A Plodder’s progress

I think I may have a touch of ‘bloggers block’ or maybe the struggle to sit myself down at the computer has more to do with living with the combined traits of procrastinator and plodder?  Procrastinator I am, whenever a task becomes urgent I head off in the opposite direction to do something else!  By nature I am a plodder, it takes me time to get anywhere, both in thinking things through and in completing practical tasks.  What seems a life time ago I was a nurse (I believe I would have been a better, more effective nurse if I’d taken up that career a little later in life) and at the tender age of eighteen I did begin to understand myself. I discovered I was best suited to working on wards which had a lower ‘through put’ of patients, where there was time to work out the best course of action and where outcomes for individuals gradually emerged.  I hated the pace of work in such places as A&E, theatres, short stay surgical wards; left behind in thought and action, watching in awe as my fellow student nurses thought so quickly on their feet and read fast changing situations so clearly!

Ah! Well!  That was a very long time ago but of course I am still the same person, plodding (happily) through life.  So, what have plodding and procrastinating got to do with patchwork & quilting and this blog?  Basically I’ve been concentrating hard on a couple of projects (at that plodding pace), working slowly through the process of setting up an Etsy shop (more on selling craft in a later post) and being worthily distracted by all sorts!

IMG_20160203_114600

‘Linked’ by Stephanie Prescott in ‘Quick Change’

My latest project is a first attempt at making a bed runner.  The inspiration for the colour scheme came from a project in the book ‘Quick Change’, compiled by Karen M. Burns.

 

 

 

 

 

 

I managed to find enough gold and light blue fat quarters and pieces of fabric in my stash to make the top.  The border, backing and binding are ‘lucky finds’ at the local Hobbycraft store that is within walking distance of home.  They have such a small range of cotton fabrics compared to a dedicated quilt store but what-do-you-know the matches I needed were right there on the shelf 🙂  Perhaps that is an instance where lack of choice is an advantage?

IMG_20160129_114741

Gold and blue fabrics made up into one of twelve 12″ Contrary wife blocks.

To make the half square triangles I used the method taught by Alyce in the second of her series, Modern Half Square Triangle Sampler. Making four HSTs at once saved quite a bit of time (an important factor for a plodder!) and I didn’t find the exposed bias edges troublesome.

IMG_20160203_110746

A section of my bed runner. With 2.5″ borders it measures approx. 77″ by 29″.

Next steps for this project are to sew in the thread ends, add the binding and make a simple label.

As a side note I would like to say how blessed I am to have a sewing room (or was that guest room?).  Although I have found there is a downside to having a dedicated craft space; it’s easy to become immersed in the craft and completely detached from other activities!  This morning I walked out of the sewing room at 10.30 after 2 hours of quilting to discover that the dishwasher needs loading, the bed is unmade, there’s a shopping list to write and errands to run… But I fought the procrastinator in me and made my way to the computer to write this post – bloggers block is banished!  Shame the errands remain…

I’m linking with Lee for what maybe her last Work In Progress Wednesday.

Allison

About allisonreidnem

New Every Morning – About Me Hi! I’m Allison, an obsessive patchwork-quilter who has no desire to be cured! I’ve been developing my skills and knowledge by paying attention at my local quilting group and by putting my questions into the computer search engine. I’m so grateful to the generous people who have taken the time to share their knowledge with me in person, via YouTube videos or their blogs. I’m intending my blog to be a link into the worldwide patchwork and quilting community and a means to contribute helpful hints and inspiration as I continue to discover more about this addictive craft. So, why ‘New Every Morning Patchwork and Quilting’? Well! I am a morning person! I often wake in the wee small hours and think through design and quilt construction issues. My woolly–headed evening brain finds such issues far too difficult to resolve! If I’m disciplined enough to be asleep by 10pm, I can be up cutting, piecing, pressing and quilting before sunrise! By the time daily family routine kicks-in I’ve had a satisfying, soul-feeding creative fix. (I should mention that ‘family at home’ is: my patient, faithful husband of 27years; and our equally patient 16 year old son, who acts as our in-house IT support complete with sighs and rolling eyes! Older daughter and son have both recently flown the nest). Not only do I find early mornings my creative time I also find it a time for receiving spiritual nourishment. I often find myself humming a gentle chorus and reflecting on God’s constancy as another new day dawns. ‘The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercies never come to an end. They are new every morning, new every morning; Great is thy faithfulness, O Lord, Great is thy faithfulness.’ Edith McNeil’s chorus is based on verses from the Bible – Lamentations 3: 21-23.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Learn, Modern HST Sampler QAL, P&Q Books, Quilt Alongs, Quilt Blocks, Works In Progress. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Plodder’s progress

  1. It looks like your colors were pulled directly from the inspiration image – I had to scroll back and forth to realize it wasn’t the same runner. 🙂 I hope the rest of your day and errands finish up smoothly!

    Like

  2. Colleen says:

    It doesn’t surprise me to read that you have trained as a nurse ! You show a lot of thoughtfulness and empathy in your posts and comments.
    I am probably a “plodder” too 🙂 but I like to think that what I get done in a day may lack in quantity but makes up for in quality ( snort !)
    what did you mean by “sew in thread ends” ?

    Like

    • Thanks Colleen, it’s good to know a bit of personality comes through in my posts – of course it’s too easy to hide the less attractive bits in this medium! ‘Sewing in thread ends’: the perfectionist in me likes to hide all the loose threads at the start and finish of a row of quilting by threading them into the quilt layers. Very time consuming! I tried adopting the method of starting and finishing quilting rows with some mini stitches but still couldn’t bring myself just to snip the threads without burying them first! I think plodding does allow time for quality work and I guess the artist in you, Colleen, would rather gain satisfaction from the process of making rather than from the quantity produced?

      Like

  3. Helen says:

    The world needs the plodders just as much as it needs the silver back alpha males (and females) and it is important to remember that . As regards the housework , that’s not procrastination but prioritising things !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

