HAPPY NEW YEAR!

It’s 2016! Christmas is over – how did that happen?  And how come all the preparation and the big day itself are already fading memories?  It really does seem a lot longer than just seven days since 25th December!  Despite the time whizzing by there have been happy, peaceful, ‘enjoying the now’, family times for us and for those moments I’m very thankful.

Here in the UK we have endured the wettest, warmest December in 100 years of weather records.  Warm and wet means there really hasn’t been much sunshine at all; the short days have seemed very short indeed as grey clouds quickened the onset of night time.  So it was a bit of a relief to wake on the first day of 2016 and see a sunrise and even a touch of frost on the ground.

New Years Day sunrise

The Circle of Quilters by Jennifer Chiaverini

The Circle of Quilters by Jennifer Chiaverini

I’ve had a two week break from my sewing machine as the ‘sewing room’ successfully transformed into it’s main purpose – the guest room.  As part of the holiday wind down I’ve read a novel cover to cover and completed a 1000 piece jigsaw puzzle.  Two things I wouldn’t normally do through the rest of the year.

 

 

 

 

 

In my previous post I gave a little review of my patchwork and quilting year and here I thought I’d take Cheryl’s invitation to join the Best of 2015 Linky Party sharing five of my favourite posts from 2015:

I’m including the Snap-shut, clicky, purse tutorial as it still amazes me that it gets looked at every week!; An encouragement for makers of charity quilts because I love the story of the family who cherished a quilt distributed to them after the WW2 bombing of London; Reflecting on being a work in progress as I am very grateful to the God who forgives and has the power to change even me; Quilting and the monster in me as a further reminder of how far I am from perfection and a good example of the kindness and helpful nature of those willing to pass on their wisdom to the online quilty community; and A walk through history as proof that I didn’t spend the whole year sat at my sewing machine or the computer!

Allison

 

About allisonreidnem

New Every Morning – About Me Hi! I’m Allison, an obsessive patchwork-quilter who has no desire to be cured! I’ve been developing my skills and knowledge by paying attention at my local quilting group and by putting my questions into the computer search engine. I’m so grateful to the generous people who have taken the time to share their knowledge with me in person, via YouTube videos or their blogs. I’m intending my blog to be a link into the worldwide patchwork and quilting community and a means to contribute helpful hints and inspiration as I continue to discover more about this addictive craft. So, why ‘New Every Morning Patchwork and Quilting’? Well! I am a morning person! I often wake in the wee small hours and think through design and quilt construction issues. My woolly–headed evening brain finds such issues far too difficult to resolve! If I’m disciplined enough to be asleep by 10pm, I can be up cutting, piecing, pressing and quilting before sunrise! By the time daily family routine kicks-in I’ve had a satisfying, soul-feeding creative fix. (I should mention that ‘family at home’ is: my patient, faithful husband of 27years; and our equally patient 16 year old son, who acts as our in-house IT support complete with sighs and rolling eyes! Older daughter and son have both recently flown the nest). Not only do I find early mornings my creative time I also find it a time for receiving spiritual nourishment. I often find myself humming a gentle chorus and reflecting on God’s constancy as another new day dawns. ‘The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercies never come to an end. They are new every morning, new every morning; Great is thy faithfulness, O Lord, Great is thy faithfulness.’ Edith McNeil’s chorus is based on verses from the Bible – Lamentations 3: 21-23.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Books, Christmas, Projects 2015 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to HAPPY NEW YEAR!

  1. Great bests post! Thanks for linking up!

    Like

  2. Colleen says:

    Happy New Year Allison !

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sarah Goer says:

    I read Elm Creek Quilts ages ago, but I don’t think I’ve read any of the others in the series. I just looked it up, the first one was written in 2002. It was probably not long after that when I read it. I love doing puzzles. A group of friends and I get together for puzzle nights every month or so. We can knock out a 500 piece puzzle in an evening, but the one 1000 piece puzzle was too much for us (a little too far on the difficult spectrum for one evening). I received a couple new puzzles as holiday gifts that I’m looking forward to doing. As soon as I can tear myself away from the sewing machine. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sandra says:

    Checked out your Clicky purse tutorial. Nice! Sounds like you had a good year; here’s to 2016!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

