How Does My Garden Grow? (2)

I wrote and posted ‘How Does My Garden Grow? (1)’ on 8th March when warm sunny days were at a premium. As well as having to look closely for signs of Spring in our little garden my ‘Gardener’s World’ (the open category at this years Quilts UK, Malvern) quilt was only just growing from EQ7 planning to fabric reality: I’d made the first four blocks!

Almost six weeks on and I’m happy to be able to share some photos of our garden in full Spring ‘get up’…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

… and disclose that this weekend I made a quilt sandwich of THE quilt and began quilting 🙂 The deadline for entries to arrive at the show organisers is 10th May *gulp* I’ve called THE quilt ‘In the Cool of the Evening’ (a reference to Genesis 3:8 – ‘..the Lord God … walking in the garden in the cool of the day.’) having taken the inspiration from a late afternoon walk around the White Garden at Sissinghurst Castle.img_2056

Here is the draft pattern. I am still on a big learning curve with EQ7 so what is on the page and what is in my head may not always match…

In the Cool of the Evening

My pattern for ‘In the Cool of the Evening’ – it’s supposed to look like the plan of a formal garden 🙂

THE quilt now measures around 68″ square and is a hefty beast. I’m going to share the process of quilting it on this blog. There will be some ups and downs as I put my ‘big girls pants’ on and venture into free motion quilting territory.

Away from THE quilt I’ve had the great pleasure of seeing the four participants of the Beginners Course complete their quilts. They were a bit reluctant to show their faces above their lovely quilts but I hope you can see from these photos just how delighted they were with the creation of their first quilts?

And here is my design wall:

These fabrics are from a Lewis & Irene scrumptious squares pack (aka layer cake) of ‘Tropicana’ fabrics. I broke into this pack whilst waiting for the backing and wadding to arrive for THE quilt! Well! What’s a girl to do?

Linking with Judy for Design Wall Monday.

Allison

 

 

About allisonreidnem

New Every Morning – About Me Hi! I’m Allison, an obsessive patchwork-quilter who has no desire to be cured! I’ve been developing my skills and knowledge by paying attention at my local quilting group and by putting my questions into the computer search engine. I’m so grateful to the generous people who have taken the time to share their knowledge with me in person, via YouTube videos or their blogs. I’m intending my blog to be a link into the worldwide patchwork and quilting community and a means to contribute helpful hints and inspiration as I continue to discover more about this addictive craft. So, why ‘New Every Morning Patchwork and Quilting’? Well! I am a morning person! I often wake in the wee small hours and think through design and quilt construction issues. My woolly–headed evening brain finds such issues far too difficult to resolve! If I’m disciplined enough to be asleep by 10pm, I can be up cutting, piecing, pressing and quilting before sunrise! By the time daily family routine kicks-in I’ve had a satisfying, soul-feeding creative fix. (I should mention that ‘family at home’ is: my patient, faithful husband of 27years; and our equally patient 16 year old son, who acts as our in-house IT support complete with sighs and rolling eyes! Older daughter and son have both recently flown the nest). Not only do I find early mornings my creative time I also find it a time for receiving spiritual nourishment. I often find myself humming a gentle chorus and reflecting on God’s constancy as another new day dawns. ‘The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercies never come to an end. They are new every morning, new every morning; Great is thy faithfulness, O Lord, Great is thy faithfulness.’ Edith McNeil’s chorus is based on verses from the Bible – Lamentations 3: 21-23.
This entry was posted in Computer Software, Fabrics, Garden, Gardener's World Quilt, Quilt Design, Venture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How Does My Garden Grow? (2)

  1. Nancy says:

    Your EQ layout looks great, Allison. Now I’m eager to see the finished quilt. Will you show it to us before you enter it in the show, or after? And are the colors in the EQ design close to the colors you’ll be using?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for taking a look Nancy. I think I will post a finish picture before the Show. The EQ7 colours are a fair representation of the fabric colours I’ve used although all the fabrics have printed designs rather than being plain.

      Like

  2. Laura says:

    The signs of spring are more than welcome! My daffodils and tulips are keeping me eagerly awaiting!

    Your formal garden quilt looks great so far. I’m looking forward to seeing the design translated to fabric!

    So much fun to see the students and their accomplishments!

    Like

    • Thanks Laura. It is so satisfying to see students happy with the results of the course – it can be hard seeing some of the struggles and wondering if I could have taught some lessons better.

      Like

Leave a Reply

