Half Square Triangle Inspiration

I know! I know! Here I go again! A quilt in production and I’m diverting off into another project 😉

img_3120

In my defence: 1. I would be quilting the Candy Hearts quillow but I need to take a trip to my not-so-local quilt shop to buy a reel of thread; 2. The quilt I’m planning is making use of the cut off half square triangles from the heart blocks, so really it’s just an extension of the quilt in progress! *Yeah! Right!*

Candy Heart half square trianglesAlong with the 42 HSTs saved from the construction of the Candy Heart blocks, I have 14 of the layer cake squares ‘left over’, a few strips of fabric and some reasonably large pieces of fabrics from the ‘Cherry on Top’ range that could be used either in the body of a quilt top, for borders or the backing along with a metre or so of the white on white background fabric. Looks like all the ingredients required for a quilt to me ;-)

Left overs from the Candy Hearts quilt

For inspiration I looked up the HST Quilt Projects board on my Pinterest page. Pretty quickly I decided on a pattern and set about recreating it on EQ7.

 

 

The pattern is created by rotating blocks and there is only one block design to make, made up of four HSTs. The blocks will be 6″ square when finished. I drew up a 6 x 8 layout with 5½” of border to make a 47″ x 59″ quilt top. This would require 192 half square triangles! Eeek! A quick calculation of the number of HSTs I could construct from the fabric available led me to revise my design to a smaller 4 x 6 layout that maintains the symmetry of the pattern. The completed quilt will measure 35″ x 47″ which is a bit small but better to have a completed quilt than add the fabric to my stash!

On to other news:

Music Star tote bagI do have a finish to share! My foundation paper pieced stars have become a tote bag called ‘Music Star’. It is on display, for sale, in my area of the All Our Own Crafts pop up shop in Basingstoke’s shopping centre, Festival Place.

If you are in the Basingstoke area this weekend please do visit the pop up shop – there are displays of items created by forty crafters – anything from delicate glassware to re-cycled drift wood, silver jewellery, stunning photographs and much more besides.

Also in Basingstoke this weekend: Roundabout Quilters second show 🙂 We have a great venue to display our quilts, All Saints Church, Southern Road. There are three local quilt traders setting up shop in the Church Hall next door alongside the refreshments area where homemade cakes will be on sale 🙂 Outdoor temperatures are set to rise to 30°C this weekend – step inside the Church and enjoy the cool while you browse the quilts, cushions, bags and wall hangings.

Linking with Amanda Jean for Finish it up Friday.

Have a great weekend.

Allison

About allisonreidnem

New Every Morning – About Me Hi! I’m Allison, an obsessive patchwork-quilter who has no desire to be cured! I’ve been developing my skills and knowledge by paying attention at my local quilting group and by putting my questions into the computer search engine. I’m so grateful to the generous people who have taken the time to share their knowledge with me in person, via YouTube videos or their blogs. I’m intending my blog to be a link into the worldwide patchwork and quilting community and a means to contribute helpful hints and inspiration as I continue to discover more about this addictive craft. So, why ‘New Every Morning Patchwork and Quilting’? Well! I am a morning person! I often wake in the wee small hours and think through design and quilt construction issues. My woolly–headed evening brain finds such issues far too difficult to resolve! If I’m disciplined enough to be asleep by 10pm, I can be up cutting, piecing, pressing and quilting before sunrise! By the time daily family routine kicks-in I’ve had a satisfying, soul-feeding creative fix. (I should mention that ‘family at home’ is: my patient, faithful husband of 27years; and our equally patient 16 year old son, who acts as our in-house IT support complete with sighs and rolling eyes! Older daughter and son have both recently flown the nest). Not only do I find early mornings my creative time I also find it a time for receiving spiritual nourishment. I often find myself humming a gentle chorus and reflecting on God’s constancy as another new day dawns. ‘The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercies never come to an end. They are new every morning, new every morning; Great is thy faithfulness, O Lord, Great is thy faithfulness.’ Edith McNeil’s chorus is based on verses from the Bible – Lamentations 3: 21-23.
This entry was posted in Bags, Computer Software, Fabrics, Foundation Paper Piecing, Local Quilt Groups, Quilt Blocks, Quilt Design, Quilt Exhibitions, Works In Progress and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Half Square Triangle Inspiration

  1. I learn something all the time from your blog. Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your use of leftovers had made me review my stash.
    I have started new designs with these strips and squares.
    No waste of fabric here!

    Like

Leave a Reply

