International Quilting Day 2016 and blog post 100

Yep! The years are racing by! In some ways that is sad in others it is lovely when fun anniversaries come round again.  For quilters there is a Saturday every March that is celebrated as National Quilting Day in the USA and which has been quickly adopted and renamed International Quilting Day by groups across the globe.  Last year I found out a little about the history of the IQD and this year I double checked the link and found that in the US the National Quilting Association ‘dissolved’ in December 2015 and responsibility for National Quilting Day has been taken up by the Quilt Alliance. I’ve no idea about the ‘politics’ behind these changes but think that the good will of quilters around the world should ensure that IQD will go from strength to strength.

So, homing in on my little corner of the quilting world I am very happy to be able to report that lots of quilting groups in this part of the UK met to spend a day being sociable, making items and raising funds for their chosen charities.  The group I spent IQD with raised money for a local respite house providing a holiday destination for children suffering life limiting illness and their families.  We made drawstring bags for the charity Beads for Courage and support cushions and drain bags for women recovery from breast surgery. In the afternoon some quilters carried on making charity items, others of us turned to our own projects and enjoyed a show and tell too.

IMG_0535

Beads of Courage bags to the left, drain bags to the right.

IMG_0541

Some of the heart shaped support cushions

Our day was as well organised as ever with; tea, coffee and biscuits on tap; a very tasty ploughman’s lunch prepared for the hungry workers; a couple of raffles providing generous, quilt related prizes; and a local quilt store, Purple Stitches, providing retail therapy.

IMG_0542

Busy sewing at Brown Candover on IQD.

I’m looking forward to reading blog posts recording how other quilters marked IQD.

As a postscript, I include a photo of the pot holders I made on Saturday afternoon.  These are made from HST units left over from recent projects.  I only used one layer of cotton blend wadding in each so they’d be no good for handling dishes out of the oven but they’ve already proved their worth with hot teapot and saucepan handles and they are brightening up the kitchen too.  This little project was part of my promise to have ‘home’ and ‘family’ as my key words for 2016 – ‘Way to go, Allison!’ is all I can say!

IMG_0547

And, (there’s more?) this is my blog post number One Hundred!  A great opportunity to thank you very much for reading my posts and leaving so many helpful and interesting comments. I really enjoy writing these posts, reading comments, getting to know other bloggers and discovering through blogging more about the world of patchwork & quilting and quite a lot else besides!

Just in case I don’t get to post again this week: I send you greetings for a very Happy Easter!

Allison

About allisonreidnem

New Every Morning – About Me Hi! I’m Allison, an obsessive patchwork-quilter who has no desire to be cured! I’ve been developing my skills and knowledge by paying attention at my local quilting group and by putting my questions into the computer search engine. I’m so grateful to the generous people who have taken the time to share their knowledge with me in person, via YouTube videos or their blogs. I’m intending my blog to be a link into the worldwide patchwork and quilting community and a means to contribute helpful hints and inspiration as I continue to discover more about this addictive craft. So, why ‘New Every Morning Patchwork and Quilting’? Well! I am a morning person! I often wake in the wee small hours and think through design and quilt construction issues. My woolly–headed evening brain finds such issues far too difficult to resolve! If I’m disciplined enough to be asleep by 10pm, I can be up cutting, piecing, pressing and quilting before sunrise! By the time daily family routine kicks-in I’ve had a satisfying, soul-feeding creative fix. (I should mention that ‘family at home’ is: my patient, faithful husband of 27years; and our equally patient 16 year old son, who acts as our in-house IT support complete with sighs and rolling eyes! Older daughter and son have both recently flown the nest). Not only do I find early mornings my creative time I also find it a time for receiving spiritual nourishment. I often find myself humming a gentle chorus and reflecting on God’s constancy as another new day dawns. ‘The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercies never come to an end. They are new every morning, new every morning; Great is thy faithfulness, O Lord, Great is thy faithfulness.’ Edith McNeil’s chorus is based on verses from the Bible – Lamentations 3: 21-23.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Family, Home, International Quilting Day and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to International Quilting Day 2016 and blog post 100

  1. Helen says:

    Home and family – two of the best words to have for the year

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Denise says:

    congratulations on reaching 100 posts! looking forward to the next 100 🙂
    I spent quilting day at a craft/vendor show talking up my work. we’ll see how my connections turn out….

    Like

  3. Colleen says:

    looks like you had a very nice and productive IQD ! Congratulations on your 100th post milestone. Your potholders made me smile – you know they’re my go-to project. Happy Easter to you and your family.

    Like

  4. A wonderful 100! You seem to be producing with a springlike vigour. Happy Easter, maybe see you in April x

    Like

Leave a Reply

