Autumn in town and a flurry of finishes!

img_2321Wow! The UK is enjoying a spectacular display of Autumn colour. I live in a town and I struggled to think how I could share the beauty of the Autumn as my views are inevitably ‘marred’ by human infrastructure. Then I thought, ‘Hey! I live in a town, the Autumn colours are no less beautiful because the views contain lamposts, litter bins and roads rather than snow capped mountains and swathes of pristine forest!’ I hope you will enjoy seeing some of the images of ‘urban Autumn’ I captured during a  a 40 minute walk from home to the centre of town.

img_2370But just before I share the photos of the walk into town I’ll share what I was up to in town – namely installing my latest quilting finishes into my space in the pop up craft shop and doing a couple of hours shopkeeping. It’s good to share a shift with other local crafters in the shop and always fascinating to observe shoppers from the the other side of the counter! I’m pleased to say in the three weeks the shop has been operating  I have sold two lap sized quilts and a couple of quilted baskets :-) Very encouraging! I had time to re-organise my display, using wooden hangers to show off my freshly completed seasonal star table runners. Finishing these in quick succession definitely made me think of the London bus rule – you wait for ages and then three come along at once!

img_2338

Star runners: Autumn, Spring and Summer

Now the Autumn photos…

As I sorted through these photos I found myself singing the first few lines of a hymn (I sing very flat – this is a much more tuneful rendition!). The words serve as a good reminder that while the creation around us is truly awesome we should guard against idolising it and, in so doing, fail to acknowledge the Creator.

O Lord my God, when I in awesome wonder
consider all the works thy hand hath made,
I see the stars, I hear the mighty thunder,
thy power throughout the universe displayed:

Then sings my soul, my Saviour God; to thee,
How great thou art, how great thou art!
Then sings my soul, my Saviour God; to thee,
How great thou art, how great thou art!

When through the woods and forest glades I wander,
and hear the birds sing sweetly in the trees;
when I look down from lofty mountain grandeur,
and hear the brook, and feel the gentle breeze;

But when I think that God, his Son not sparing,
sent him to die-I scarce can take it in
that on the cross, our burden gladly bearing,
he bled and died to take away our sin;

When Christ shall come with shout of acclamation
and take me home-what joy shall fill my heart!
Then shall I bow in humble adoration,
and there proclaim: My God, how great thou art!

Allison

Linking with Woman To Woman Ministries for Word Filled Wednesday

 

About allisonreidnem

New Every Morning – About Me Hi! I’m Allison, an obsessive patchwork-quilter who has no desire to be cured! I’ve been developing my skills and knowledge by paying attention at my local quilting group and by putting my questions into the computer search engine. I’m so grateful to the generous people who have taken the time to share their knowledge with me in person, via YouTube videos or their blogs. I’m intending my blog to be a link into the worldwide patchwork and quilting community and a means to contribute helpful hints and inspiration as I continue to discover more about this addictive craft. So, why ‘New Every Morning Patchwork and Quilting’? Well! I am a morning person! I often wake in the wee small hours and think through design and quilt construction issues. My woolly–headed evening brain finds such issues far too difficult to resolve! If I’m disciplined enough to be asleep by 10pm, I can be up cutting, piecing, pressing and quilting before sunrise! By the time daily family routine kicks-in I’ve had a satisfying, soul-feeding creative fix. (I should mention that ‘family at home’ is: my patient, faithful husband of 27years; and our equally patient 16 year old son, who acts as our in-house IT support complete with sighs and rolling eyes! Older daughter and son have both recently flown the nest). Not only do I find early mornings my creative time I also find it a time for receiving spiritual nourishment. I often find myself humming a gentle chorus and reflecting on God’s constancy as another new day dawns. ‘The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercies never come to an end. They are new every morning, new every morning; Great is thy faithfulness, O Lord, Great is thy faithfulness.’ Edith McNeil’s chorus is based on verses from the Bible – Lamentations 3: 21-23.
This entry was posted in Awe and Wonder, Colour, Selling craft, Tablerunners and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Autumn in town and a flurry of finishes!

  1. The table runners are a good design, and the leaves are very pretty. We usually have best leaf color about 2 weeks earlier, but this year we have the glory now! It would be better if we had sunshine to brighten it, but maybe that will happen in a couple of days. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nancy says:

    Your shop looks great, Allison. Like autumn! Your outdoor photos look so much like our autumns here in Ohio. I especially like your opening photo of leaves on the ground. Great job capturing the light and bright of autumn color.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love autumn, it’s so inspiring. I went to the park the other day and the colours were spectacular =]

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Colleen says:

    Congratulations on your sales ! Beautiful pictures – the fall colours don’t last long enough !

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jannette B. says:

    Love your beautiful nature shots – and I start singing the same hymn when I’m awed by the beauty God has given us to observe!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

