Made it to Quilts UK, Malvern

Well! There it is! My quilt hanging in the exhibition hall at Malvern:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I traveled to Malvern on Saturday in the good company of quilting ladies from North Hampshire Quilters. The coach journey takes about 2 hours following a route from Hampshire through Wiltshire and up into Gloucestershire. The countryside looked so lush after the recent rains and between the showers the air was beautifully clear. Here are a few snaps taken through the coach window:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’ve been to the Spring Quilts UK show four or five times so the venue is comfortably familiar and the exhibition is laid out the same way each year – many of the traders have the same booth space from year to year. I had a little shopping list and managed to find most of the notions and fabric I was after – and a few extra items besides 😉 Including a spotty layer cake and the backing for the heart quilt 🙂

Did I enjoy seeing my quilt in the exhibition? Yes! I did! Not so much a feeling of pride in the quilt itself more a real sense of pleasure in achieving the goal. I am full of criticism of my quilt – both in the design and in the uneven density of the quilting. But I won’t bang on about that! The whole project has been a great learning experience, not only in designing and free motion quilting but also in the logistics of entering a quilt into a national show. It’s been a great venture in my year of VENTURE.

Quilters are a friendly bunch; get a whole host of us together at a show and there’s bound to be plenty of warmhearted interaction. At lunch time I joined a group from NHQ who were sheltering under the protection of a large umbrella at a picnic table , sharing news of our purchases; by 2pm I was gasping for a coffee and much in need of another sit down, there were no free tables in the little dining hall but a mother and daughter were happy for me to share with them and we had a good chat about our journeys and our patchwork. A while later I got chatting to a lady who had been recently bereaved and had joined a coach trip on a whim with no knowledge of patchwork and quilting. We took a tour of some of the quilts on show, discussing the piecing techniques used and having a close look at the differences between machine and hand quilting – I do hope she left the Show feeling less confused than when we first met!

Here is the winning ‘Gardener’s World’ quilt by Moira Neal – it was also the overall Show Winner and achieved a judges rosette for the fabric painting too.

'Latin for Quilters'

‘Latin for Quilters’ by Moira Neal. Won the Gardeners World category and was overall show Winner.

And here are just a few of the other quilts that caught my eye as I wandered round… The standard of workmanship was quite breathtaking – especially the applique, hand quilting and free motion quilting.

'Spring Garden'

‘Spring Garden’ by Cecilia Slinn

'A Quilt for Art Lovers' by Fiona Macaulay Davies

‘A Quilt for Art Lovers’ by Fiona Macaulay Davies

'Dinner Time on Puffin Island' by Ethelda Ellis

‘Dinner Time on Puffin Island’ by Ethelda Ellis. I was so busy looking at the two puffins in the foreground that I didn’t notice the third bird coming into land!

Rhewlif (Glacier) 2016 by Sandi Lush

‘Rhewlif (Glacier) 2016 by Sandi Lush. One of Sandi’s 24 cot-sized quilts on display – all inspired by traditional Welsh hand quilting motifs.

You can see more of Sandi Lush’s handiwork here. Incidently Malvern is a stones throw from the English/Welsh border so lots of the voices I heard through the day had the lovely, musical Welsh lilt.

'Circulation' by Carole and Emma Galbraith

‘Circulation’ pieced by Carole Galbraith and longarm quilted by her daughter, Emma.

A last glimpse of the Malvern Hills as we began our journey home:

IMG_3741

The Malvern Hills from the Three Counties Showground

And so to bed…

Allison

Linking with Beth for Main Crush Monday. I’m counting on my first time having a quilt hung at a national show making this post eligible for a ‘main crush’ 🙂

About allisonreidnem

New Every Morning – About Me Hi! I’m Allison, an obsessive patchwork-quilter who has no desire to be cured! I’ve been developing my skills and knowledge by paying attention at my local quilting group and by putting my questions into the computer search engine. I’m so grateful to the generous people who have taken the time to share their knowledge with me in person, via YouTube videos or their blogs. I’m intending my blog to be a link into the worldwide patchwork and quilting community and a means to contribute helpful hints and inspiration as I continue to discover more about this addictive craft. So, why ‘New Every Morning Patchwork and Quilting’? Well! I am a morning person! I often wake in the wee small hours and think through design and quilt construction issues. My woolly–headed evening brain finds such issues far too difficult to resolve! If I’m disciplined enough to be asleep by 10pm, I can be up cutting, piecing, pressing and quilting before sunrise! By the time daily family routine kicks-in I’ve had a satisfying, soul-feeding creative fix. (I should mention that ‘family at home’ is: my patient, faithful husband of 27years; and our equally patient 16 year old son, who acts as our in-house IT support complete with sighs and rolling eyes! Older daughter and son have both recently flown the nest). Not only do I find early mornings my creative time I also find it a time for receiving spiritual nourishment. I often find myself humming a gentle chorus and reflecting on God’s constancy as another new day dawns. ‘The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercies never come to an end. They are new every morning, new every morning; Great is thy faithfulness, O Lord, Great is thy faithfulness.’ Edith McNeil’s chorus is based on verses from the Bible – Lamentations 3: 21-23.
This entry was posted in Gardener's World Quilt, Inspiration, Local Quilt Groups, Quilt Exhibitions, Venture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Made it to Quilts UK, Malvern

  1. Laura says:

    Congratulations on your achievement! And what a fun day! I have been on a couple of similar trips, and being on a busload of quilters is a blast!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nancy says:

    Congratulations on getting your quilt in the show, Allison. It’s a beautiful quilt (despite your unhappiness about a few aspects of it). I say, well done! The other quilts in the show are fun, interesting, and beautiful, too. Thanks for sharing photos of the show.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Susi says:

    Allison, I too love to wake up early and go into my room and create. It’s a great way to start the day and I love the quiet time before I start working. You can enjoy the sense of accomplishment that seeing your quilt on display brings – how many people didn’t get that far? We are always our own worst critics – no one else will see the problems you see. Well done!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This post is definitely crush-worthy! Congrats on your quilt being accepted to the show – that is huge! I bet it was so exciting to see it hanging. Thanks for sharing the pics of all the great quilts! And thanks for linking to MCM!

    Like

Leave a Reply

