A wintry table runner

Norrland by Bethan Janine for Dashwood Studio

I know, I know we have barely stepped from Summer into Autumn and here am I using fabrics strewn with the icy hues of mid-winter! But these, Norrland by Bethan Janine for Dashwood Studio, are pretty irresistible any time of year!

I bought these five fat quarters a couple of months back with the intention of making another Star runner. The entrepreneur in me thought a version in ‘this years’ fabrics might arouse some interest for a re-run (ha!ha!) of the table runner class. I set some class dates with Viv at Purple Stitches and then thought I’d better make the sample to promote the class.

Norrland fabrics with Star Runner pattern

These fabrics were so lovely to use 🙂 All the prints have little touches of metallic gold that just help to lift the cool colours. The turquoise reminds me of the snow melt-water I once saw rushing down a mountainside in Austria; the geometric design on white makes me think of ice crystals; and the designs on the coats of the animals suggest to me the intricate knitting and weaving patterns worked by peoples native to the Arctic Circle.

I had a thoroughly enjoyable time in the sewing room on Friday making lots of half square triangles and putting the patchwork top together. I felt like a ‘real’ pattern designer as I jumped from the sewing machine to my lap top to tweak the written instructions as I worked my way step by step through the pattern. On Friday evening I put together the quilt sandwich and on Saturday morning I set about quilting the table runner.

Star Runner - Winter

It was a close thing but by my 11.30am deadline the runner was finished bar sewing in some thread ends. I had a date at the quilt shop in the afternoon for the fourth and final class of the second Beginners Course we have run this year. Here are the happy ‘graduates’ with their completed quilts 🙂 (Just the bindings to stitch down and labels to attach).

2nd Beginners Class

I’m linking with Beth for Main Crush Monday because I’m still crushing on these fabrics and she’s crushing on fabrics too!

Allison

About allisonreidnem

New Every Morning – About Me Hi! I’m Allison, an obsessive patchwork-quilter who has no desire to be cured! I’ve been developing my skills and knowledge by paying attention at my local quilting group and by putting my questions into the computer search engine. I’m so grateful to the generous people who have taken the time to share their knowledge with me in person, via YouTube videos or their blogs. I’m intending my blog to be a link into the worldwide patchwork and quilting community and a means to contribute helpful hints and inspiration as I continue to discover more about this addictive craft. So, why ‘New Every Morning Patchwork and Quilting’? Well! I am a morning person! I often wake in the wee small hours and think through design and quilt construction issues. My woolly–headed evening brain finds such issues far too difficult to resolve! If I’m disciplined enough to be asleep by 10pm, I can be up cutting, piecing, pressing and quilting before sunrise! By the time daily family routine kicks-in I’ve had a satisfying, soul-feeding creative fix. (I should mention that ‘family at home’ is: my patient, faithful husband of 27years; and our equally patient 16 year old son, who acts as our in-house IT support complete with sighs and rolling eyes! Older daughter and son have both recently flown the nest). Not only do I find early mornings my creative time I also find it a time for receiving spiritual nourishment. I often find myself humming a gentle chorus and reflecting on God’s constancy as another new day dawns. ‘The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercies never come to an end. They are new every morning, new every morning; Great is thy faithfulness, O Lord, Great is thy faithfulness.’ Edith McNeil’s chorus is based on verses from the Bible – Lamentations 3: 21-23.
This entry was posted in Colour, Fabrics, Quilt Design, Venture and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A wintry table runner

  1. Helen says:

    Your graduate students look very pleased with their quilts as well they should be

    Liked by 1 person

  2. They do! It is very satisfying seeing other people picking up new skills and really enjoying the process of patchwork quilt making.

    Like

Leave a Reply

