Half Square Triangle Projects

Some fairly recently purchased 5″ charm packs have refused to stay quietly hidden in my stash! I bought two of the sweet Moda 30’s Playtime charm packs along with two packs of plain coloured fabrics and just couldn’t leave them ’til later :-). I don’t like chopping up charm squares; it seems a shame to throw away off-cuts or have lots of the fabric hidden in seams. The 30’s reproduction prints asked for a simple patchwork design and I decided on my default block – half square triangles.

IMG_1232

For the backing and binding I chose three 30’s repro prints from a different Moda range. The fabrics arrived the same day I read a blog post at Meadow Mist Designs advocating bed sheets as quilt backing. Reading Cheryl’s measured investigation of the pros and cons of using bed sheets and the many comments added by fellow quilters I began to doubt whether I should use my fabrics on the back! But in the end I decided to stick to my plan for this quilt (I did nip up to ASDA and buy a king size cotton sheet to back another project!).

IMG_1131

The backing fabrics with two of the blocks – all the prints are so cute!

IMG_1277Although the quilt top has only five colours it does make me think of a rainbow and that inspired the simple quilting pattern. Starting with a small curve in one corner I just kept echoing the shape at 2″ intervals and I’m pleased with the effect 🙂

 

 

IMG_1269

IMG_1279I had a self-imposed deadline to work to with this quilt as I wanted to add it to my shelf space in the pop-up craft shop in town. The shop has been open for eight weeks and will close next Monday, hopefully to be re-established in an empty unit in the shopping centre sometime before Christmas.

 

 

And having finished a project I treated myself to making the twelfth block in the Modern HST Quilt Along.IMG_1285

This one is called ‘Rockpool’ and provided the opportunity to practice making HSTs using three different methods.

IMG_1280

Fabrics paired, sewn together and then rotary cut to produce two, four or eight HSTs.

IMG_1284

The HSTs opened out, pressed and trimmed

See Alyce’s excellent tutorial if you’d like to experiment with one or other of the methods for making multiple blocks.

I must admit to feeling the need for a little break from trimming HSTs…

Pleased to be linking a finish with Amanda Jean for Finish It Up Friday at Crazy Mom Quilts.

Allison

 

 

About allisonreidnem

New Every Morning – About Me Hi! I’m Allison, an obsessive patchwork-quilter who has no desire to be cured! I’ve been developing my skills and knowledge by paying attention at my local quilting group and by putting my questions into the computer search engine. I’m so grateful to the generous people who have taken the time to share their knowledge with me in person, via YouTube videos or their blogs. I’m intending my blog to be a link into the worldwide patchwork and quilting community and a means to contribute helpful hints and inspiration as I continue to discover more about this addictive craft. So, why ‘New Every Morning Patchwork and Quilting’? Well! I am a morning person! I often wake in the wee small hours and think through design and quilt construction issues. My woolly–headed evening brain finds such issues far too difficult to resolve! If I’m disciplined enough to be asleep by 10pm, I can be up cutting, piecing, pressing and quilting before sunrise! By the time daily family routine kicks-in I’ve had a satisfying, soul-feeding creative fix. (I should mention that ‘family at home’ is: my patient, faithful husband of 27years; and our equally patient 16 year old son, who acts as our in-house IT support complete with sighs and rolling eyes! Older daughter and son have both recently flown the nest). Not only do I find early mornings my creative time I also find it a time for receiving spiritual nourishment. I often find myself humming a gentle chorus and reflecting on God’s constancy as another new day dawns. ‘The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercies never come to an end. They are new every morning, new every morning; Great is thy faithfulness, O Lord, Great is thy faithfulness.’ Edith McNeil’s chorus is based on verses from the Bible – Lamentations 3: 21-23.
This entry was posted in Colour, Fabrics, Modern HST Sampler QAL, Piecing tips, Quilting Techniques and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Half Square Triangle Projects

  1. Hi Allison. I do love half-square triangles, and your new project turned out so fresh and bright. A note – the link to the Meadow Mist blog post does not actually go to it. You might check it and correct, if possible.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sarah Goer says:

    Your quilt has a beautiful palette and I love the quilting! Well done! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Colleen says:

    nothing like a deadline to spur on productivity and what a good idea for those charm packs ! I like your rainbow quilting too !
    Those 30’s prints are a favorite of mine too, I like them soooo much I haven’t cut into them 😉

    Like

  4. Karo Brauer says:

    Wunderschön ,die Farben gefallen mir gut ,Sommer feeling
    Liebe Grüße aus Deutschland
    Karo

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I am in love with the curve quilting – would I be able to add it to my quilt inspiration/ideas board on Pinterest? I want to keep that one in mind! 🙂 Also your shop display is delightful and I would be there touching all your stuff for sure!

    Like

  6. Nancy says:

    It’s beautiful, Allison. I love the colors and fabrics you chose. They look summery and refreshing.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: WIP Wednesday: Kids, Stars and Bees – Sarah Goer Quilts

Leave a Reply

