Half square triangle progress and other news

Whew! Here in the southern half of the UK we have, thankfully, come to the end of a heatwave. Daytime temperatures were getting above 30°C and at night only dropping to around 18°C. I know this isn’t much compared to what is experienced in other countries but really we are not used to it and here high temperatures often mean very high humidity and we had that in buckets – even a South African friend living in the UK was finding it uncomfortable and comparing conditions here to those in Durban.

Anyway the weather report above is by way of me explaining a lack of blog posts over the past couple of weeks. There are other reasons too, and I’ve found separating these out from my quilting news into another blog post a more appropriate way to share (I’ll publish that post in due course).

So, back-tracking to last weekend and the Roundabout Quilter’s show… Only our second show in the four years since the group was formed and it really was so well organised, making the most of the venue – ‘well done’ Show Committee 🙂 The bright sun provided lots of light through the windows of All Saints Church – the quilts all glowed as if they themselves were made of stained glass – but the accompanying heat and the clash with Father’s Day deterred some people from venturing out, sadly our visitor numbers on Sunday afternoon were quite low. Here are some photos of the show:

Before the temperatures and humidity rose to 30-stupid I did make a start on quilting the Candy Hearts quilt. I’m pleased with the free motion loopy pattern on the white background, not so enamoured of the larger scale flowers in the heart blocks but I think the overall effect will be fine.

Candy Hearts quilting

Tuesday evening found me leading a Block of the Month workshop at Purple Stitches. We made the most of being able to open out the large doorway and Viv provided plenty of chilled drinks as we worked on a rather fiddly star block from the Chocolatier BOM. ‘Fiddly’ in that the finished block size is just 6″ and the Kona Solids fabrics are a little heavier and more prone to fraying than some other quilting fabrics. This made the inevitable unpicking and readjusting of some seams a bit fraught but we survived! I found using starch spray before piecing helped to minimise distortion and keep fraying to manageable levels.

Chocolatier BOM block 1

Thursday proved to be a particularly sew-cial day. I enjoyed the cool of Brown Candover village hall and the good company of sewing friends. Working on the half square triangle project inspired by the cut-off corners from the Candy Heart blocks, I made 56 additional HSTs and stitched them all together to make 24 blocks. A very satisfying days work. I will make scrappy piano-key borders from the remaining pieces of the layer cake squares and left over Cherry On Top fabrics.

Candy Diamonds on design wall

Candy Diamond HST blocks on my design wall alongside the Chocolatier BOM blocks.

In the evening I took my laptop along to Purple Stitches for the Sewcial Evening. I needed to review the notes for the Beginners Course as the next class is due to begin on 8th July. And while I was there I did a bit of fabric shopping too. These Winter hued fabrics are from the new Dashwood Studio collection, ‘Norrland’ by Bethan Janine. Aren’t the animals with their leaf patterns just perfect? There’s a smattering of gold flecks on some of the fabrics to contrast with the icy colours. I’ll be using these fat quarters to make a new version of the Star table runner (see my 2016 Gallery page) ready for a class in the Autumn.

Norrland fabrics

That’s my quilting news up-to-date 🙂

Linking with Myra for Finished or Not Friday – she’s also sharing a HST project.

We are preparing for a bit of adventure today. Soon we will be catching the train to London, travelling to Wembley Stadium to see ELO in concert 🙂

Allison

 

 

About allisonreidnem

New Every Morning – About Me Hi! I’m Allison, an obsessive patchwork-quilter who has no desire to be cured! I’ve been developing my skills and knowledge by paying attention at my local quilting group and by putting my questions into the computer search engine. I’m so grateful to the generous people who have taken the time to share their knowledge with me in person, via YouTube videos or their blogs. I’m intending my blog to be a link into the worldwide patchwork and quilting community and a means to contribute helpful hints and inspiration as I continue to discover more about this addictive craft. So, why ‘New Every Morning Patchwork and Quilting’? Well! I am a morning person! I often wake in the wee small hours and think through design and quilt construction issues. My woolly–headed evening brain finds such issues far too difficult to resolve! If I’m disciplined enough to be asleep by 10pm, I can be up cutting, piecing, pressing and quilting before sunrise! By the time daily family routine kicks-in I’ve had a satisfying, soul-feeding creative fix. (I should mention that ‘family at home’ is: my patient, faithful husband of 27years; and our equally patient 16 year old son, who acts as our in-house IT support complete with sighs and rolling eyes! Older daughter and son have both recently flown the nest). Not only do I find early mornings my creative time I also find it a time for receiving spiritual nourishment. I often find myself humming a gentle chorus and reflecting on God’s constancy as another new day dawns. ‘The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercies never come to an end. They are new every morning, new every morning; Great is thy faithfulness, O Lord, Great is thy faithfulness.’ Edith McNeil’s chorus is based on verses from the Bible – Lamentations 3: 21-23.
This entry was posted in Fabrics, Free Motion Quilting, Local Quilt Groups, Quilt Blocks, Quilt Exhibitions, Works In Progress and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

