Three projects and a new template

A soggy postman was kind enough to deliver a package today all the way from Anaheim, California (the package, not the postman!). I don’t often make purchases from overseas, but having watched Jacquie Gering in her Craftsy class, Next Steps With Your Walking Foot, use the ‘Perfect Spiral’ template I decided it could be the perfect tool to shift one of my UFO quilt tops back into the WIP category.  A search of the internet for a UK stockist bore no results so Soft Expressions in sunny California got my custom.  Amazingly the plastic template has arrived flat, in perfect condition 🙂

IMG_0221

Perfect Spiral template by Emily G. Senuta

IMG_0230

The Perfect Spiral template on the patchwork spirals. I’m imagining creating spiraling lines from the centres to the edges of the blocks

But before I put the quilt sandwich together and try out the spiral template I would like to carry on with the project I’ve just started.  Two packs of six fat quarters have been calling to me across my sewing room, washed, pressed and ready to be used. Last night I decided to cut them down into 5″ squares and make a disappearing nine patch quilt top (see Missouri Star Quilt Company’s video for a quick tutorial).  This morning I rotary cut the squares between doing some work around the house.

IMG_0234

I’m wondering how the nine patch pattern will look using only six fabrics?  I guess it will be impossible to avoid squares of the same fabric rubbing up against each other once the nine patch blocks are quartered? There’s only one way to find out…

I hope you are sitting comfortably?  I have a bit of a surprise for you!  Wonder of wonders I have actually finished a project!  Fanfares, fireworks, cartwheels, champagne corks, all for a bed runner and matching cushions.  I’m pleased with the finished results, so from my point of view it was worth the plod!

IMG_0206

‘Misty Morning’ bed runner and cushions.

I’ve posted them on my newly opened Etsy shop, AllisonsPatchworks.  More of this in another post.

I hope you are making steady progress with your project(s) and continuing to be inspired by new fabrics, gadgets and an occasional finish or two 🙂

Allison

About allisonreidnem

New Every Morning – About Me Hi! I’m Allison, an obsessive patchwork-quilter who has no desire to be cured! I’ve been developing my skills and knowledge by paying attention at my local quilting group and by putting my questions into the computer search engine. I’m so grateful to the generous people who have taken the time to share their knowledge with me in person, via YouTube videos or their blogs. I’m intending my blog to be a link into the worldwide patchwork and quilting community and a means to contribute helpful hints and inspiration as I continue to discover more about this addictive craft. So, why ‘New Every Morning Patchwork and Quilting’? Well! I am a morning person! I often wake in the wee small hours and think through design and quilt construction issues. My woolly–headed evening brain finds such issues far too difficult to resolve! If I’m disciplined enough to be asleep by 10pm, I can be up cutting, piecing, pressing and quilting before sunrise! By the time daily family routine kicks-in I’ve had a satisfying, soul-feeding creative fix. (I should mention that ‘family at home’ is: my patient, faithful husband of 27years; and our equally patient 16 year old son, who acts as our in-house IT support complete with sighs and rolling eyes! Older daughter and son have both recently flown the nest). Not only do I find early mornings my creative time I also find it a time for receiving spiritual nourishment. I often find myself humming a gentle chorus and reflecting on God’s constancy as another new day dawns. ‘The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercies never come to an end. They are new every morning, new every morning; Great is thy faithfulness, O Lord, Great is thy faithfulness.’ Edith McNeil’s chorus is based on verses from the Bible – Lamentations 3: 21-23.
This entry was posted in Fabrics, Inspiration, Marking Quilting Patterns, On-Line Classes, Projects, Selling craft and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Three projects and a new template

  1. Good work all around! Love the blocks in the upper photo.

    Like

  2. katyquilts says:

    Love the soft colors of your pillows and bed runner! Just lovely!

    Like

  3. Me too, really like those colours

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Colleen says:

    wow, you’ve been making great progress – not so much of a plodder now ! The UFO turned WIP block reminds me of a friendship star, does it have a name ? The finished set looks really nice, I hope it flies off your Etsy shelf !

    Like

    • Thank you! I made the spinning block quilt at a workshop and the lovely lady leading it wasn’t sure of the name, just giving the workshop the title ‘Star Spin’. It’s one of those patterns where initial blocks are made and then chopped, turned and sewn again.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Nancy says:

    Your Misty Morning quilt and pillow covers are beautiful, Allison. I love the gentleness of the fabrics and colors. Well done!

    Like

Leave a Reply

