An encouragement for makers of charity quilts

Just a little blog post with a link to a great story from the BBC magazine website.  I hope this lovely story of wartime charity will be an encouragement to all you generous quilters who make and donate quilts for good causes.

Joseph Briddock, 79, lived through the wartime bombing of London.  He and his family lost three homes and most of their possessions in that time.  Soon after the war they were the recipients of a box from Care, a charity set up in the USA in 1945.  In their box they found a quilt as well as the much needed packets and tins of food.

Joseph Briddock with his quilt

Here are some of Joseph’s recollections recorded by Camila Ruz in her article:

“It was a real quality thing to get,” he explains. “It was so warm and luxurious…”

It was his mother who saved the quilt. She kept it with her for 30 years until her death in 1978. Her son found it at her house afterwards and took it home.

“I’ve got massive feelings of connection with that time so it’s something I would never have let go,” he explains.

“We thought about those ladies painstakingly making it and we loved it and revered it and we’ve treasured it.”

It may only have been a small gift, he says. But it had a massive effect.

What a moving story!  A reminder that civilians along with servicemen and women pay the price of war long beyond the ceasefire; and that anonymous acts of kindness can have the most profound effect on those who receive a gift that provides both practical and emotional support.

Care are still providing packages for people in need.  I know that during WWII many people in the UK received quilts via the Canadian Red Cross and no doubt there were other organisations and individuals who gave their time and resources to make and distribute quilts that would have provided far more than physical warmth to those who received beautiful gifts in such harsh times.

Linking with Nancy for Quilty Inspirations, and Kathy at Slow Sunday Stitching.

Allison

 

About allisonreidnem

New Every Morning – About Me Hi! I’m Allison, an obsessive patchwork-quilter who has no desire to be cured! I’ve been developing my skills and knowledge by paying attention at my local quilting group and by putting my questions into the computer search engine. I’m so grateful to the generous people who have taken the time to share their knowledge with me in person, via YouTube videos or their blogs. I’m intending my blog to be a link into the worldwide patchwork and quilting community and a means to contribute helpful hints and inspiration as I continue to discover more about this addictive craft. So, why ‘New Every Morning Patchwork and Quilting’? Well! I am a morning person! I often wake in the wee small hours and think through design and quilt construction issues. My woolly–headed evening brain finds such issues far too difficult to resolve! If I’m disciplined enough to be asleep by 10pm, I can be up cutting, piecing, pressing and quilting before sunrise! By the time daily family routine kicks-in I’ve had a satisfying, soul-feeding creative fix. (I should mention that ‘family at home’ is: my patient, faithful husband of 27years; and our equally patient 16 year old son, who acts as our in-house IT support complete with sighs and rolling eyes! Older daughter and son have both recently flown the nest). Not only do I find early mornings my creative time I also find it a time for receiving spiritual nourishment. I often find myself humming a gentle chorus and reflecting on God’s constancy as another new day dawns. ‘The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercies never come to an end. They are new every morning, new every morning; Great is thy faithfulness, O Lord, Great is thy faithfulness.’ Edith McNeil’s chorus is based on verses from the Bible – Lamentations 3: 21-23.
This entry was posted in History, Inspiration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to An encouragement for makers of charity quilts

  1. I know exactly how it feels to make charity quilts. And I have seen first hand how a simple quilt can bring comfort. Reading what Joseph Briddock had to say about receiving a quilt during hard times doubly confirms that charity quilts are worthwhile making. Thanks for sharing this account Allison.

    Like

  2. Ann Marie says:

    If that doesn’t inspire someone to make a charity quilt, nothing will. Thanks for sharing this lovely story.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sarah says:

    A very humbling story. Thanks for sharing

    Liked by 1 person

  4. What a wonderful treasure to have kept all these years!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Gail says:

    We are really paying it forward when we make charity quilts

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Nancy says:

    Thanks for sharing this news article, Allison. It’s such an inspiring story about how charity can bless another’s life. It’s been a while since I’ve made a batch of quilts to give away. I need to get at it again. Thanks, too, for linking to Quilty Inspiration. I appreciate it.

    Like

  7. audrey says:

    Thanks for sharing this great story.:) Very inspirational!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Helen Coulter says:

    Lovely story And good to remember these things

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Linda Dutch says:

    A lovely story, very inspirational!

    Like

  10. katyquilts says:

    Such a great story! Thanks so much for sharing this! You just never know where your quilts may end up or how they might bless someone!

    Like

  11. Colleen says:

    thanks for sharing this inspiring story !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

