make into shelf covers :-)

I have two black plastic shelf units that look very utilitarian. I had a look in our local ASDA and found this lovely bedding to cut up and make into shelf covers 🙂

My big news for this birthday post is the opening of ‘All Our Own Crafts’ pop-up shop in Festival Place, Basingstoke.  I’m so honoured, excited and not a little daunted to have an invitation from Kate and Tracy to be part of their fourth pop-up shop in the busy town centre.  I’ve spent the past month finishing projects, making product description labels and preparing display stands for my section in the retail unit.   There are 42 artists and crafters sharing a large corner unit within the covered mall.

SONY DSCAfter a busy weekend, All Our Own Crafts opened to customers on Tuesday.  I had my first turn at being one of the shop assistants on Wednesday afternoon.  It was lovely seeing people browsing around the shelves and displays; recording sales and wrapping items for happy customers.

I’ve found the selling of patchwork and quilted items to be a patchy experience!  I began by selling bunting to raise a bit of cash to invest in more fabrics.  Gradually cushion covers and bags were added to the wares I had for sale at craft fairs and school fairs.  As a parent I’ve attended school fairs and know I wouldn’t have spent more than £5 on any one item as I and my children made our way around the fundraising stalls and the craft tables. So I’m not surprised that only a few of my relatively expensive patchwork items have been sold at those events. I opened a shop on the on-line craft site Folksy and have had occasional rather than steady sales from there.  The town centre pop-up shop might be a venue more suited to the sale of relatively expensive handmade cushion covers and quilts.  It’ll be interesting to see how it goes.  The shop is open until January and, if nothing else, I certainly hope my stand will prove to be an attractive addition, in keeping with the high quality of handmade items on show.

My space in the shop.  Note the little chevron quilt mentioned in yesterdays blog post is on the wall but not covering all the spots of peeling paint!

My space in the shop. Note the little chevron quilt mentioned in yesterdays blog post is on the wall but not covering all the spots of peeling paint!

This has been a varied week for me.  On Monday I helped organise the monthly meeting of a craft group at our church.  This month we were ably led by two skilled flower arrangers who managed to get us creating Autumnal displays.  I have to admit that I didn’t do much ‘arranging’ – for me it was more sticking green bits and flowers into oasis and hoping!

Two of the lovely displays arranged by members of the craft group.

Two of the lovely displays arranged by members of the craft group.

Yesterday I had one of those occasional days out with my camera shy friend, Mary. We caught the train travelling West to Salisbury and enjoyed a gentle walk around the water meadows that surround the south side of the beautiful Cathedral.

A less than perfect photo but I hope you can appreciate the beauty and scale of this Medieval building?

A less than perfect photo but I hope you can appreciate the beauty and scale of this Medieval building?

The West front of the Cathedral with the spire behind.

The West front of the Cathedral with the spire behind.

A closer view of the Cathedral's spire.  At 404' it is the highest in England.

A closer view of the Cathedral’s spire. At 404 feet  high it is the tallest in England.

A little church we discovered on our walk.  St George's Church was established in 1115 - 900 years ago!

A little church we discovered on our walk. St George’s Church was established in 1115 – 900 years ago!

Ye olde worlde pub!

Ye olde worlde pub! Note Cathedral spire in the background.

Tomorrow I’m getting up early to catch a train to the London Women’s Convention, an annual Christian event.  The theme this year is ‘busyness’.  It’ll be good to get a Biblical perspective on this seemingly modern topic.

Thank you again for sharing in my bloggy world!

