Enjoying the Quilting Community

I count myself very fortunate to have found the quilting community – both here in my home town and on the world wide web. The key word that seems to best describe this creative community is ‘sharing’; people make beautiful quilts, devise wonderful new patterns and techniques and then share 🙂 A couple of weeks ago, Roundabout Quilters, one of the local quilt groups in my area (we are privileged to have around half a dozen within a thirty mile radius) organised a visit from renowned quilt maker Philippa Naylor. She entertained us with a lively talk on Tuesday evening and the following day we set up our machines in a comfortable Church hall and gained so much from Phillippa sharing her techniques for machine bias strip applique and raw edge applique. Philippa’s background in dress design and garment making was evident in the precision of her work and the details she imparted as she demonstrated and taught the applique skills. The workshop programme was all about learning and developing new skills; so no half finished project to bring home and join the ever deepening pile of UFO’s, instead just a little piece of fabric covered in samples!

img_2191

Philippa Naylor ready to give her next demonstration at the Roundabout Quilters workshop

 

img_2242

My bias binding samples

PictureI’m glad I treated myself to Philippa Naylor’s book, ‘Applique Mastery’ – there is so much detail regarding technique, materials and tools. Interestingly, she is a great advocate of the use of polyester threads in both piecing and quilting. In my relatively brief time as a patchwork quilter I’ve tended to be a bit of 100% cotton purist. It’s good to hear and see quilters sharing their experiences of experimenting with different materials. Certainly I now feel more open-minded about my choice of quilting threads as there is no arguing with the fantastic results Philippa has achieved in her quilting (including not one but three quilts on permanent show at The National Quilt Museum, Kentucky – here is a link to her Gallery page). 

img_2207

North Hampshire Quilters Exhibition 2016

I have more lovely examples of the sharing that goes on in the quilt community in the form of photos of North Hampshire Quilters recent exhibition (click here to see their exhibition gallery). It was so lovely to visit the exhibition, see the beautiful quilts, meet up with friends (including one who’d flown in from Canada), do a bit of browsing round the stalls and traders stands and then enjoy a cup of tea and a bacon buttie 🙂

img_2201

Nocturne by Sandra Ryan – ‘This quilt was made in fabrics of the same name designed by Janet Clare. I fell in love with the fabric but found it needed the contrast in gold.’

img_2199

Sticks and Stones by Jenny Hornsey – ‘Scrap quilt. Picture spotted on Pinterest. No pattern so worked it out myself. My favourite hand quilting in sashes.’

And recently I’ve been doing a bit of sharing too, leading a patchwork table runner class at Purple Stitches. Since then I have become a little preoccupied with finishing my sample table runners to display in my selling space at the town centre craft shop which has ‘popped up’ just in time for Christmas!

img_2195

New Every Morning at All Our Own Crafts, Basingstoke.

What with all the above and trying to keep track of our children as they settle into their new occupations I managed to completely miss this blog’s second anniversary – way back on 16th October. There is quite a lot to reflect on in these past two years of writing but that will have to wait…

Ooo! And link ups are another example of the sharing nature of the quilting community 🙂 Today I’m linking with Lorna at Sew Fresh Quilts for Let’s Bee Social.

Allison

About allisonreidnem

New Every Morning – About Me Hi! I’m Allison, an obsessive patchwork-quilter who has no desire to be cured! I’ve been developing my skills and knowledge by paying attention at my local quilting group and by putting my questions into the computer search engine. I’m so grateful to the generous people who have taken the time to share their knowledge with me in person, via YouTube videos or their blogs. I’m intending my blog to be a link into the worldwide patchwork and quilting community and a means to contribute helpful hints and inspiration as I continue to discover more about this addictive craft. So, why ‘New Every Morning Patchwork and Quilting’? Well! I am a morning person! I often wake in the wee small hours and think through design and quilt construction issues. My woolly–headed evening brain finds such issues far too difficult to resolve! If I’m disciplined enough to be asleep by 10pm, I can be up cutting, piecing, pressing and quilting before sunrise! By the time daily family routine kicks-in I’ve had a satisfying, soul-feeding creative fix. (I should mention that ‘family at home’ is: my patient, faithful husband of 27years; and our equally patient 16 year old son, who acts as our in-house IT support complete with sighs and rolling eyes! Older daughter and son have both recently flown the nest). Not only do I find early mornings my creative time I also find it a time for receiving spiritual nourishment. I often find myself humming a gentle chorus and reflecting on God’s constancy as another new day dawns. ‘The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercies never come to an end. They are new every morning, new every morning; Great is thy faithfulness, O Lord, Great is thy faithfulness.’ Edith McNeil’s chorus is based on verses from the Bible – Lamentations 3: 21-23.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Learn, Local Quilt Groups, P&Q Books, Quilt Exhibitions, Selling craft and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Enjoying the Quilting Community

  1. Karen says:

    I count myself fortunate to be involved in this fun community as well. I love going to retreats and sew-ins and meeting on-line friends in real-life. When authors and designers come to share and teach it’s icing on the cake! Happy 2nd anniversary!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Colleen says:

    Looks like you have been sticking to your goal of trying new things this year ! Happy Anniversary and good luck with your little shop !

    Like

  3. Thanks Colleen. It has been a month full of variety and new techniques. I’ve enjoyed it all but couldn’t keep up this pace for many months of the year!

    Like

Leave a Reply

