Joy to the world…

I must confess my heart is full and much of what is on my heart isn’t for this blog but I shall trust you can read between the lines and will forgive me my jumbled misif. At the start of the year I adopted the idea of having a word(s) for the year rather than a New Year’s resolution. My chosen words were ‘home’ and ‘family’. The year isn’t quite over but, let’s be honest, there’s really not much chance of making up for lost time in the run up to Christmas! So, I have to conclude that our home has not received any extra attention from me this year – the two pot holders I made in February are used every day but hardly constitute a wholehearted home-making spree!

IMG_0547 In the latter half of this year our little family has experienced some big changes and the consequences are still unfolding. As a parent I am so grateful for the support of my faithful, level-headed spouse, my own, thoughtful, kind and generous parents and most especially for the God who knows us all and holds us in His big plan. It’s important that we remember God offers us joy that can not be defined as ‘happiness’. Jesus says He will give life to the full to whoever follows Him: looking around us we see that not all Christians experience good health, material riches or, indeed, wall to wall happiness. So we know joy and a full life can not be measured by our worldly ‘well-being’ or materialistic standards. No, we have to learn to trust God, to be assured that whilst we may not be able to bring about justice here and now He will ultimately bring His justice to prevail. Wait up! That’s a scary thought for us sinners – I point one finger at someone else’s sin and then look at my hand – there are three fingers pointing back at me! The joy comes in knowing that in his mercy and His love for the world (that’s us):

God gave His one and only son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish but have eternal life. (John 3:16)

Christians live with a sure hope, knowing ultimately good will prevail over evil, light will extinguish darkness. Wow! Jesus is the Light of the World and, as the days get shorter and darker here in the Northern Hemisphere, we are on the Advent countdown to the remembrance of the presence of God here on Earth 2000 years ago and the promise of a joy-filled life as we follow Him now and a light-filled world to come.

On Sunday we sang Joy to the World (here’s a link for Nat King Cole’s version), it felt so strange plunging into a Christmas song before the end of November but, with an eternal perspective, these words are true all year round aren’t they?

Joy to the world! The Lord is come.
Let earth receive her King
Let every heart
Prepare Him room
And heaven and nature sing
And heaven and nature sing
And heaven and heaven and nature sing

Joy to the world, the Savior reigns
Let men their songs employ
While fields and floods
Rocks, hills and plains
Repeat the sounding joy
Repeat the sounding joy
Repeat, repeat, the sounding joy

He rules the world with truth and grace,
And makes the nations prove
The glories of His righteousness,
And wonders of His love;
And wonders of His love;
And wonders, wonders of His love.

Joy to the world! The Lord is come.
Let earth receive her King
Let every heart
Prepare Him room
And heaven and nature sing
And heaven and nature sing
And heaven and heaven and nature sing
And heaven and heaven and nature sing

Written by . Traditional, Sidney James • Copyright © EMI Music Publishing, Kobalt Music Publishing Ltd., Sony/ATV Music Publishing LLC, Universal Music Publishing Group
How strange! This wasn’t the blog post I had intended at all! Thank you for reading to the end. My heart feels so much more at peace for having shared these words and for having released the thoughts behind them.
Allison
Linking with Word Filled Wednesday at Woman2Woman Ministries.
About allisonreidnem

New Every Morning – About Me Hi! I’m Allison, an obsessive patchwork-quilter who has no desire to be cured! I’ve been developing my skills and knowledge by paying attention at my local quilting group and by putting my questions into the computer search engine. I’m so grateful to the generous people who have taken the time to share their knowledge with me in person, via YouTube videos or their blogs. I’m intending my blog to be a link into the worldwide patchwork and quilting community and a means to contribute helpful hints and inspiration as I continue to discover more about this addictive craft. So, why ‘New Every Morning Patchwork and Quilting’? Well! I am a morning person! I often wake in the wee small hours and think through design and quilt construction issues. My woolly–headed evening brain finds such issues far too difficult to resolve! If I’m disciplined enough to be asleep by 10pm, I can be up cutting, piecing, pressing and quilting before sunrise! By the time daily family routine kicks-in I’ve had a satisfying, soul-feeding creative fix. (I should mention that ‘family at home’ is: my patient, faithful husband of 27years; and our equally patient 16 year old son, who acts as our in-house IT support complete with sighs and rolling eyes! Older daughter and son have both recently flown the nest). Not only do I find early mornings my creative time I also find it a time for receiving spiritual nourishment. I often find myself humming a gentle chorus and reflecting on God’s constancy as another new day dawns. ‘The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercies never come to an end. They are new every morning, new every morning; Great is thy faithfulness, O Lord, Great is thy faithfulness.’ Edith McNeil’s chorus is based on verses from the Bible – Lamentations 3: 21-23.
This entry was posted in Awe and Wonder, Family, Home and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Joy to the world…

  1. Jean says:

    Good thoughts Allison. We can all pray for your family because the Lord knows what you need. Even tho we look forward to the birth of our Jesus it is a hard time for many people. Those going through chemo including a mother of five and a seven year old little girl, the diagnosis of the dreaded Alzheimer disease are just a few of what some of my friends are going through, so we allow our Lord to strengthen us to go through these valleys.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Heather Hart says:

    Amen. I love that we can trust in God’s promises.

    Like

  3. Susi says:

    I don’t comment often – but your post touched me today. Yesterday we got the keys to a brand new home – only two months later that we thought. A stressful time and we still have to finish packing for the move! I’m bypassing the commercial end of Christmas this year (which I so enjoy!!!) and instead of decorating I am concentrating on the reasons for the season – the birth of Jesus and what it truly means. After we got the keys yesterday, my husband and I stood together in this new home and thanked the Lord for his great blessings and dedicated our home to be of service to Him! May you all feel His joy and peace this holiday season – no matter where you’re at and what you’re doing. Have a blessed day – Susi

    Like

    • How lovely to move into your new home united in a desire to use it as a gift from God – may you know His blessings as you bring Him glory ☺ What a great time of year to meet new neighbours too!Thank you for taking the time to comment in the midst of all your packing.

      Like

Leave a Reply