Allison

About allisonreidnem

New Every Morning – About Me Hi! I’m Allison, an obsessive patchwork-quilter who has no desire to be cured! I’ve been developing my skills and knowledge by paying attention at my local quilting group and by putting my questions into the computer search engine. I’m so grateful to the generous people who have taken the time to share their knowledge with me in person, via YouTube videos or their blogs. I’m intending my blog to be a link into the worldwide patchwork and quilting community and a means to contribute helpful hints and inspiration as I continue to discover more about this addictive craft. So, why ‘New Every Morning Patchwork and Quilting’? Well! I am a morning person! I often wake in the wee small hours and think through design and quilt construction issues. My woolly–headed evening brain finds such issues far too difficult to resolve! If I’m disciplined enough to be asleep by 10pm, I can be up cutting, piecing, pressing and quilting before sunrise! By the time daily family routine kicks-in I’ve had a satisfying, soul-feeding creative fix. (I should mention that ‘family at home’ is: my patient, faithful husband of 27years; and our equally patient 16 year old son, who acts as our in-house IT support complete with sighs and rolling eyes! Older daughter and son have both recently flown the nest). Not only do I find early mornings my creative time I also find it a time for receiving spiritual nourishment. I often find myself humming a gentle chorus and reflecting on God’s constancy as another new day dawns. ‘The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercies never come to an end. They are new every morning, new every morning; Great is thy faithfulness, O Lord, Great is thy faithfulness.’ Edith McNeil’s chorus is based on verses from the Bible – Lamentations 3: 21-23.
This entry was posted in Blogging, History, Selling craft and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to An Opportunity and a Blog Anniversary

  1. Helen says:

    Hi Alison . I hope your corner of the pop shop goes well for you, it’s the right time of year anyway . Your trip to Salisbury cathedral looks great , and by the way , happy blogversary !

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nancy says:

    Congratulations on you first anniversary, Allison. I’ve only recently discovered your blog so haven’t really looked at your older posts, but by the ones I’ve read, you’re doing great! Your area at the shop looks great. I like how you used the sheet to cover the shelves. I hope you have great success.

    I try to imagine being in the presence of buildings as old as the ones in your photographs. I imagine it as a breath-taking experience when I think of the hundreds of thousands of people who, through the years, have walked, knelt, and prayed in the churches. Both cathedral and church are beautiful

    Like

    • Thank you Nancy! I love to do the same when I’m in or around old buildings. It’s important to find continuity with the past in these fast changing times and knowing people have prayed to the same God in a place for many hundreds of years is a great comfort and just a little window into eternity. I’m going to London today and will be walking past Westminster Abbey.

      Like

  3. Sandra says:

    Happy Blogiversary, Alison! The pop-up shop looks great, and I hope it will be a success for you and all the artists. A few years ago I was in Salisbury, good memories. You live in a beautiful area!

    Like

  4. katyquilts says:

    I hope you r pop up shop does well! How fun! I love your pictures of Salisbury. They make me want to visit! Congrats on your Blogiversary!

    Like

  5. Congratulations on your year anniversary of blogging! The pop up shop looks lovely, as does your corner of the shop. Selling handmade items does seem to ebb and flow, and it is nice you have found a few outlets like the pop up shop and Folksy.

    Like

  6. Denise says:

    So happy to see you reach your first blogiversary! Let’s hope you have many more 😉

    You sure have been busy setting up for the holiday sales – best of luck 🙂

    Like

  7. Congratulations on your blogiversary! And good luck with your holiday shop. I hope you do well and have some fun.

    Like

  8. Colleen says:

    Happy Blogoversary Allison ! My first friend when I moved to this agricultural community was born in Salisbury… in 1899 – I can remember the year of her birth because she always used to say she was a year older than the year. She also told me about the Cathedral, nice to see your pictures and remember my friend.
    I wish you well in your new venture – it looks really nice and you are all set up in time for holiday shopping.

    Like

  9. Libby says:

    Hi Allison. I spotted your quilts in the craft shop this week and recognised them immediately. They look great and lovely to see them in the flesh! I have enjoyed reading your blog and look forward to lots more from you in future. Love Libby xx

    Like

  10. It was great to see the quilt in the shop! Mum was excited when I said all the quilting was yours. She took your leaflet home to show everyone!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

