DrEAMi’s take over!

Another two week gap between blog posts! The first week of the two was filled with patchwork and quilting activity, the second has been about other activities with patchwork and quilting shoe-horned between.

So, rewind two weeks and I was busy preparing notes for the beginners patchwork and quilting class at Purple Stitches. Four lovely ladies signed up to follow Viv’s specially written pattern. I decided to join in the stitching fun; purchasing eight pretty fat quarters from the shop and rocked up on Saturday ready to guide and help out where needed. We started by practicing rotary cutting before cutting out all the 5″ squares required for the design.

img_3134

Beginners Class underway. Viv’s quilt is on the wall next to the ‘Frozen’ panel.

We then moved on to setting up sewing machines to stitch the perfect scant ¼” seam. Concentration levels remained at maximum for much of the afternoon; all we could hear was the hum of sewing machines and the hiss of the iron! Next class we will be piecing all the rows together before measuring, cutting and attaching the borders and cornerstones.

img_3136

My version of the Purple Stitches Beginners Quilt – rows ready to be stitched together.

img_3120

The final five stripy hearts

A few days before the class I had another great day out with stitching friends at Brown Candover. I took the stripy hearts fabrics and made the remaining five.

After lunch I turned my attention to a Moda mini charm pack. This has been sitting in my stash for a couple of years and I pulled it out on a whim, cut three width of fabric strips from a white on white print and threw them in a bag on the morning of the quilt day. I stitched the 42 squares to the strips of fabric, pressed the seams towards the ‘Mixologie’ fabric squares and then cut them apart. Next I paired them up and made 21 four patch units – it was a great opportunity to practice the spinning seams method so clearly described by Beth in her recent tutorial 🙂

Twirled four patch seams

Four patch seams lying neat and flat after being ‘spun’ 🙂

At home I had fun rearranging the blocks on my design wall, settling on a 3 x 7 block formation, measuring 12½” by 28½”. Once sewn together I rooted around and found a suitable size piece of Hobbs 80/20 wadding and cut a rectangle of calico for the backing. I used an off-white thread to quilt a grid through the white squares and found a white fabric with small orange and yellow dots for the binding.

img_3155

Mixologie table runner

This project definitely counts as another DrEAMi (Drop Everything And Make it) – in fact it is quite revealing just how frequently I divert from the planned quilt list! I fear most diversions have more to do with procrastination than pure creativity – but at the end of the day I have the satisfaction of a fresh project to  enjoy even though the to-do list is shaming me with its indelible deadlines!

img_3166

‘Keep the Home Fires Burning’ named with reference to the red ‘hearth’ at the centre of each log cabin block. (Handy having our tallest child living at home!)

Probably the log cabin quilt should be recorded as a DrEAMi too! After all it was started on a whim and bears no relation to the to-do list! (I got the borders added after a visit to Sue at Nature’s Threads.) Although I have been away from home quite a lot this week, I did fall into the sewing room on Thursday evening, quickly piecing a backing for the quilt and cutting a chunk out of a kingsize roll of Hobbs Heirloom 100% cotton wadding. On Friday morning I snuck back to my sewing machine and used the walking foot to stitch wavy diagonal lines across the quilt with a dark gold Aurifil thread. I added the binding later in the day and have decided to keep the final fixing down of the binding as a hand stitching project.

My VENTURING continues on three fronts: 1. the classes at Purple Stitches; 2. the production of a quilt for Quilts UK, Malvern – I have submitted the registration form and continue to learn how to use EQ7 to produce the pattern;

img_3172

First block of the Gardener’s World quilt printed out from my EQ7 pattern – how chuffed am I? 😀

3. notification of the re-opening of the pop up craft shop has been exercising my brain as the new venue gives just a 64cm (25″) wide display space to each crafter…

Linking with Myra for Finished or Not Friday and with Sandra for DrEAMi! Linky #2 (Whoops! Missed the deadline but still a fun link to visit!).

Hope you are having a relaxing and creative weekend.

Allison

 

 

About allisonreidnem

New Every Morning – About Me Hi! I’m Allison, an obsessive patchwork-quilter who has no desire to be cured! I’ve been developing my skills and knowledge by paying attention at my local quilting group and by putting my questions into the computer search engine. I’m so grateful to the generous people who have taken the time to share their knowledge with me in person, via YouTube videos or their blogs. I’m intending my blog to be a link into the worldwide patchwork and quilting community and a means to contribute helpful hints and inspiration as I continue to discover more about this addictive craft. So, why ‘New Every Morning Patchwork and Quilting’? Well! I am a morning person! I often wake in the wee small hours and think through design and quilt construction issues. My woolly–headed evening brain finds such issues far too difficult to resolve! If I’m disciplined enough to be asleep by 10pm, I can be up cutting, piecing, pressing and quilting before sunrise! By the time daily family routine kicks-in I’ve had a satisfying, soul-feeding creative fix. (I should mention that ‘family at home’ is: my patient, faithful husband of 27years; and our equally patient 16 year old son, who acts as our in-house IT support complete with sighs and rolling eyes! Older daughter and son have both recently flown the nest). Not only do I find early mornings my creative time I also find it a time for receiving spiritual nourishment. I often find myself humming a gentle chorus and reflecting on God’s constancy as another new day dawns. ‘The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercies never come to an end. They are new every morning, new every morning; Great is thy faithfulness, O Lord, Great is thy faithfulness.’ Edith McNeil’s chorus is based on verses from the Bible – Lamentations 3: 21-23.
This entry was posted in Computer Software, Fabrics, Learn, Piecing tips, Quilt Design, Tablerunners, Venture, Works In Progress and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

