Star Tablerunner – quick pattern

First of all thank you for the thoughtful and encouraging comments I received following my post earlier this week 🙂 I’m glad to have read those and also to have had opportunities to sew and to meet with friends during the week – all part of the ‘mind-settling’ process I so needed.

A little catch-up. A couple of weeks ago I shared a finish: a Christmas mantlepiece runner for a friend and  now I have a photo of it in-situ.

img_2554

Keeping to the Christmas theme, I have been busy designing and making table runners. The inspiration for the most recent finish came from a mixture of necessity – I had so many little pieces of Christmas fabric that were far too gorgeous to throw but which were clogging up the drawer so badly that I couldn’t see what I had – and a desire to keep the star theme going in the runners I make – stars being classic patchwork subjects and an enduring symbol of Christmas even in these secular times.

img_2591

I planned the runner around a large Sawtooth Star and several smaller ones, all in very light fabrics. As I sorted through the other fabrics I found plenty with green backgrounds, some with red and others with gold all of which would contrast well with the star fabric. I cut as many 2½” squares from each as I could and hung on to some pieces to make the half square triangles needed for the stars.

img_2592For the 8″ star I cut a 4½” square for the centre and four 3″ squares to make the HSTs. I matched these with four 3″ squares of the dark fabrics, then made the HSTs*, trimming each one down to 2½” square. Choosing four 2½” dark squares for the corners of the star block, I stitched the pieces together. I then made four strips to surround the star – two strips from four 2½” squares and two strips from six.

*Click here for Alyce’s HST tutorial.

 

img_2593I made six 4″ stars, first cutting the centre 2½” squares and then cutting 24 pairs of light and dark fabric 2″ squares to make a total of 48 HSTs all trimmed to 1½” square (that’s teeny tiny in my books!). I cut 24 1½” dark squares to provide the corners of the star blocks and stitched the pieces together. To complete the blocks I used some of the 2½” squares to surround the star on just two adjacent sides. The blocks measured 6½” square.

I then had fun mixing and matching the dark 2½” squares to make six nine-patch blocks each finishing at 6½” square. I paired these up with the little star blocks and stitched them together so that the stars alternated up and down along the runner.

img_2585

Backing fabric and binding showing the stitching around one of the star blocks

The finished top measured 12½” wide by 48½” long. To complete the runner I used a length of Hobbs 80/20 wadding and ran up to my local haberdashery shop to discover the perfect backing on a bolt 54″ wide – a yipee moment! For the quilting I used a 40wt Aurifil thread, a lovely dark gold, colour 2975, stitching in the ditch around the stars and across their centres. I had a few changes of mind about how to quilt the open spaces of the runner and in the end decided to fish out a star stencil and just just stitch the outline.

img_2590

Look closely and you might spot the quilted star outline!

For the binding I cut 2¼” strips of a cotton fabric with lots of gold in a tartan style pattern that I think makes a really great border. I handstitched the binding to the back of the runner and ‘hey presto’ another FINISH!

 

img_2581

img_2599

The top fabric is ‘Joy, Love, Peace’ by Lucie Crovatto and I plan to use it as the background. The red is Winter Wonderland by Moda and will be the binding. The backing fabric is nameless 😦

I’ve decided to use the pattern again but to have just one fabric for the background. So I’ll cut 2½” wide strips of the fabric to border the star blocks and cut six 6½” squares in place of the nine-patch squares. Well that’s the plan anyway…

 

 

And I’m hoping to be able to share my patterns more easily in the near future as I’ve treated myself to the EQ7 quilt design software! Sales at the pop-up shop in town have been steady so I have some spending money 🙂 And with Viv’s encouragement three patterns of a tablerunner I taught at Purple Stitches  have been sold and given me the incentive to take pattern designing on a step and see where it might lead…

 

img_2560

My bundle of treasures including EQ7, a big spool of Aurifil 2600 for piecing, along with a spool stand and some new pins – I have a knack of bending pins!

Linking with Amanda Jean for Finish it up Friday and with Myra for Finished or not Friday.

 

Allison

 

 

About allisonreidnem

New Every Morning – About Me Hi! I’m Allison, an obsessive patchwork-quilter who has no desire to be cured! I’ve been developing my skills and knowledge by paying attention at my local quilting group and by putting my questions into the computer search engine. I’m so grateful to the generous people who have taken the time to share their knowledge with me in person, via YouTube videos or their blogs. I’m intending my blog to be a link into the worldwide patchwork and quilting community and a means to contribute helpful hints and inspiration as I continue to discover more about this addictive craft. So, why ‘New Every Morning Patchwork and Quilting’? Well! I am a morning person! I often wake in the wee small hours and think through design and quilt construction issues. My woolly–headed evening brain finds such issues far too difficult to resolve! If I’m disciplined enough to be asleep by 10pm, I can be up cutting, piecing, pressing and quilting before sunrise! By the time daily family routine kicks-in I’ve had a satisfying, soul-feeding creative fix. (I should mention that ‘family at home’ is: my patient, faithful husband of 27years; and our equally patient 16 year old son, who acts as our in-house IT support complete with sighs and rolling eyes! Older daughter and son have both recently flown the nest). Not only do I find early mornings my creative time I also find it a time for receiving spiritual nourishment. I often find myself humming a gentle chorus and reflecting on God’s constancy as another new day dawns. ‘The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercies never come to an end. They are new every morning, new every morning; Great is thy faithfulness, O Lord, Great is thy faithfulness.’ Edith McNeil’s chorus is based on verses from the Bible – Lamentations 3: 21-23.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Fabrics, Inspiration, Quilt Blocks, Quilting Techniques, Tablerunners, Tutorial and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Star Tablerunner – quick pattern

  1. Jannette B. says:

    What a great table runner! Thanks for sharing the pattern details – when the busyness of the next few weeks settles down a bit, I’m going to give it a try!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the table runner! I decorate our mantel each year with a nativity set – I don’t know why it’s never crossed my mind to make something to decorate it with to set all the pieces on. Maybe I’ll do that for next year since it’s already set up. I can’t wait to hear what you dream up in EQ7. It took me a while but I really like it now.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Colleen says:

    oooh, a new adventure for you with the EQ7. How exciting ! I’ve thought about buying the software many times but never pulled the trigger. Cute runner !

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Colleen. Messing about on the computer is well outside my comfort zone but this just seemed the right time to give EQ7 a go – a combination of the means to buy it and the incentive to get to grips with it! Watch this space but don’t hold your breath 😉

      Like

  4. Very nice! Thanks for linking up to Finished or Not Friday.

    Like

Leave a Reply

