Two Finishes!

TWO FINISHES! I know!  This doesn’t happen often, I have not one but two finishes to share! The first is a revived UFO, retrieved in January from it’s dark abode and brought back into the light.  As far as I can remember I pieced this jelly roll quilt top in 2012.

IMG_0407

The jelly roll and most of the border fabrics are from Moda’s ‘Padstow Range’. IMG_0424.JPGThe prints have a vintage, 1950’s look, reminding me of my Grandmother’s bedroom and also of a Laura Ashley dress I loved to wear back in the early 1980’s.

There have been issues with this quilt.  It was abandoned at the quilting stage – no surprise there! Not because of my usual fear of ‘spoiling’ a quilt with my less-than-perfect machine quilting but because my plan to hand quilt was dashed by the discovery that I’d used wadding that was just about impossible to hand quilt! I can’t remember the brand but I think it’s 100% cotton wadding with scrim. Unfortunately the scrim creates a strong resistance to the movement of a between needle – I felt like I needed to use pliers to pull the needle through the layers, so frustrating.  I persevered and quilted the centre four blocks and a couple of others before I accepted defeat and moved on to projects new.

IMG_0402.JPG

One of the hand quilted centre blocks

So, lesson one: pay attention to the labels and descriptions on wadding – make sure it is suitable for the type of quilting you are planning to do.  Lesson two: don’t take a chance leaving a quilt basted with safety pins for a long period of time.  This time I was very lucky, even after three years none of the pins in this quilt sandwich rusted or left holes in the fabric. (I did have to go out and buy more pins to baste the quilts made in the those intervening three years though!)

It has been gratifying to finish this quilt.  I can clearly see that experience has improved my design, piecing and basting skills during the years the quilt languished in the UFO cupboard. Still there is so much more to learn and practice, not least in the discipline of quilting. I left the hand quilting stitches in the centre blocks, unpicked the stitching in the two surrounding blocks and prepared to put into practice some of the walking foot skills taught on Craftsy by Jacquie Gering.

IMG_0418I made a couple of templates and used chaco markers to create quilting lines to follow. IMG_20160116_131250Gentle curves made moving the quilt under the needle fairly easy.  Quilting lines in the borders echo the seam lines of the setting triangles. I marked straight lines to help me change direction at the right point. Lesson 3: wherever possible use white chalk, it brushes away and doesn’t sink into the fabric unlike the silver chalk that left marks which only came out when the quilt was machine washed.

And briefly, my second finish, a complete contrast to ‘Fifties Roses’.  I designed this table runner, ‘Sunset Strip’, with half square triangles in mind.  The printed fabrics are the remainder of the 5″ squares cut from the two fat quarter bundles used for the ‘Sunset Ripples’ throw. I used a variegated thread to quilt parallel lines emphasizing the patchwork pattern and I’m happy with the result 🙂

IMG_0386

IMG_0398

Linking with Amanda Jean for Finish It Up Friday

Allison

About allisonreidnem

New Every Morning – About Me Hi! I’m Allison, an obsessive patchwork-quilter who has no desire to be cured! I’ve been developing my skills and knowledge by paying attention at my local quilting group and by putting my questions into the computer search engine. I’m so grateful to the generous people who have taken the time to share their knowledge with me in person, via YouTube videos or their blogs. I’m intending my blog to be a link into the worldwide patchwork and quilting community and a means to contribute helpful hints and inspiration as I continue to discover more about this addictive craft. So, why ‘New Every Morning Patchwork and Quilting’? Well! I am a morning person! I often wake in the wee small hours and think through design and quilt construction issues. My woolly–headed evening brain finds such issues far too difficult to resolve! If I’m disciplined enough to be asleep by 10pm, I can be up cutting, piecing, pressing and quilting before sunrise! By the time daily family routine kicks-in I’ve had a satisfying, soul-feeding creative fix. (I should mention that ‘family at home’ is: my patient, faithful husband of 27years; and our equally patient 16 year old son, who acts as our in-house IT support complete with sighs and rolling eyes! Older daughter and son have both recently flown the nest). Not only do I find early mornings my creative time I also find it a time for receiving spiritual nourishment. I often find myself humming a gentle chorus and reflecting on God’s constancy as another new day dawns. ‘The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercies never come to an end. They are new every morning, new every morning; Great is thy faithfulness, O Lord, Great is thy faithfulness.’ Edith McNeil’s chorus is based on verses from the Bible – Lamentations 3: 21-23.
This entry was posted in Fabrics, On-Line Classes, Projects, Quilting Techniques, Tablerunners and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Two Finishes!

  1. Colleen says:

    lol, wasn’t long ago you were a self proclaimed plodder and now look at you, 2 finishes in one
    week ! Both finishes are beautiful Allison. I really congratulate you on sticking with the first one, some quilts teach us more than others. The second one really catches my attention. I very much like your design.

    Like

  2. Very pretty quilt. I love the design and, I agree, the fabrics are rather grandmotherly, but that’s meant in a nice way, seeing how I’m a grandmother, myself! Your second finish is also nice. Those modern fabrics are going to brighten a room!

    Like

  3. Nancy says:

    Your blue quilt is beautiful, Allison. I love the fabric and colors. Your hand quilting looks lovely — perfect. It’s too bad the batting was so uncooperative. I’ve never used batting with scrim, and I will be certain not to buy any!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

