Bumping along and design wall update

Before I begin in earnest I’m very pleased to be able to share some good practical advice from Colleen re. cutting the cable of the IKEA Dignitet hanging system. We got into difficulties when we cut the cable and the ends frayed. Go to my post about creating a design wall and read Colleen’s advice in the comment section 🙂

img_2110

Here is the design wall in action – I’ve used a 2m length of felt backed table protector cloth as the ‘wall’.

A Tigger I am not, nor ever have been! I don’t see myself as an Eeyore either but others may be more ready to give me that label! So not being known for bouncing along I have to admit that at the moment I am bumping along. I don’t feel low or anywhere near depressed just at a state of tiredness that has me thinking too often, ‘I’ll do that later’ or more flatly, ‘I can’t be bothered’. And of course, the whole house now looks tired too, with little mounds of ‘do that later’ all over the place and as the necessary and urgent get done the underlying tasks that add sparkle to the finish are lost in the dust.

img_2105

The Autumn Star quilt under the needle! (Amazingly half the width of the quilt is squished into the throat of the machine).

I know one thing that would help me get nearer a bounce and further from the bumps is to actually finish something – anything – but preferably a quilt. The Autumn Star quilt has been the running project for the last 6 or 7 weeks and every stage has taken longer than I’d estimated. Last night I finally finished quilting the heavy, unwieldy mass – that was a week’s work – and this morning I’ve squared it up, trimmed the edges (discovering along the way that I’d not once but twice flipped back the excess backing fabric and caught it with the quilting stitches – grrr!).

img_2116

The backing accidentally flipped back and caught by the end of a row of quilting stitches – doh!

I did have the presence of mind to make the binding before beginning quilting so that is all ready to sew on – oh! but then there’ll be 292 inches of hand stitching to do… Yes! I did the math on a scrap of paper earlier this morning, 4 x 73″ = 292″ – how sad and demotivating is that? Rewind – what an exciting challenge is that? 😀

If you’ve managed to drag your eyes over the above, thank you and I apologise if you feel like you’ve arrived at a ‘pity party’. I  just felt the need to share the reality in order to keep a balance – wouldn’t do for this blog to become like a never ending, ever up-beat, Christmas newsletter! ‘Cos that’s not life is it? But I promise I’m not having a pity party. I will get some jobs done through the day and continue to derive pleasure and satisfaction from little things. In fact, writing this post is already lifting me as it is satisfying to write down some of the running commentary in my head rather than keep thinking, ‘That will have to wait ’til later’.

On Saturday we took a break from tidying our little garden and drove out to Church Crookham to visit Nature’s Threads on the occasion of the quilt shop’s 7th birthday. Sue keeps a wide selection of fabrics (including several shelves of brushed cotton prints) and has a programme of classes for beginners and improvers.

img_2104

A collection of fat quarters and a bargain metre of fabric from Nature’s Threads

Back track: A few days before our boys set off on their university and training adventures we visited Granny and had a restful stroll around the peaceful gardens of Sissinghurst Castle. The 1930s gardens were created in the shadow of the Tudor house and tower by Vita Sackville-West and Harold Nicolson. The hedges and walls with little archways and gates provide wonderful surprises as each section of the garden features different types of planting.

img_2025

img_2034

img_2054

img_2056

img_2066

img_2078

Glimpse of the Kent countryside through the barn doorway at Sissinghurst.

The day at Sissinghurst holds lots of happy memories. It just happened to be the last of the unseasonal hot days we enjoyed earlier this month. That night there was the most terrific storm and daytime temperatures immediately dropped by 10°C.

Allison

Linking with Em’s Scrapbag for Moving It Forward Monday

(The image of Tigger is from http://www.disneyclips.com/index.html)

 

 

 

About allisonreidnem

New Every Morning – About Me Hi! I’m Allison, an obsessive patchwork-quilter who has no desire to be cured! I’ve been developing my skills and knowledge by paying attention at my local quilting group and by putting my questions into the computer search engine. I’m so grateful to the generous people who have taken the time to share their knowledge with me in person, via YouTube videos or their blogs. I’m intending my blog to be a link into the worldwide patchwork and quilting community and a means to contribute helpful hints and inspiration as I continue to discover more about this addictive craft. So, why ‘New Every Morning Patchwork and Quilting’? Well! I am a morning person! I often wake in the wee small hours and think through design and quilt construction issues. My woolly–headed evening brain finds such issues far too difficult to resolve! If I’m disciplined enough to be asleep by 10pm, I can be up cutting, piecing, pressing and quilting before sunrise! By the time daily family routine kicks-in I’ve had a satisfying, soul-feeding creative fix. (I should mention that ‘family at home’ is: my patient, faithful husband of 27years; and our equally patient 16 year old son, who acts as our in-house IT support complete with sighs and rolling eyes! Older daughter and son have both recently flown the nest). Not only do I find early mornings my creative time I also find it a time for receiving spiritual nourishment. I often find myself humming a gentle chorus and reflecting on God’s constancy as another new day dawns. ‘The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercies never come to an end. They are new every morning, new every morning; Great is thy faithfulness, O Lord, Great is thy faithfulness.’ Edith McNeil’s chorus is based on verses from the Bible – Lamentations 3: 21-23.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bumping along and design wall update

  1. Kathi Riemer says:

    I love all of the activity in your sewing room! Thank you for the walking tour of Sissinghurst on an autumn day.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can relate! So many small tasks can look like an overwhelming mountain, but keep your optimism 🙂 One day at a time! The day you finish this quilt will be the best day and all those road bumps will fade to the background. Thanks for sharing, love the pics from the castle!! ❤ God bless!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

