Seasonal work

Whew! What a scorcher!  And all that! Here in ‘central southern England’ (a geographical reference point often used by weather forecasters) we have been enjoying/suffering a run of hot, humid weather. Even so, there are a few indications that Summer is coming to a close and we are approaching a new season: Just a hint of Autumn colour on a few leaves at the tips of branches; the sound of Robins rehearsing their song; and the arrival of the ridiculous ‘Daddy-long-legs’ drifting through open windows and bumping into light bulbs!

IMG_1854

I found this leaf in my garden a couple of days ago – a little sign of Autumn on the way?

All of which makes me feel more in tune with the Autumnal hues of the fabrics I’m using in my current work in progress. It has been a bit hard to push through the piecing (hot weather and all) but I completed the 25 Ohio Stars earlier this week and yesterday, at a sewing day with friends, I pieced the 16 setting triangles and four corner triangles needed to complete the top 🙂

IMG_1878

The first few blocks sewn together. The pile of star and nine patch blocks are all individually numbered in the hope I’ll put them together in the correct order! The small light coloured triangles of the setting triangles have their outer edges with the grain of the fabric.

This is the first time I’ve made pieced setting triangles. If I had followed the pattern instructions the little triangles running along the outside edges would have had biased edges. Experience tells me that having stretchy bias fabric along the edges of a quilt top is not good, with the likelihood that borders will not lie flat. So I improvised; the instructions were to make the little triangle pieces by cutting squares in half diagonally, instead I quartered slightly larger squares of fabric so the longer exposed edges of the triangles are the outside edges of the squares, running with the grain. Hopefully this will make adding the borders a little easier. Those borders are giving me food for thought, I guess they will be made from a medium to dark fabric but as yet I’m not sure of the colour…

Linking with Myra at Finished or not Friday.

Allison

About allisonreidnem

New Every Morning – About Me Hi! I’m Allison, an obsessive patchwork-quilter who has no desire to be cured! I’ve been developing my skills and knowledge by paying attention at my local quilting group and by putting my questions into the computer search engine. I’m so grateful to the generous people who have taken the time to share their knowledge with me in person, via YouTube videos or their blogs. I’m intending my blog to be a link into the worldwide patchwork and quilting community and a means to contribute helpful hints and inspiration as I continue to discover more about this addictive craft. So, why ‘New Every Morning Patchwork and Quilting’? Well! I am a morning person! I often wake in the wee small hours and think through design and quilt construction issues. My woolly–headed evening brain finds such issues far too difficult to resolve! If I’m disciplined enough to be asleep by 10pm, I can be up cutting, piecing, pressing and quilting before sunrise! By the time daily family routine kicks-in I’ve had a satisfying, soul-feeding creative fix. (I should mention that ‘family at home’ is: my patient, faithful husband of 27years; and our equally patient 16 year old son, who acts as our in-house IT support complete with sighs and rolling eyes! Older daughter and son have both recently flown the nest). Not only do I find early mornings my creative time I also find it a time for receiving spiritual nourishment. I often find myself humming a gentle chorus and reflecting on God’s constancy as another new day dawns. ‘The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercies never come to an end. They are new every morning, new every morning; Great is thy faithfulness, O Lord, Great is thy faithfulness.’ Edith McNeil’s chorus is based on verses from the Bible – Lamentations 3: 21-23.
This entry was posted in Colour, Piecing tips, Works In Progress and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Seasonal work

  1. Great idea to use quarter-square triangles for the setting triangle edges. Your quilt will be very pretty!

    Like

  2. Nancy says:

    I love the colors in this quilt, Allison, and I especially love that red and army green 9-patch block. I can hardly wait to see the whole top put together. You were wise to make the outer triangles quarter-square instead of half-square. I know you could have put a basting stitch in the HSTs but that’s extra trouble (and still uncertain results) when it’s so easy to cut the QSTs. I wonder why a pattern would call for HSTs along outer edge….

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m not sure why either other than it was a book about scrap quilts so maybe the assumption was the scraps might be too small to cut quarter square triangles! You and me both for those two fabrics – of course they were the most expensive!

      Like

  3. dezertsuz says:

    Very smart decision. I don’t like a bias edge anywhere, and always re-work directions that will give me those.

    Like

Leave a Reply

