A picture paints…

I’ve recovered from ‘new project fever’, enjoying many diversions and healthy excursions in the process! So, the disappearing nine-patch using 5″ charm squares has progressed from a heap of fabrics to a small quilt top.

IMG_1014

The nine patch blocks (top left) are quartered and produce instant sashing and cornerstones 🙂

I used 36 of the 42 squares from the Moda ‘Alice’s Scrapbag’ charm pack , of these 35 are in the 5 x 7 block layout. The left overs may well be incorporated into a pieced backing but for now I’m waiting on some fabrics to arrive to use for that backing and maybe/maybe not for a border.

IMG_1116

Do you think I should add a border or is the top complete as it is?

As for the picture(s) in the title of this post: I’m hoping by majoring on the photos I’ll remember what’s been going in the two weeks since my last feverish post and produce an unusually succinct summary of all the loveliness that has been inspiring me over the past two weeks.

So here goes:

IMG_0997

M and I had another trip to Salisbury and enjoyed sitting in the May sunshine looking across the water meadows to the Cathedral.

 

IMG_1027

This must be the chilliest I’ve ever been on my birthday! The weirdness of British summertime…

 

IMG_1020

The overcast conditions didn’t spoil a birthday stroll or dim the beauty of the gardens at Scotney Castle

 

IMG_1056

The castle was originally a Medieval ‘fortified house’ but in later centuries was allowed to deteriorate into a picturesque ruin visible from the new house built higher up the valley.

IMG_1068

We chose just the right time of year to visit with all the rhododendrons in flower.

IMG_1097Back at home I stepped into a new venture and taught my first class in a quilt shop!  Viv at Purple Stitches made myself and the three ‘students’ very welcome.  We spent a peaceful and productive afternoon getting to grips with half square triangles. Next Saturday I’ll be helping the ladies incorporate their blocks into tote bags – more photos to follow…

I’ve made a couple of bags this week to (1) double-check my pattern (just as well, I’ve made a couple of amendments) and (2) increase the stock I can take to a craft fair in a couple of weeks time.

IMG_1111

IMG_1113

A close up of the cute camper van print

And finally, just because they are beautiful, here are photos of two very different flowers that have just captivated me as I’ve walked around our little garden:

IMG_1100

This is a bloom on rose Margaret ?? (forgotten her surname!) – I wish I could produce a ‘scratch & sniff’ image as she does smell gorgeous!

IMG_1109

Interior of a huge red poppy with the morning sun shining through the petals – ‘For since the creation of the world God’s invisible qualities – his eternal power and divine nature – have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made…’ (Romans 1 v20)

As it’s Tuesday I will add a reminder about my Pinterest Board ‘Pins of the Week’.  I update this every Tuesday evening and you can catch last week’s collection on ‘Last Week’s Pins of the Week’. There are links to all sorts of inspiring quilty goodness and a few other things besides 🙂

Counting my blessings, especially being able to share in the wonder of God’s creation with family and friends 🙂

Linking with Connie at Free Motion by the River.

Allison

 

About allisonreidnem

New Every Morning – About Me Hi! I’m Allison, an obsessive patchwork-quilter who has no desire to be cured! I’ve been developing my skills and knowledge by paying attention at my local quilting group and by putting my questions into the computer search engine. I’m so grateful to the generous people who have taken the time to share their knowledge with me in person, via YouTube videos or their blogs. I’m intending my blog to be a link into the worldwide patchwork and quilting community and a means to contribute helpful hints and inspiration as I continue to discover more about this addictive craft. So, why ‘New Every Morning Patchwork and Quilting’? Well! I am a morning person! I often wake in the wee small hours and think through design and quilt construction issues. My woolly–headed evening brain finds such issues far too difficult to resolve! If I’m disciplined enough to be asleep by 10pm, I can be up cutting, piecing, pressing and quilting before sunrise! By the time daily family routine kicks-in I’ve had a satisfying, soul-feeding creative fix. (I should mention that ‘family at home’ is: my patient, faithful husband of 27years; and our equally patient 16 year old son, who acts as our in-house IT support complete with sighs and rolling eyes! Older daughter and son have both recently flown the nest). Not only do I find early mornings my creative time I also find it a time for receiving spiritual nourishment. I often find myself humming a gentle chorus and reflecting on God’s constancy as another new day dawns. ‘The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercies never come to an end. They are new every morning, new every morning; Great is thy faithfulness, O Lord, Great is thy faithfulness.’ Edith McNeil’s chorus is based on verses from the Bible – Lamentations 3: 21-23.
This entry was posted in Awe and Wonder, Birthdays, Colour, Family, Garden, History, Inspiration, Projects, Quilt Blocks, Works In Progress and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A picture paints…

  1. katyquilts says:

    Congrats on teaching your first class! I love your D9P. I think this is my favorite layout for that.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Leslie A says:

    I love the photos! 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nancy says:

    The photos of your flowers are beautiful, Allison. I love how the light shines through the poppy. Congrats on teaching a class. And I don’t think your quilt needs a border. Belated Happy Birthday wishes. Even with rain it looks like a lovely visit to Salisbury.

    Like

    • Thank you Nancy. My little ‘point and shoot’ camera is proving to be a really good purchase. Thank you too for answering my question about adding borders to the quilt top.

      Like

  4. Colleen says:

    Happy Belated Birthday, Allison. Beautiful pictures – the Scotney Castle pics could be postcards !
    Did you enjoy teaching the class ? Looks like you were well prepared. The quilt top looks good without the border but if you had some of the fabric you used for the small squares that would look nice too.

    Like

    • Thanks Colleen. I did enjoy teaching the class, it’s very satisfying sharing skills. I wish I could think more quickly on my feet though – one lady was having problems getting quarter inch seams and it wasn’t ’til the next day that a simple solution came to my mind! Thanks for your thoughts on the border/no border question, I’ve just bought some similar prints so I’ll lay them round the edge and leave it for a while to see if it grows on me or not.

      Like

Leave a Reply

