What’s a patchwork quilt for?

I’m on a bit of a mission!  I think here in the UK the majority of people who don’t make quilts believe that there is only one use for a quilt – a bed cover.  When potential customers have spoken to me about my quilts they are puzzled that many will not cover the full length of a bed. Humm!  This has got me planning a little poster campaign inviting the craft-shop-browsing public to think beyond patchwork quilts as bed covers.

Here are some of of the messages I’ve dreamed up so far:

A quilt is not just for bedtime!

Around this statement I thought I could add some uses for quilts such as; sofa throw,  tv or reading snuggle blanket, storytime shared blanket, comfort blanket, car blanket, picnic rug, playmat, play tent, a boat or a treasure island…  Perhaps I could include some pictures of quilts being used away from a bed – I keep thinking of the numerous patchwork quilts that appear on Monica’s sofas in Friends! Please go ahead and add any other uses for a quilt to the comments below.  Thank you!

What’s in a quilt sandwich?

In answer to this question maybe I could make a board with sample pieces of patchwork, wadding and backing explaining how the quilt stitches hold all the layers together?

Hug a quilt and it will hug you back!

Around this slogan I could add lots of words to describe the benefits of a quilt: comfy; warm; soft; cozy; happy memories; security; familiar; given with love…  If you can add more words and phrases to this list please leave them in a comment, I’d be very grateful!

SONY DSCAll these thoughts have been whizzing round inside my head today as I’ve been quilting the star table runner.  Very glad to be able to announce a finish, just in time to add it to my display in the pop up craft shop when I’m on duty tomorrow afternoon 🙂

Fabrics are from the Barbara Brackman 'Richmond Reds' Moda charm pack.

Fabrics are from the Barbara Brackman ‘Richmond Reds’ Moda charm pack.

I’m linking with Lorna, Let’s Be Social and inviting you to visit and link with Quilty Inspirations 🙂

Allison

About allisonreidnem

New Every Morning – About Me Hi! I’m Allison, an obsessive patchwork-quilter who has no desire to be cured! I’ve been developing my skills and knowledge by paying attention at my local quilting group and by putting my questions into the computer search engine. I’m so grateful to the generous people who have taken the time to share their knowledge with me in person, via YouTube videos or their blogs. I’m intending my blog to be a link into the worldwide patchwork and quilting community and a means to contribute helpful hints and inspiration as I continue to discover more about this addictive craft. So, why ‘New Every Morning Patchwork and Quilting’? Well! I am a morning person! I often wake in the wee small hours and think through design and quilt construction issues. My woolly–headed evening brain finds such issues far too difficult to resolve! If I’m disciplined enough to be asleep by 10pm, I can be up cutting, piecing, pressing and quilting before sunrise! By the time daily family routine kicks-in I’ve had a satisfying, soul-feeding creative fix. (I should mention that ‘family at home’ is: my patient, faithful husband of 27years; and our equally patient 16 year old son, who acts as our in-house IT support complete with sighs and rolling eyes! Older daughter and son have both recently flown the nest). Not only do I find early mornings my creative time I also find it a time for receiving spiritual nourishment. I often find myself humming a gentle chorus and reflecting on God’s constancy as another new day dawns. ‘The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercies never come to an end. They are new every morning, new every morning; Great is thy faithfulness, O Lord, Great is thy faithfulness.’ Edith McNeil’s chorus is based on verses from the Bible – Lamentations 3: 21-23.
This entry was posted in Finish 2015, Tablerunners and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to What’s a patchwork quilt for?

  1. I love these thoughts and ideas. Quilts have so many uses and functions and are fantastic to incorporate into play and daily life. I remember building many a quilt fort using dining room chairs, quilts, and clothespins in my youth. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Helen says:

    Gosh so many uses . A treasure island , a boat as you say . A big hug . A tent
    A tablecloth for picnic . Hide the mess in the corner drape …..

    Like

  3. Decor for the changing seasons–drape a Christmas quilt over the sofa and it’s time to get out the other decorations. Also fantastic as a play mat for a baby.

    Like

  4. Colleen says:

    lol, you are quite creative in your marketing. I’m the worst sales person ever !

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sandra says:

    The uses for a quilt are endless! And you haven’t even started yet on those other uses, like table mat/runner, play mat, baby car seat blankie (they have to be really small), or (shock!) wall hanging or other decorative uses. Also, a bed quilt does not have to be covering the whole bed (and down to the ground)! I don’t like that “heavy” look very much (small rooms), and prefer to use even a bed quilt as hardly more than a bed topper, coordinating with the bedding…

    Like

  6. Nancy says:

    Thanks for linking to Quilty Inspiration, Allison.

    Quilts can also be used as table cloths (though I’m not sure I’d recommend it for actually eating at a table unless one is willing to take a chance on spills). I also thought that sometimes quilts can be games — roadways for little cars for boys, or maybe even a twister-style game if the quilt is made with large colored circles.

    You have some great ideas to help your potential customers see other uses for quilts. I hope it all goes well and that your sales improve.

    Like

Leave a Reply

