If you go down to the woods today…

First thing Saturday morning we drove down the picturesque A30 road to Winchester. With the help(ish) of the SatNav we negotiated the tortuous one way system in the centre of the Cathedral City and found the tiny sewing shop, Reads of Winchester. I parted company with my Pfaff entrusting it to the care and ministrations of the sewing machine engineer. *GULP* It is hard to part – even temporarily – with one’s sewing machine.

On the way home we diverted to the Forestry Commission land around Micheldever in search of bluebells. The woods were so beautiful. The bright, lime coloured leaves of the tall beech trees were just unfurling above the misty lavender/blue haze of the bluebells…

Beech trees, Micheldever May 17

Bluebells, Micheldever

Bluebells (2)

Bluebells (3)

I wonder if it was a scene similar to this that inspired J.R.R Tolkien’s Lothlorien?

Bluebells (4)

For me those couple of hours in the woods at Micheldever were an opportunity to wonder at and enjoy God’s awesome creative powers. Even if you don’t believe in the God of Creation I do hope you get the chance very soon to just stand and gaze in wonder at the beauty of the natural world around you 🙂

Allison

About allisonreidnem

New Every Morning – About Me Hi! I’m Allison, an obsessive patchwork-quilter who has no desire to be cured! I’ve been developing my skills and knowledge by paying attention at my local quilting group and by putting my questions into the computer search engine. I’m so grateful to the generous people who have taken the time to share their knowledge with me in person, via YouTube videos or their blogs. I’m intending my blog to be a link into the worldwide patchwork and quilting community and a means to contribute helpful hints and inspiration as I continue to discover more about this addictive craft. So, why ‘New Every Morning Patchwork and Quilting’? Well! I am a morning person! I often wake in the wee small hours and think through design and quilt construction issues. My woolly–headed evening brain finds such issues far too difficult to resolve! If I’m disciplined enough to be asleep by 10pm, I can be up cutting, piecing, pressing and quilting before sunrise! By the time daily family routine kicks-in I’ve had a satisfying, soul-feeding creative fix. (I should mention that ‘family at home’ is: my patient, faithful husband of 27years; and our equally patient 16 year old son, who acts as our in-house IT support complete with sighs and rolling eyes! Older daughter and son have both recently flown the nest). Not only do I find early mornings my creative time I also find it a time for receiving spiritual nourishment. I often find myself humming a gentle chorus and reflecting on God’s constancy as another new day dawns. ‘The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercies never come to an end. They are new every morning, new every morning; Great is thy faithfulness, O Lord, Great is thy faithfulness.’ Edith McNeil’s chorus is based on verses from the Bible – Lamentations 3: 21-23.
This entry was posted in Awe and Wonder, Colour, Inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to If you go down to the woods today…

  1. Kristie Cook says:

    Awesome pictures! That looks like a lovely place to spend an afternoon. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jannette B. says:

    Scenes like those always make a song well up in my heart – “How Great Thou Art”!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

